We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”
Review of Aldem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aldem Hotel
Ranked #72 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Great Yeldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Very nice small hotel. Lift, but not to the breakfast terrace and a few steps to the reception. Clean, reasonable sized room. Good for the tram but not as close to other sites as some of the hotels in the heart of Sultanahmet. Friendly and helpful staff. Best breakfast selection we have had in our three trips to Istanbul and a fabulous view from the roof terrace. Some of the towels and pillows were a bit grotty.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    124
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
72
113
62
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

As other travellers have commented, this hotel scores highly on many points. I stayed 8 nights, in a clean comfortable room, with friendly and helpful staff creating a relaxed atmosphere. The location is excellent: 1 minute's walk from a range of good restaurants, 2 minutes from the T1 tram (which takes you quickly and directly to many of the main tourist sights), and 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Agia Sofia and Topkapi Palace. Yet the hotel istself is quiet. The generous buffet breakfast is served on the 6th floor with a view over the city. The use of a computer, and free coffee or tea all day, are available in lobby: these "extras" make the hotel even better value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxford_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My friend and I were extremely pleased with our choice of the Alaaddin Hotel for our recent trip to Istanbul. The location is excellent – just one block away from many shops and restaurants, and only a 20 minute walk to some of the best sights – the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, The Grand Bazaar, the Double Decker busses. The hotel was on a quiet tree-lined, cooler street just five minutes from the hustle and bustle. It had a true European/ Turkish feel and a welcoming atmosphere. It was clean and quiet, and the entire staff was very friendly and helpful, especially those at the Front Desk. A wonderful buffet breakfast was served with a panoramic view of the nearby sites, all the way to the Bosphorus. The highlight was definitely the view from the rooftop terrace on the 7th floor – just spectacular at night! The people in the surrounding areas were also so friendly and helpful . Especially helpful to us were the services of the Front Desk staff. They went out of their way to assist us in any way that they could, which made our visit so much easier and more enjoyable. I’m already looking forward to a return trip to Istanbul, and to the Alaaddin!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, so had easy, quick access to the Breakfast Room and to the rooftop terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

this hotel is close to all major attractions... aultan ahmet..sofia hagia..the cisterns... topkapi palace. very clean rooms. attentive, courteous staff.

stayed there three times in may and august 2013

front desk very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 509ik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed for 4 days at the Alaaddin Hotel, Istanbul. This boutique hotel is beautiful, and the staff is very attentive. The rooms feature hand painted ceilings, the lobby showcases lovely musaics and some great Tea 24/7, and there are even plenty of English novels in the lobby to browse! The complementary breakfast is filled with everything to start your day great, from a beautiful panoramic 6th story view. It is a very short walk to the Old City of Istanbul. The Mosques, Hagia Sofia, Palaces, Food, all sorts of shopping are all just around the corner! I would return to stay here again and again and again. I WILL return to this hotel. I am seriously in love with this hotel! Thank you, SELIM, and ALL the staff!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MesaMama1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I recently stayed here with a friend and we were both very satisfied! The transfer to the hotel was great and despite arriving very late in the night-we were greeted by the hotel staff (Selim Bay) very friendly and welcoming. We were offered tea and coffee and our bags were taken to our rooms for us. Very hospitable!
The rooms are the perfect size and in the perfect location. Every day our rooms are cleaned making our stay much more comfortable. You almost feel like home here.
The breakfast every morning was delicious and the kitchen staff were friendly and kind.
The roof terrace is wonderful!
All of the staff at Alaaddin Hotel help in any way they can answering any questions we made. If I were to stay in Istanbul in Sultanahmet area near the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia, Alaaddin would be a first choice.
I recommend booking with them!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ViaDagmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here with my 2 kids earlier in July 2013. It was such a nice experience!! The staff, including Erdal & Mohammed, were very helpful and accomodating. The rooms very nicely kept. They aren't too big but thats normal for hotels in this area.
The location for this hotel is so superb for access to Aya Sofiya or Blue Mosque.
Since our sttay was during Ramadan, it was nice for my kids and I to go the Blue Mosque and its grounds as often as we wanted and being so close was a delight. The kids and I loved the mystic music fest going on every night, as well as the crafts & foods bazaar set-up outside the mosque for the Ramadan festivities. A truly memorable experience!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SabirHuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#423 of 1,141 in Istanbul
247 reviews
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#273 of 1,141 in Istanbul
179 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#168 of 1,141 in Istanbul
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tan Hotel - Special Class
Tan Hotel - Special Class
#100 of 1,141 in Istanbul
378 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ayasultan Hotel
Ayasultan Hotel
#329 of 1,141 in Istanbul
245 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#245 of 1,141 in Istanbul
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldem Hotel

Property: Aldem Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Catal Cesme Sok. No:20-22 | Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aldem Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaaddin Boutique Hotel - Istanbul We are conveniently located in heart of the Sultanahmet, and either a walking distance or a short tram ride (Tram Station is 3 mins walk from the hotel) to many of the historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Aldem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing