We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aldem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aldem Hotel
Ranked #81 of 1,029 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Hotel location is in the heart of the Sultanahmet area of the city and within a few minutes’ walk of the “Sultanahmet” tram stop. Many of the major sites and points of interest are within walking distance notably the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, the Hippodrome and the Grand Bazaar. Hotel staff are warm, welcoming and very helpful, with the cleanliness of my room being of a good standard. The breakfast buffet was excellent with great views of the city from the dining area. In summary, the hotel was good value for what I paid and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaJonesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    124
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
72
112
62
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Alaaddin Hotel is located within a 5 minute walk of all the great sites in Sultanahmet. It is on a quiet side street within an easy walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, or the Grand Bazaar. A little further afield leads one to the water and the Egyptian Spice Bazaar. The tram is just one street away for longer trips.

The rooms in the hotel are small but clean with up-to-date bathroom facilities. The staff was very helpful in both of my visits, assisting with choosing from one of the many cafes in the area and explaining how easy it is to get around in Istanbul.

I highly recommend this great little treasure of a hotel. The view at sunrise of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia is spectacular from the rooftop terrace.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the street may be a little noisier on the weekends. The rooms toward the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaleimakamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had the opportunity to stay in this hotel in May 2013. It was myself, my wife and our two children. The overall experience was very pleasant and all of us had a fantastic time in our stay in Istanbul. Like many other (boutique) hotels, Alaaddin is also located in a very prime location in Old Sultanahmet. It is literally walking distance to all the major and mainstream tourist spots i.e. Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sofia etc. In addition to that, there are several restaurants at your disposal to choose from when dining and the tram service is at your doorsteps should you choose to travel to further distances i.e. Galata Tower, Eyup Sultan etc. The hotel itself is very cozy. offers a decent view of the Blue Mosque from the open terrace on the top floor. Room service is spot on with no complaints, and breakfast is fairly reasonable offering a more light snack than heavy. The staff was very hospitable and my two year daughter left a lasting impression on all of them.

Room Tip: For people traveling with young kids, be sure to get a room that does NOT have a large window that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muneeb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putrajaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel arranged by our travel agent is to our delight. Small hotel, with a small room- with a view. Ample, clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, minute's walk to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, The Grand Bazaar and very close to tram station and rows of food joint. We also went to Cagaloglu Hamami and Hodjapasha dance theatre with the direction given by the staff. The roof top give a picturesque sight of Blue Moque and Hagia Sophia at dawn. The breakfast is great and delicious, but need a day to day variety since we stayed there for 5 nights, and start to get bored of the same selection.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aminhusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yeldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Very nice small hotel. Lift, but not to the breakfast terrace and a few steps to the reception. Clean, reasonable sized room. Good for the tram but not as close to other sites as some of the hotels in the heart of Sultanahmet. Friendly and helpful staff. Best breakfast selection we have had in our three trips to Istanbul and a fabulous view from the roof terrace. Some of the towels and pillows were a bit grotty.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

As other travellers have commented, this hotel scores highly on many points. I stayed 8 nights, in a clean comfortable room, with friendly and helpful staff creating a relaxed atmosphere. The location is excellent: 1 minute's walk from a range of good restaurants, 2 minutes from the T1 tram (which takes you quickly and directly to many of the main tourist sights), and 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Agia Sofia and Topkapi Palace. Yet the hotel istself is quiet. The generous buffet breakfast is served on the 6th floor with a view over the city. The use of a computer, and free coffee or tea all day, are available in lobby: these "extras" make the hotel even better value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxford_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My friend and I were extremely pleased with our choice of the Alaaddin Hotel for our recent trip to Istanbul. The location is excellent – just one block away from many shops and restaurants, and only a 20 minute walk to some of the best sights – the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, The Grand Bazaar, the Double Decker busses. The hotel was on a quiet tree-lined, cooler street just five minutes from the hustle and bustle. It had a true European/ Turkish feel and a welcoming atmosphere. It was clean and quiet, and the entire staff was very friendly and helpful, especially those at the Front Desk. A wonderful buffet breakfast was served with a panoramic view of the nearby sites, all the way to the Bosphorus. The highlight was definitely the view from the rooftop terrace on the 7th floor – just spectacular at night! The people in the surrounding areas were also so friendly and helpful . Especially helpful to us were the services of the Front Desk staff. They went out of their way to assist us in any way that they could, which made our visit so much easier and more enjoyable. I’m already looking forward to a return trip to Istanbul, and to the Alaaddin!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, so had easy, quick access to the Breakfast Room and to the rooftop terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ayasultan Hotel
Ayasultan Hotel
#321 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#245 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#26 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#264 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arife Sultan Hotel
Arife Sultan Hotel
#475 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#170 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldem Hotel

Property: Aldem Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Catal Cesme Sok. No:20-22 | Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,029 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aldem Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaaddin Boutique Hotel - Istanbul We are conveniently located in heart of the Sultanahmet, and either a walking distance or a short tram ride (Tram Station is 3 mins walk from the hotel) to many of the historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing