We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful staff, interesting hotel”
Review of Aldem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aldem Hotel
Ranked #87 of 1,059 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful staff, interesting hotel”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is a unique one... our room was directly above the lobby so we had street front windows. It was fun to listen to the noises outside, but could be bothersome for light sleepers. We invented the name "shower-bath" for what was in the bathroom as there was a Jacuzzi tub, shower walls, but the shower head was out of the tub and didn't have anything on the wall to prop it on... so we took a "shower-bath" to wash. Other than that, our room was clean and beds were comfy. The breakfast was delicious! The staff were so friendly... they made sure that we had what we needed when we set out each day, and then checked in on us in the afternoon. They were quick to make any reservations we wanted, and arranged transportation. They even taught us a little Turkish! The location of the hotel was terrific - easy walking distance to almost anything in the historical area of Istanbul... easy access to tourist sites, great restaurants, and more!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    124
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
72
114
62
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dushanbe, Tajikistan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed in the hotel only for one overnight, but I loved it. The hotel itself and the rooms are small, but the space is used efficiently. The staff is very kind and supportive. The location is also good - it is nearby main attractions in the old city. The only disturbing thing was the noise made by seagulls (with the closed window, you won't hear them, but I dont use air conditioner, so had to open the windows).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulbahor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is located close to all the attractions in old Istanbul. The prices are reasonable. The rooms are small but adequate. The staff friendly and professional. The breakfast on the 6th floor was adequate and tasty. A taxi from the airport should run just under 50TKL. There are many restaurants in the area. All in all good location, good staff, no complaints, would consider staying here again. As another reviewer noted, if possible get a front facing room , those in the middle and back face another building.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I cannot say enough about the location of this hotel. It was perfect. Staff were friendly and efficient. The room was quite small but it had everything that we needed and it was very clean. Breakfast was very good. View from the outdoor top level was spectacular. We would stay here again. Thankyou.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthDarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at Alaaddin Hotel, Sultanahmet, Istanbul in April 2014.
The location is fabulous, 5-10 min walking distance to The Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and Arasta bazaar etc. you don't need any transportation, however from the Ataturk airport it is a 20 min to 1 hr journey based on traffic and will cost 2 people 30 TL in total.
Restaurants by the 100's and sweet shops are just a min away. Tram stop 2 mins away.
You cannot ask for more.
While the rooms are very small and barely have enough space to keep your suitcases and some rooms have no windows, however overall it is cozy and if you are using the room just as a place to park your baggage, sleep and shower with a sumptuous breakfast and free wifi that works, you cannot complain. The rooms in the front are better than those at the back.
The major plus with this place are the very friendly and helpful staff. Erdal, Ali and Selim are amazing,ever ready to help with a smile.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms in the front. We stayed in 203 and found it reasonably good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A1Sydneysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A block or so from the Sultanahmet tram, not much further from all the historical sites, surrounded by very good to interesting restaurants, a great location to spend a few days. The rooms are small but comfortable, and if you are booking on Hotels.com, there are NO balconies. The staff are friendly, there is a lift, Breakfast is good with lots of choices, and the rooftop terrace has some very nice views. Best thing about the hotel is access to the historical sites and the tram.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabestany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This is a small hotel, a stone throw away from the Blue Mosque and Haya Sofia . The room just serve their purpose, they are small but clean. The people at the reception are exceptional. Talk to them, ask them things and they will open up to you. They have been of great advice for what we could do as we had a couple of extra days without tours to do.
Friends we have crossed in various parts of Turkey all mentioned their satisfaction with this property.
Ibrahim from Yuki Tours recommended it and I am greatful. By the way, if you go to Cappadocia, you should stay at Ibrahim place , the Dedeli Konak hotel. Another great place for a beautiful experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#428 of 1,155 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#144 of 1,155 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ayasultan Hotel
Ayasultan Hotel
#335 of 1,155 in Istanbul
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#258 of 1,155 in Istanbul
184 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#243 of 1,155 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#185 of 1,155 in Istanbul
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldem Hotel

Property: Aldem Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Catal Cesme Sok. No:20-22 | Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,059 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aldem Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaaddin Boutique Hotel - Istanbul We are conveniently located in heart of the Sultanahmet, and either a walking distance or a short tram ride (Tram Station is 3 mins walk from the hotel) to many of the historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aldem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing