We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to dissappont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel
Ranked #265 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Continues to dissappont”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have stayed here a half a dozen timers over the past few years and it always seems to be the same. I am a gold SPG member and I have to ask to have my room upgraded. Sometimes yes and sometimes. not. This past time I received the a huge room but it's so much work which should be unnecessary. The wifi, which in my case, I did not have to pay for since it was a SPG perk, had to be re entered into my phone or I pad over a dozen times. It seems to just turn off constantly. Additionally, while I was waiting for the room change, I went to their public computers to print my boarding pass. After signing in, downloading the document, their printer did not work. I unfortunately do not speak Turkish, but would assume a better understanding of English by the staff at an airport hotel. I found it strange that the travel agent in the lobby (not a Sheraton employee) did not understand a word. I have the impression that someone does not care. As much as I try to be loyal to SPG, next time I will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    202
    84
    42
    34
See reviews for
75
107
37
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel is located 10 minutes away from the Istanbul Ataturk Airport and provides a good business hub to the city and of close reach to the airport. I use this hotel frequently usually in transit. The reception and customer service has never been logical or particularly accommodating comparing to other wonderful SPG Hotels in Istanbul including the W hotel and the Le Meridien Etiler. The hotel management staff is severely mismanaged, impolite and generally uncooperative. As a Platinum SPG guest I requested an upgrade and was responded to with " We have seen many platinum SPG Guests you are not a special case". My girlfriend who arrived to stay with me on the second night was asked for ID on 3 occasions just to make sure she was not a prostitute. The managers used a DND sign (Which was never there) as an excuse as to why my room was not turned down or cleaned, however the minibar was always replenished. Reception staff are just uncourteous, self serving and unprofessional. When my extras exceeded by a couple of dollars I was not let into my room and was asked to bring a credit card down. When I checked in The room had old amenities, and one of our party's luggage was collected and departed for the airport without any of us knowing. The billing was not properly done. I had to take a complaint up with the hotel to credit the correct amount of SPG Points and Nights, as they changed names on bookings, removed my SPG Platinum status and yes ... turned me away from the executive lounge with a nice (Bye bye). Do not stay at this hotel as it has neither the hospitality nor common sense of the staff - there are several better options available nearby. However for a straight transit, if you are not going to be using extra facilities and have generally low expectations it may just work out to be ok. As I am writing this email. I still have 2,000 Dollars blocked on my credit card as they forgot to reconcile the blocked amount vs bill payments made. Took up a complaint with the hotel and was told that " No compensation was going to be offered" not even a "sorry".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bon_Vivant_LV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Location is on Business District, if you are looking for holiday or vacation, it's better to stay in Taksim Area.

I was on a Business trip and I had Driver, so Location was not important for me.

Near to Airport (15 minute)

3 Min Walk to great Istanbul Galleria Atakoy Shopping Mall.

Nice and clean breakfast.

Location of breakfast was at -1, it's better to be at 10th floor because of great view of area.

get a room with view to Marina Yacht Parking, Nice panoramic view combination of Boats and sunrise.

stay on higher floors.

Friendly Staff nice English Speaking.

There were no Toothbrush, Shaving Kit and Shower Gel by Default !

But when I asked Housekeeping each time, I received them quickly.
(Better to severed in Room for Sheraton)

nice and clean Bed.

TV was good but doesn't have English Discovery Channel and National Geographic.

Room Tip: Get Rooms on 15th Floor or Higher with View to Marina Yacht Parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hossein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Atakoy H, Manager at Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Hossein S. ,

We would like to assure you that we are very glad to have the opportunity of accommodating you in Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel.

After your stay with us, we kindly ask you to write a comment through e-mail to learn your opinion. Please kindly be informed that your comments are very important for us to see where we are and how to improve ourselves.

We will be more than happy to assist you for your next accommodation.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gendringen
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Got an upgrade to a suite, which was very nice.
As A SGP fanatic, I knew this would gave me value for money.
The rooms are spaceious, suited for business trip.
Internet excellent, there is a nice table to work on, great mini-bar, excellent shower and super beds.

I thought this hotel was more in the centre, but it isn't.
You definately need to spend some time and money to get into the center of Instabul.
Further from that, all what a human needs wa sin this hotel.

Excellent service, roomserive ( quick) and at a good price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingBizzMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
272 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A good efficient check-in is always a good start, and it was, with a really switched on guy. Nice spacious room, with good comfort, all required amenities, marvellous bed, and a great view over the Marina to the Sea of Marmara, with its daily queue of Bosporus-bound ships at anchor. Breakfast is a extensive affair, choose from pretty much anything. Biggest gripe (in common with many high end chain hotels)....ridiculous exploitative pricing for 'extras', e.g., in room Wi-Fi, mini bar prices, and breakfast. But to be fair, service is good. Very convenient for airport by taxi ( about 20 Turkish lira), a bit more of a long ride through often horrendous traffic to reach the city or to cross the bridge. And if your taxi driver doesn't know the hotel it is importantly not in, but near the suburb called Atakoy, which is a pretty sprawling residential area. The nearest landmark is the marina, or the nearby Galleria.

Room Tip: Marina view is nice, and the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheRoliingMcStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Sheraton Atakoy Istanbul

I was there for 2 days on the 26 th of this month at the club floor

What they lose as the location as it is at the outskirts of the city, and it takes 45 mins by car on regular traffic to reach downtown, they gain with the breath taking view of the Marina from the room and the club house on the 24th floor.
The staff is not that friendly ( smile is not there most of the time). The language is still a problem as majority of Turkish people are little informed with other languages.
Food is of average quality and taste.
The "positive" spa at the hotel was below average and I don't know if it is operated by the hotel or they have just rented the space BUT they need to be trained again about how to Handel customers. I regret the money I have paid and I wanted to talk to the manager to let him (or her) know how I feel about their service but the lady at the front desk kept me waiting for more than 5 mins while she was talking to her colleuge so I just left.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dujanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
161 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed one night to be near the airport after 7 nights in the Sultanahmet area. Although we loved our rooms in Sultanhamet, by comparison the room at the Sheraton was a palace. Very luxurious room with a great view of marina. Big shopping mall with food court and grocery store is across the street. Not convenient location for visiting sites in Istanbul. It is near the airport, and there is a free shuttle, but it stops at 2:00am and next one is 7:00am. For our flight we needed to be there by 4:30, so took a taxi (TL20).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Istanbul Atakoy
Hyatt Regency Istanbul Atakoy
#107 of 1,141 in Istanbul
375 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Istanbul Atakoy
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Istanbul Atakoy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Florya
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Florya
#214 of 1,141 in Istanbul
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Istanbul Atakoy
0.4 mi away
Titanic Port Hotel
Titanic Port Hotel
#262 of 1,141 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel

Property: Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel
Address: Sahilyolu Cad | Atakoy, Istanbul 34158, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel welcomed by distinguished comfort and an ideal location on the shores of the Sea of Marmar. The Sheraton Istanbul Ataköy Hotel is positioned immediately alongside Ataköy Marina and the sea bus terminal, and just 8 minutes from Ataturk Airport. Just 10 minutes from Sultanahmetth, the cultural and tourism highlight of Istanbul, and 20 minutes from historic Taksim Square, we offer easy access to the area’s most popular attractions. Plus, we’re a short stroll to major shopping malls such as Galleria, Carousel, Capacity, and Town Center, and offer convenient transportation options to major centers and fairgrounds including the Istanbul Performance Center, CNR and TUYAP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing