We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must for Foodies”
Review of Turkish Flavours

Turkish Flavours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Turkish Flavours organizes culinary walks and cooking classes in Istanbul. We take visitors to a real Turkish Home on the lesser visited Asian side of Istanbul for our cooking classes. Our food walks are designed to stroll through local food markets and streets of Istanbul including stops for tastings of Turkish delicacies.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Calgary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must for Foodies”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We spent the day with Taci starting at the Spice Bazaar, followed by a ferry ride to the Asian side at Kadikoy, a walk through the Kadikoy market followed by a meze lunch at the Ciya restaurant consisting of around 20 dishes (we did not eat dinner that night). Along the way, we stopped at various places where Taci explained the ins and outs of Turkish food culture, and which enabled us to stock up on spices, dried fruits,Turkish Delight and other goodies. We even found time to visit the inside of a mosque in the Spice Market area that was richly decorated with tiles. Taci was a marvellous guide, and the tour was a wonderful and most enjoyable way to learn about Turkish food. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    37
    4
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience - a must do for anyone visiting Istanbul!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was our first trip ever to Istanbul and given our limited time, we wanted to cover off as much as we can and decided that the Europe/Asia street good tour would be a good way to kick things off - Taci was amazing and we connected with her immediately - due to off season in December, we were the only one's with her for the day and it truly was an amazing experience and she was a wonderful guide - would recommend this tour to anyone as a must do! Also Selin was extremely courteous and accommodating in moving the dates of the tour to accommodate our request so thanks to her. I usually don't write reviews but after this wonderful experience was compelled to write a review so everyone can try the Turkish Flavours street food tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zeeshan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Street Food Tour”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Due to our short time in Istanbul, we reserved a street food tour on our first night in town. We met up with Taci easily in front of the Spice Bazaar - as it was the off season, it ended up just being us and her, which was a nice treat! She took us to the Asian side, which ended up requiring a sunset ferry ride, which was beautiful. She took us to a variety of restaurants and shops, and was very interested in what we would like and our enjoyment of the experience. Everything we ate was interesting and delicious. All in all, I would definitely recommend it - if we go back to Istanbul, I would do another Turkish Flavours tour or class.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KeineRader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Schooled in Cooking and Istanbul”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent two weeks in Istanbul. Our day with Selim was tops. Selim has big classes and little classes. As this was the off season, Selim had a little class of just my wife and I (followed by two days of classes of 12 each). Besides the hands on treatment of the small class we got an extra dose of Selin and a real introduction to Istanbul and Turkey.

We began the day with a visit to the Spice Market (Shop #51). We were the guest of Abdulla. He is the 4th generation to run the company. He is back from getting his MBA from Ohio State with his perfect English and gracious teaching of Middle Eastern spices.

We rode the ferry across the Bosphorus to Selim's new home. She crafted her new place around the cooking school. She designed her kitchen island (more of a continent) with working spaces for 12. After a hour we felt we had known Selin for years and at the end of the day we felt we had known her for life.

We learned how small amounts of meat and a variety of vegetables make for a cuisine unlike our own.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 70seniortraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
“A Lovely Day”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I had an absolutely great time with Selin, Taciser, Darya and, of course, Yoyo. Ahmet at the Spice Bazaar that Taciser took us to for info on spices was also great. I look forward to another day with them all on my next trip to Istanbul. It was absolutely lovely all around.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miranda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turkish Flavours also viewed

 

Been to Turkish Flavours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing