We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad hotel”
Review of Zagreb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #844 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed a week in this hotel and it was very a very bad hotel, we got a very little room with no bed to our child even that we paid for it. They have a very bad service and the breakfast was not that good. I did not like it
Moreover the Rom wasnt cleen and beds Were so unconfortable. I really dont recommend it

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel, i don't recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sayed1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Zagreb Hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed it. Rooms are quite small but fairly clean, beds are comfortable, bathrooms updated, good toiletries, hair dryer, slippers, safe box – all you need to be comfortable.
The staff are really friendly, helpful, responsive to our needs, providing high quality service.
Breakfast is served at the Dream Restaurant (lobby area) and it serves a decent selection of foods (look for the Chocolate pancakes filled with vanilla cream - outstanding!!!!).

Pros: Good Location, good value for money, quiet rooms, Free WIFI
Cons: None, really.

I recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Lovely hotel! My friend and I loved our stay at Zagreb. It’s a very clean, cosy hotel. All the staff were really nice and helpful. I always looked forward to the breakfast buffet. It was absolutely amazing, and you were spoilt for choice with the vast cuisine.

The hotel location was incredible, It was a walking distance (or 2/3 tram stops) from the Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and Topkapi Palace. And a short tram journey to Eminonou and Kabatas, where you can get the boat for trips to Prince’s Islands or take the Bosphorous Cruise.

I would highly recommend this hotel. And will definitely stay there on my next visit to Istanbul

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_Fatimah_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Zagreb 28th May to 1st June. Staff here are very friendly and helpful. They gave us great advice on getting to and from the main attractions and once you get to one, most others are within minutes of each other. Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cystern. The breakfast buffet is very good and the dining area spotlessly clean, like the rest of the hotel. The pool is free from 9am to 4pm but a charge is payable after 4pm. Why I dont know. Maybe this is why no one bothered with it. A charge is also payable if you want to use the spa.
The major downside of this hotel is the size of the rooms. Our double room was barely the size of a single and moving around when two are in the room was almost impossible.
The location of this Hotel does make up for its minor failings. Out of the front door, turn left and left again and in twenty minutes you are at the Blue Mosque. If you take the tram, two stops.
To use the tram you must pay 3tl for a tram token. You will see the token machines at the tram stops and its accepts coins or notes. A good system. If you fancy doing your own trip up the Bosphorus take the tram (same one) to Eminonu and pick up either the ferry or one of the many private tour boats operating there. We took a two hour trip on a private tour boat for 20tl each.
The open top tour buses are also a good way of seeing the sights.One will take you over the Bosphorus Bridge to Asia where you can jump off and get the next one back.
I recomend getting off at Taksim Square(we were there the day before the protests started) and spend a couple of hours here. What ever you do, dont miss the Topkapi Palace, one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen.
Back to the hotel, you will find plenty of good eating places in the area but I recomend the Tashan Garden. As you turn left out of the hotel and left again after a few yards you will see a side street leading up to a small bazaar and it is in here. Go for your evening meal. Good reasonably priced food in a beautiful setting. We didnt eat at the hotel but the menu looked good and reasonably priced. It was always fairly busy so it must be ok and the standard of food at breakfast is a good indicator. In summary a good clean hotel in a great location with great staff.
If you dont mind a bit of a sqeeze then you could do a lot worse than the Zagreb.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor. Be careful when opening the window. There is a small railing and you can l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jambo1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Nice and classy and close to the team line to get you to all the main attractions like the blue mosque etc. On the other side of the hotel there are plenty of restaurants selling delicious authentic Turkish food. The staff were very polite and helpful.
The only two negatives were the pool only being free between 9-4 (when most people are out shopping etc) and the fact you have steps to climb to get to the reception (hotel is up a hill too). Ok for me but older people might struggle a little.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The location of the hotel is fantastic - just a couple of minutes walk from the tram and we often walked 15 minutes to the Bosphorus and Galata Bridge through the bazaars. It's also surrounded by a few other hotels, so there's no shortage of tourist amenities.

The check-in staff were very friendly and willing to help us. Rooms were small but perfectly comfortable and functional and even had little balcony-type things that you could stand out on and look at the hawkers below. the only problem was that, since we were there in April when it is not supposed to get too hot outside, the air conditioning was not yet switched on for the year so the room was almost unbearably hot without opening the window. When we opened the window it got pretty noisy.

We did use the Turkish bath which was very reasonably priced for hotel guests and very nice. The restaurant had excellent food as well, and we spent most nights at the bar where the very attentive staff would change the TV channel if you wanted. Breakfast was the usual spread, nothing to complain about, but if you showed up later that 8am the hot stuff had gone cold.

Overall, apart from the heat in the room, this hotel provided and excellent base from which to explore the whole of Istanbul. Basically if they cool down the rooms and heat up the breakfast and you'd be on to a winnner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzycatpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

just back from istanbul,stay at the zagreb hotel,when i book the hotel,checked the website and the photo,did not look good , but on arrive i was well happy good happy staff,good breakfast,loocation was good too,swimming pool was nice looking over the roof tops
room are small very small
but clean,

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellyotis62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Yigitalp Hotel
Yigitalp Hotel
#396 of 1,173 in Istanbul
363 reviews
Grand Bazaar
The Time Hotel Old City
The Time Hotel Old City
#867 of 1,173 in Istanbul
202 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Grand Washington
Hotel Grand Washington
#494 of 1,173 in Istanbul
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Sorriso Hotel
Sorriso Hotel
#613 of 1,173 in Istanbul
131 reviews
Martinenz Hotel
#783 of 1,173 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Samir Hotel Deluxe
Samir Hotel Deluxe
#353 of 1,173 in Istanbul
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zagreb Hotel

Address: Gencturk Cad. Cukurcesme Sok. No: 37, Istanbul 34470, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#446 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £26 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zagreb Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zagreb hotel is a four star hotel located in the old city center of İstanbul.This is an ideal location for tourists which wants to be near the most famous historical and cultural places like Grand Bazaar,Topkapi Palace,St.Sophia,Blue Mosque,Underground Cistern…They are all in a walking distance from our hotel.Our hotel has 58 comfortable rooms which has central airconditioning and heating system,bath,satellite tv,minibar,international direct dial phone,safe box and hairdryer.Zagreb hotel has also restaurant,bar,swimming pool(indoor&outdoor),sauna and turkish bath to give good services for our clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zagreb Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing