We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find for a family of 4”
Review of Berce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berce Hotel
Ranked #138 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful find for a family of 4”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Our stay in Istanbul was made all the more special because of the lovely Berce hotel. Our room was in the basement, with a double bed and 2 comfortable singles. Mehmet the manager explained we could also use the adjoining space outside our room for luggage as the room itself is ideal for 3 persons. This was a great bonus as it provided more space for our family of 4. There was a fridge and seats in this area, perfect, basically giving us 2 rooms for the price of 1. The room itself was large and very clean. The lovely breakfast was the best we had in Turkey. The staff made us feel so welcome, Mehmet is a weallth of knowledge. We used airport transferes organised through the hotel, this service was great, on time and with very clean van.
Our family have many special memories of Turkey, the Berce Hotel and its staff is one of our favourite. . We hope to return. Dont change a thing at the Berce you do everything perfectly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    115
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
106
326
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

In a city of many hotels especially in the Sultanahmet area, this hotel is a real gem and a bargain. The staff is truly exceptional and very pleasant, kind and helpful. The rooms are large for the rates charged, very clean, nicely designed and fitted. Room 105 has three balconys and a nice sitting area near a window. The bathroom is comfortable and large for a small hotel. Towels and other linens were also very nice, plush and fresh. As others have noted, this hotel is well situated, but I would add that it is also on a quiet street. Although a small hotel, we experienced no noise inside the room from other guests, except for one occaision when a group arrived back to the hotel late and were very loud in the hall ways. We did not hear them when they were in their room. We arranged ahead of time for transport to and from the hotel from Ataturk Airport, with Mehmet. Both trips were pleasant and on time, well worth the extra cost. Breakfast is included with the cost, and is very good, with plenty of really fine coffee and tea along with a variety of freshly prepared food items. There is no lift, but Mehmet will help you with your bags, so you dont really need one. There is a nicely stocked mini bar that can be used as a small fridge. The room was well cleaned every day and not late in the day as we have experienced in other hotels.There is someone on duty 24 hours a day at the front desk.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 105 has three small balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We spent 3 days at the Berce hotel in May and, unfortunately, experienced different service from others who have contributed reviews.

The hotel is very well situated for visits to the Blue Mosque and other attractions and our room was clean and comfortable. We had tea and coffee making facilities in our room but the tea and coffee was never replaced (despite a request to the hotel) which meant that we could only use the service on the first day. Our cups were not cleaned and the small bottles of shampoo were not repaced as we used them. We had an early departure on the last day (7 am) but could not use the shower as the boiler had not been switched on.

We found the hotel very noisy. Apart from the very early calls to prayer (around 5 am) the hotel is over a railway line and trains start around 6 am. The breakfast room is at the top of a stairwell and preparations start around 6.30 am. The sound of chairs being moved and crockery being laid out carries down to the bedrooms. The hotel seems to be poorly soundproofed.

Despite our disappointment with the hotel Istanbul proved to be a fascinating place to visit and we're keen to return. We'll just find another hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the breakfast terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank billyrennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Our stay in April at the Berce Hotel was fantastic. Mehmet and his staff made our time most enjoyable. Before our arrival in Istanbul, Mehmet was great to communicate with by email and arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport. We were met outside baggage claim and it made it so much easier than trying to find a taxi and navigate to the hotel.

Rooms were comfortable and the rooftop breakfast each morning was delicious. Mehmet and the staff also gave good recommendations on what to see and everything is walking distance. It's a small boutique type hotel so book early before it fills up.

At the end of our stay they arranged another ride back to the airport which was nice to have at 5 in the morning

Highly recommend and will stay here again if we return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We have stayed in Berce seven nights in the beginning
of april 2012. Then we travelled to capadocia and
other cities and went back for more three nights before
going back home.
It is located walking distance from the blue mosque and many of the major atrractions around sultanahmet.
The room was clean, confortable and well-decorated with a
good bathroom. Wi-fi worked fine.
The breakfast was delicious, served on the rooftop terrace overlooking the sea and city, prepared by some friendly ladies.
Mehmet and Serkan were friendly and helpful on reception desk: giving directions and the best advice on restaurants, airport shuttles and booking tours.

We were wonderfully welcome by this staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rogério C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Quite impressed by this sweet hotel. Very clean, helpful staff, and convenient location (though you will walk up a decent hill to get to the Blue Mosque). Unfortunate that construction across the street blocks lower level views...and they have a very sweet outdoor dog for a neighbor!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuzzlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is in a great location, with very clean rooms. Excellent choice!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tatiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#88 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,450 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#91 of 1,150 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sphendon
Hotel Sphendon
#236 of 1,150 in Istanbul
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#189 of 1,150 in Istanbul
748 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#11 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,454 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#52 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berce Hotel

Property: Berce Hotel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sokak No 6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#46 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#106 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in the center of İstanbul on a quiet neighborhood street a five minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome and Hagia Sofia in Sultanahmet, the historical center of İstanbul.There are 7 exclusive and nicely decorated comfortable rooms, 4 of them with balconies.We have a terrace, where you can have your breakfast and have your drink with the magnificent view of the Marmara Sea, old town and the Blue Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Berce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berce Hotel Istanbul
Berce Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing