We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay again”
Review of Berce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berce Hotel
Ranked #139 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Just returned from 8 night stay at the Berce Hotel in June 2012. This is a great little hotel - 7 rooms - with a well placed rooftop terrace facing the Sea of Marmara, with the Asian shore to the east and the minarets of the Blue Mosque behind. The staff are all really lovely people, and could not do more to help us. Recently built, and kept spotlessly clean. There are some street noises but nothing that prevented sleep, beds are king sized and firm but very comfortable. The Hotel is away from the main drag of Sultanahmet where there is lots of noise and tourist coaches. You feel you are part of a neighbourhood here but Aya Sofia, the Blue Mosque etc are just a short walk away. Not far away is the Little Aya Sofia - an oasis of calm & recommended. Breakfast on the terrace is more like brunch - a fantastic choice & suitable for vegetarians too - much of it organic. Thank you Mehmet and all the staff for making our stay such a happy one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for Berce Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed for three nights from 14th June on a quick trip to Istanbul. Airport pickup service was faultless (paid extra) and when we arrived Mehmet who is the manager was so helpful is providing maps and ideas of things to do. He did not try and suggest certain tours etc but when we decided on what we wanted to do he would book it all for us.

Breakfast on the rooftop terrace overlooking the mamaris sea was also excellent (turkey style breakfast) with lots of cheese, Turkish omlettes and bread etc. Plus great tea and coffee.

Best part was we would buy a few beers from the minimarket around the corner and enjoy the rooftop terrace on the evening.

Location is less then 5 minutes walk to the main square in the old city so easy to duck back to hotel and freshen up before dinner.

Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bnewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The location, service and facilities at this hotel were really great. The bed was a little hard and sheets a little short but other than that we had a nice room and it is a place I would happily book again. No elevator but you only need to walk one or two flights of stairs with a lovely rooftop breakfast area.

Room Tip: Hotel is very central to everything in Istanbul.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Our stay in Istanbul was great and Berce cosy hotel was the right choice. The owner of the hotel was always available to satisfy any request. The staff was kind and able to help us. Our double room at ground floor was very large also for three persons. We stayed with our 5 years old child and we hadn't to pay any extramoney for the additionnal bed. Wonderful turkish carpets are everywhere in the hotel. The owner also produces and sells carpets, thus if you're looking for a turkish souvenir you do not have to go too far.A must is the breakfast on the terrace with an unbelievable view on Marmara sea, Golden Corn and Blue Moschee. The last evening we were also allowed to taste a pizza on it. To recomend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luigi2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Both the hotel and the staff exceeded our expectations. From the moment we arrived, we felt that the hotel managers, Mehmet and Serkan, genuinely appreciated our business, and they did everything possible to make us feel welcome and at ease.

The hotel is in a great location - on a quiet side street but only a few minutes walk to the Blue Mosque. All of the other historical sites are also within an easy walk. The complementary breakfast on the open terrace on the top of the hotel was a wonderful start to the day.

Even the owner was great - we spent several hours one evening sharing life stories and philosophies...and his scotch:)

You cannot go wrong staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chess_Is_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This hotel lives up to its reputation - it is a great value, great location and great service hotel. The 24 hr reception staff go out of their way to assist with any queries (when we checked out of the hotel I needed a bag stored for a week - they were happy to do this even though I wasn't staying at the hotel on my return to Istanbul - as they were fully booked). There are only 7 rooms which provides a very personal experience.
We found breakfast terrific - better than any other hotel we have stayed at in Turkey ( which is quite a few) - I have struggled to find good orange juice in Istanbul- but the selection of food was great.
The location is 5 min walk to Blue Mosque - room 107 has 3 balconies over looking the sea of Marmar - yes the balconies are small but this is a small hotel. Inside the room was plenty big enough.
The train is close - 40 meters but the noise was tolerable (there didnt appear to be that many trains) and you need to realize Istanbul is a frantically busy city of 16 million people - it is a noise place. We actually found the surrounding streets very quiet as the railway line (which you don't actually see) means there are no through roads. My wife and I would certainly stay at this hotel on our next trip to Istanbul.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Lambo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Our stay in Istanbul was made all the more special because of the lovely Berce hotel. Our room was in the basement, with a double bed and 2 comfortable singles. Mehmet the manager explained we could also use the adjoining space outside our room for luggage as the room itself is ideal for 3 persons. This was a great bonus as it provided more space for our family of 4. There was a fridge and seats in this area, perfect, basically giving us 2 rooms for the price of 1. The room itself was large and very clean. The lovely breakfast was the best we had in Turkey. The staff made us feel so welcome, Mehmet is a weallth of knowledge. We used airport transferes organised through the hotel, this service was great, on time and with very clean van.
Our family have many special memories of Turkey, the Berce Hotel and its staff is one of our favourite. . We hope to return. Dont change a thing at the Berce you do everything perfectly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#140 of 1,159 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#83 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#155 of 1,159 in Istanbul
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#73 of 1,159 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#92 of 1,159 in Istanbul
90 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sphendon
Hotel Sphendon
#236 of 1,159 in Istanbul
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berce Hotel

Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sokak No 6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#45 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £26 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in the center of İstanbul on a quiet neighborhood street a five minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome and Hagia Sofia in Sultanahmet, the historical center of İstanbul.There are 7 exclusive and nicely decorated comfortable rooms, 4 of them with balconies.We have a terrace, where you can have your breakfast and have your drink with the magnificent view of the Marmara Sea, old town and the Blue Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Berce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berce Hotel Istanbul
Berce Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing