We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price, clean and perfect breakfast!”
Review of Berce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berce Hotel
Ranked #140 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We are two girls travelling for 4 days after a work trip. Before staying here, we stayed at a more expensive place near Thaksim square so my review is based on this experience.
This is a very small hotel located in near all the tourist attraction and a tram station which can take you to the other side of the city conveniently. Compare to other places in the area, they look alike; small, clean, quiet, inexpensive and nice, but this place looks new and not too fancy.
The room is lovely decorated, clean, the bath room, though small, has everything we need. But the mattress is not that good in quality, you have to adjust to it. The room is large but the space is not well used, I guess it is because of the old structure.
The staffs are very nice and helpful. There are only 7 rooms but staff is attended 24 hrs.
The best part, for me, is breakfast. Even there are not many people in the hotel, it manages to offer you most things you need for having "a good breakfast"! At the drink bar: Fresh coffee, variety of tea, juice, milk. At the food bar; 4-5 kinds of cheese, two kinds of good bread, 3 kinds of egg dishes, yogurt, cereal, nuts, jams, honey and some olives. All are fresh and natural, they are something you can have every morning without getting bored.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viengrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for Berce Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel is very welcoming and cozy. Our room was very clean, spacious, well maintained and, not least, the room carpets and furniture reminded us that we were in Istanbul. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.
A very nice way to start the day is to serve breakfast on the Berce Hotel terrace with sea view and great Istanbul panorama. A small disadvantage for the second floor rooms could be the noise made in the morning while breakfast is cooked.
The hotel location is great, only 5 min walk to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and Topkapi Palace. Every evening, returning to hotel, we were passing through a small bazaar and terraces where people were performing traditional Turkish dances.

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel and we recommend it to you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ValiStr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The staff were super friendly and the hotel was very comfortable and clean. A very quaint and classy place in a great walking neighbourhood. Our room had two balconies. Enjoyed the rooftop terrace breakfast too! We stayed in some 5 star hotels during our trip to India later and much preferred our stay at the Berce!

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms and both had 2 or three balconies!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Berce for 4 nights in March. the owner and staff could not gave been more helpful- the rooms were large, with a great shower and large bed! Breakfast was on the top floor with views to the Bosporus - with a cold and hit selection. It is a great location for all the main sites and only a short walk to the tram. This is a lovely hotel and well worth a stay. Thank you Berce hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spooface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

i`ve just returned from my trip to Istanbul and i`m happy to recommend this hotel.
the location is great, 5 min from Blue Mosque and Sultanahmet area. Breakfast is good, fresh vegetables, cheese, eggs, etc. Mehmet is really nice and is doing a wonderful job and helped us not only by recommending certain places but also with shuttle issues. I`ve stayed in a single room but it was a huge room, easily fitting 2 people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sotir_loredana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Berce in October 2012, and were very happy about it. Mehmet and the others are very helpful, and the hotel is situated in a relatively quiet area in the otherwise noisy Sultanahmet area. Rooms are clean, food is good, and it is only a short distance to many of the sites in Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stylegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights here in March 2013 and are eager to return. I made our reservation via email with Mehmet, who was very professional, informative and prompt in replying to my inquiries. We were charged for our stay when we checked out, and Mehmet arranged taxi transfer to the airport for us.

Upon arriving in Istanbul, we took the train from the airport and somehow missed our stop - we were only one stop away from the hotel, but with our heavy bags we decided to take a taxi the rest of the way. Our taxi driver couldn't find the hotel, but we had the hotel phone number, so he called and the night employee (feel really bad that I can't remember his name now) ran a few blocks to where the taxi had pulled over to lead us to the hotel! I can't think of any other hotel I have stayed at where the night employee would do something so helpful for us, albeit inconvenient for him.

We were pleasantly surprised to find we had received a complimentary upgrade to a larger suite (Room 107) for 3 of the 4 nights of our stay. This room, one level from the rooftop/breakfast area, was quite spacious, with 3 small balconies and many windows. I am extremely picky when it comes to hotel bathrooms, and this one passed the test. It was very clean, the vanity was well lit, and it included a hair dryer, a towel warmer and nice smelling toiletries.

Beautiful carpets adorn the hardwood floors throughout the hotel; not surprisingly, the owner (his name also, sadly, escapes me now) owns a carpet store in the nearby Arasta Bazaar, and gave us a great deal on a kilim carpet that we will surely keep forever.

Each morning between 8:00am and 10:00am, we enjoyed a variety of fresh breakfast options on the rooftop balcony, including fruit, bread, olives, tomatoes, cheeses, meat slices, eggs, pastries, cereal, coffee, tea, and orange juice, etc. Also each morning, the owner enjoyed breakfast and the view with the guests, greeting us and making sure we had everything we needed. One morning, he shared some delicious lentil soup with us that the cook(s?) had made. I wish they served that every morning! We became acquainted with a few other guests during breakfasts, and also enjoyed chatting with the co-owner/manager(?), Barb. She had so much helpful advice about navigating Istanbul, and was just an overall sincere and friendly individual to be around. We really did feel like guests at a family member's home.

Our last night, we switched to the room we had actually reserved (Room 104). This room was smaller than the previous, one floor below Room 107, with 2 little balconies, but still more than spacious enough for all of our bags and newly acquired belongings. Both rooms had a strong (free) WIFI connection, mini fridges, a large armoire, 1+ armchair, plenty of electrical outlets, hardwood floors with gorgeous carpets, hot water kettle/tea/coffee, and a mirrored vanity with seat. The bathrooms in both appeared to have been recently updated, and both included hairdryers and towel warmers.

I think I preferred the smaller room, only because it wasn't as bright in the morning and we heard less of the noisy seagulls that live in the area. The staircase leading to the rooms is spiral and quite cute, but if you have problems with stairs you might request a room on a lower level - Mehmet will take care of you! When we switched rooms, he (or someone?) moved our bags for us. The staff is all very friendly and helpful, the area is safe, and the hotel, which felt much more like a bed & breakfast, is an easy walk to many fun sights (we walked everywhere: Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, etc.).

When we return to Istanbul, we will stay here again. I am definitely recommending Berce Hotel to my friends and family!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#147 of 1,159 in Istanbul
484 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#82 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#158 of 1,159 in Istanbul
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sphendon
Hotel Sphendon
#231 of 1,159 in Istanbul
276 reviews
Sultanahmet
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#278 of 1,159 in Istanbul
33 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#333 of 1,159 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berce Hotel

Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sokak No 6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#28 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#45 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £26 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in the center of İstanbul on a quiet neighborhood street a five minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome and Hagia Sofia in Sultanahmet, the historical center of İstanbul.There are 7 exclusive and nicely decorated comfortable rooms, 4 of them with balconies.We have a terrace, where you can have your breakfast and have your drink with the magnificent view of the Marmara Sea, old town and the Blue Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Berce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berce Hotel Istanbul
Berce Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing