We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“for those who wanna enjoy the city with a convenient accomodation.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monopol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Monopol
Ranked #918 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“for those who wanna enjoy the city with a convenient accomodation.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

its a nice hotel for those who wanna get a good night sleep and enjoy the city the next day for a very reasonable price. i.e: small rooms and below average breakfast.
on the other hand clean rooms and very friendly staff and an excellent location exactly 3 minutes from istiklal street and safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hossamyassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
6
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We just got back from Monopol Hotel on a one week vacation to Istanbul. We travelled as a group of 8 adults and 3 children. The hotel location is SUPERB, 5 min walk to Istiklal street center. 10 min walk to Sishane Bus and metro stations for easy access to all of Istanbul. However, that is just about it, the sole advantage of the hotel.

Breakfast is less than poor, 2 types of cheese, olives, coffee, tea and that's it. Double rooms are EXTREMELY SMALL, I barely could find a place to stand in the room. Twin bed rooms are relatively better.

They checked me in room 106 when we arrived, its an AWFUL room, TOO SMALL, located in the hotel basement, stains on the wall, an irritating smell in the corridors. I spoke to the receptionist who was IRRATIONALY RUDE, and after a long debate with his terrible English he agreed to check me into another room the following morning. Next morning they checked me in room 406 located in the 4th floor, the only advantage was that it was away from the basement. When I asked about the availability of a bigger room that receptionist (Black hair, moustache, Akram was his name I guess) hung up the phone on me!!! He was literraly the rudest receptionist I've ever seen. The next time I spoke to him he was like "If you dont like the hotel call ur agent and leave!!" I still don't know how I held myself from beating the hell out of him. The rest of the staff were very polite, nice and helpful. Special thanks to Zakareya, he was very respectful, helpful and friendly.

Wireless internet connection is available all around the hotel, works most of the time with relatively fine speed. Rooms and bathrooms are not clean, but not too dirty to irritate u, would work fine if u intend to only sleep in the hotel and spend the rest of the day outdoors.

The A/C was useless, first couple of nights the staff alleged it was not working and in maintenance. Later we figured they just said so to save electricity. They keep the A/C remote control in the reception so that u cant use it!!! Ask repeatedly for it and they shall give it to u.

I recommend this cheap hotel ONLY if yer travelling on vacation, intending to spend the MINIMUM time possible indoors. Make sure u bring ur own bed sheets and towels with u, wouldn't recommend using the hotel's. The place has a great location and very helpful staff (Just stay away from that receptionist Akram).

P.S: ISTANBUL IS BEAUTIFUL :)

Room Tip: Stay away from 1st floor rooms, they are basement rooms and room 106 in particular. DON'T ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muhammad_AbdulRahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Dirty bathroom. Old towels. Too small linens. Breakfast ugly poor and bad. But very close to istiklal the main street. Close to buses and taxis . Close to taksim. Open 24. Hard to get a receipt... 59 € for 2beds. Good view on bosphorus at 6th floor.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astroboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
787 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 619 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

As a 3 star hotel with this location can be used for short stays, weekends. 300 meters from the main pedestrian area, night clubs and restaurant at the same and the neighbour streets. 400 meter from Galata tower and Tunnel-metro station. Very different rooms, quite small, bigger and quite big (3 bed ) rooms. Wireless internet is working not on every floor, phone set, modern TV set. Unfortunately the bathrooms are not comfortable - very small, used, looking dirty. The street view rooms are noisy almost all the night - because of the night clubs. The breakfast room is not elegant at all, but the food is ok: 3 kinds of chease, 3 kinds of olives, good tea and coffeemaker, bread, jam, honey, tomato, cucumber, milk, muesli and boild eggs. Only very few foreigners. Because of a perfect location I will choose it for the next ocassion as well.

Room Tip: 306, 206, 106 - the biggest and quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrzej R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Had a 1 night at Hotel Monopol, the hotel is value for money, in the sense it has a bed, Internet and in the heart of the city of Istanbul. So for what I paid for, it was ok. The breakfast, is really not worth eating,so a cup of coffee and then that's it. But just outside the doorsteps there are other choices.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

its a small hotel with an excellent location. 2 minutes from istiklal st. and seconds away from a metro station. Our room was clean. But breakfast was limited, afterall you get what you pay for... Bonus is that most of the staff talks arabic. late on weekends, the sounds are a bit high outside the room but I dont think it was much of a problem for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed 5 nights in a dark run-down room with a window to a mini-courtyard with 1 meter to the next wall, at least no noise. The room was spacey but the carpet old, the sink was broken. Most importantly, the air conditioning worked, wifi so-so. Breakfast is Turkish only, vegetables and cheeses. Front staff uninformed and unhelpful. Stay away if you plan to spend any time in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londoner081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Mavi Konak
Mavi Konak
#673 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Beyoglu
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#516 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Beyoglu
By Murat Crown
By Murat Crown
#407 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
City By Molton Hotels
City By Molton Hotels
#897 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Beyoglu
Rose by Molton Hotels
Rose by Molton Hotels
#614 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#391 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol

Property: Hotel Monopol
Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. No:93 Tepebasi, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80050, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #918 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monopol 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Monopol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing