We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #259 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 7 days and found the room comfortable and a great location. It was fairly priced , rooms were clean and the staff friendly and accommodating. The hotel had a Bed and Breakfast feel without the intrusion of owners. (Note: If you use the refrigerator leave the wood cabinet door open so it works otherwise it overheats and nothing cools.)

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony since the room is a little more roomier and it isn't that more expensive.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Grand Peninsula Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lovely small and friendly hotel in a beautiful little side street, very clean, great shower, comfy beds. Staff really helpful and will arrange the cheapest airport transfers for you! I couldn't believe how close we were to all the historical sights. Istanbul is an amazing, unique city. I will definitely be going back, and would certainly stay at the same hotel. Only 1 point dropped for unsuitability for elderly or disabled travellers as there are lots of stairs.

Room Tip: 501 has a lovely little balcony and views of the Bosphorous
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We originally booked at the Hanedan, which is a block away, but we were given two rooms instead at the Grand Peninsula, a sister hotel. The rooms were pretty good. They were not very spacious but the furnishings were tasteful and the bathroom was great. The pillows weren't comfortable though and we had difficulty controlling the a/c. The hotel is located in Sultanahmet, but it is conveniently tucked away from the district's bustling, noisy streets. The Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia are just about 5 minutes away by foot and everything you need like convenience stores, restaurants, travel agencies, banks and souvenir shops are just a few steps up the road. I was just pretty disappointed since I had hoped that the roof deck, a feature all hotels in the district seemingly have, had no view of the Blue Mosque, but it had a sweeping view of the Sea of Marmara. The view was the reason I booked at the Hanedan. Nonetheless, given its price, location, quality of rooms and service (the main desk guy, Ramazan, the cleaners and the lady stationed at the breakfast area were all kind, helpful and spoke superb English), Grand Peninsula is worth the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank horacecima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

- Excellent very helpful & pleasant Reception Staff
- Efficiently run throughout
- Comfortable rooms cleaned daily
- Excellent breakfast on roof terrace. Very pleasant helpful lady organises breakfasts
- Situated in a quiet side street but close to the main cultural attractions
- Would certainly stay again & recommend highly
Would also recommend the Tria Elegance Restaurant for lovely meals & a no hassle approach to attracting customers - unlike many!


Superb stay, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChesterMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

What a great location in Istanbul, very nice place very close to historical landmarks and restaurants, excellent hotel staff for vital information, I would go back there on a heart beat....Long Point, Cape Breton, Nova Scotia... traveler....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I booked a room at Grand Peninsula Hotel when I visited Istanbul early May.This hotel was recommended to me by a friend couple from the US who really enjoyed their stay there last year and I am really greatful for it.
The place is very convenient to visit all the touristic spots in Istanbul. The hotel is charming, located in a very safe area and quiet street close to the Blue Mosque and tram station.
The roof terrace where the breakfast takes place is really enjoyable with a great view to both the Marmara sea and the shores of the Bosphorus.
The room was big enough, clean and confortable. The staff is really nice, helpful and gives very good tips to discover the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We booked a room at the nearby Peninsula Hotel a few months before our stay, and the booking process was already very professional and prompt. We asked for airport transfer, which was very efficient both ways, with a comfortable van and very friendly drivers.

On arrival to town, we were told that we had been moved to the sister-hotel, the Grand Peninsula. This was in an even better location, so we were quite happy, despite the room being on the ground floor and smelling a little bit moldy. It was fine overall, until we saw that the rooms on the floors were much nicer, with balconies.... so we were a little bit disappointed. This hotel is slightly pricier than the other one, but we paid the prices we had originally been quoted in the reservation, including airport transfer, which I found to be very professional, as it had been the hotel's decision to move us.

The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly, they gave us very useful tips and information about the city. Breakfast was plentiful, and the lady who served it lovely. The rooftop was nice too with good views, though I missed the hammocks the other Peninsula Hotel had promised.

The location could not be better, it's walking distance from everywhere, and much quieter than the other Peninsula Hotel seems to be.

Overall a very nice hotel, I definitely recommend it. Thanks to the staff for being so helpful and lovely.

Room Tip: Try to go for rooms which are on the floors and face inwards, they have nice balconies.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmP243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#262 of 1,159 in Istanbul
615 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anadolu Hotel
Anadolu Hotel
#384 of 1,159 in Istanbul
202 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#236 of 1,159 in Istanbul
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#286 of 1,159 in Istanbul
138 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Print House Hotel
The Print House Hotel
#416 of 1,159 in Istanbul
40 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#156 of 1,159 in Istanbul
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Peninsula Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#105 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#133 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#166 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £25 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Istanbul
Peninsula Hotel Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing