We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel. Awesome staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #266 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel. Awesome staff.”
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Grand Peninsula is very nice, reasonably priced. But what makes the place are the extremely friendly and helpful staff. Ramazan, Ruhat and Daniel, the receptionists, were all so warm, welcoming and hospitable. I wish I would have talked with them more! The free breakfast was also delicious!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gregbeiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    159
    32
    4
    1
See reviews for
70
186
74
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We reserved 2 rooms in this hotel 4 months before the trip. One room was booked for 4 nights, the other for 5 nights. 2 weeks before arrival we changed the reservation to be 4 nights for both rooms and confirmed via email with the hotel reception the ammendment. Hotel was great, clean, helpfull staff, great location. Unfortunately, at the check-out, the reception guy(hotel manager?) was very surprised to see us leaving. Even if the hotel manager says that the reservation system is triple checked, i confirm (and i have 3 other persons to re-confirm) that the reservations are kept on a big sheet of paper at the reception. They forgout about our email (or didn't read it) and therefore we were forced to pay cash even if they had a POS machine and they confirmed via email that card payment is possible. Also, the guy insisted that we received a better room and we were to be charged more, so paying less in cash was actually a discount. The room that we asked for was a standard double, it is not our problem that they messed up the reservations and we got a better one, the price and booking conditions should be as agreed in advance. This really spoiled the beauty of this hotel, hope they will improve in the future.
In case hotel management reads this: guys, it is a pitty that you do this kind of tricks as a revenge, but it was your fault, not ours.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank costinescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gprhotel, Owner at Grand Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
We are constantly making reservations for our guests from all over Europe, without hiccup or injury as is our policy. We certainly did not recieve an email from these people stating the change in their reservation - otherwise it would have been made. We are glad you have three people to confirm we have a hardcopy system backup. 'And then forced to pay cash' - what nonsence. We do offer a discount if people pay us in cash, its true but our rack rates are clearly visable on our website. This customer had a very low standard of English, has failed to understand the emails he has recieved, and needs to shift the blame. Noone is ever given a room or a price that is different to that disclosed in their quotation email. We will take a look at offering seperate languages on our website. We wish this customer well

Regards,

Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed at Grand Peninsula Hotel at the beginning of our trip and then at the end of our trip. The hotel was extremely clean and modern. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Even the woman serving the breakfast upstairs was so warm and caring to my 6 year old daughter. She gave her a kiss every morning! Can not say a negative thing about the hotel other than the rooms were small and pricey....BUT comparable in price to everything else in the area..... the location was brilliant and it was great to be able to walk to all the major tourist sites.
I would recommend this hotel to a friend ! and to families!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank leslie184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gprhotel, Manager at Grand Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2010
Thank you very much for your kind words, we were happy to be at your service.

Kind regards,

Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Hotel was immaculately clean with a fantastic location. Central yet quiet. Stayed in 2 rooms with 3 children (9,7,4). Breakfast on the roof terrace was simple and adequate. Staff were great, welcoming and of real assistance. Australian on the desk for part of the time. Rooms had showers with great water pressure. Airport transfer from S. Gocken at 40 euros for 5 worked well. Free wifi in the rooms.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iain007london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gprhotel, Owner at Grand Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2010
We appreciate the time you spent with us and were glad we could share Istanbul with you.

Kind regards,

Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This was a hotel that I found through internet, and was able to accept it beacuse they offered me pick-up from the airport at 12.5 Euros. The single room was quite clean and tidy BUT extremely small. The only way I could open my suitcase was to put it on my SMALL bed and not on the ground. Hence 45 Euros per night is perhaps too high (by 15 Euros) for the room. The hotel staff was good and the hotel is conveniently located (about less than 10 minutes walk) to all attractions. Luckily for me, there was an Indian Restaurant (Dubb) just at the door step, which was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gprhotel, Owner at Grand Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2010
If a customer asks for a single room, of course it is not going to be the same size as a double room. We have never had a complaint about the size of our rooms, probably because when our customers do a little research - they see how reasonably priced our rooms are. We appreciate this guests comments towards the friendlyness of our staff, we do truly go out of our way to give our customers the best advice.

Kind regards,

Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The view is great. The breakfast was good. But they kept reservations on a piece of paper. They lost our second night multiple times finally sending us to a hotel where we couldn't even walk around the bed it was so small.

As I understand from talking to people on the street In the US hotels refer you to other hotels when they are booked, but in Turkey they get money from the referred hotel for doing this.

The Sultanahmet district is very touristy but nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank networkedrobotics1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gprhotel, Manager at Grand Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2010
Very strange indeed, we have had no customers with 'lost' reservations and our reception team work tirelessly to make sure this sort of thing doesnt happen. Your reservation is checked three or four times before being put into our system - NOT written down on pieces of paper. Occasionaly a customer will want an extra night that we are unable to provide and yes we have contacts in the area - however the notion of kick backs is very insulting. Our reputation stands up for itself - and if you are reccomended to another hotel by us in a similar price range and its not as nice as the GP - that is testimate to thew enormous value for money we are providing. We stand out amongst our competitors for a reason - and people are dissapointed certainly when they cannot stay with us. We will continue to provide the best customer service possible to our dear clients.

Daniel Shailes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We spent 4 nights and the Grand Peninsula Hotel and had a wonderful experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable with nice bathrooms and showers and its location is perfect for anyone looking to see Istanbul's main historic attractions. We were able to walk pretty much anywhere we wanted to go which was a huge plus for us. The front desk staff was amazing and gave great advice on what to do and see and also gave great directions. Breakfast was the typical Turkish Breakfast, but they had filtered coffee and fruit which I particularly enjoyed. It was also wonderful to eat breakfast on a roof terrace! All in all we had an excellent experience here and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WMB_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#243 of 1,141 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#24 of 1,141 in Istanbul
705 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#585 of 1,141 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#353 of 1,141 in Istanbul
316 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lamp Hotel
Lamp Hotel
#562 of 1,141 in Istanbul
197 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#295 of 1,141 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Peninsula Hotel

Property: Grand Peninsula Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#130 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#134 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#166 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Istanbul
Peninsula Hotel Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing