We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service”
Review of Second Home Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Second Home Hostel
Ranked #2 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Second Home provided wonderful service and even helped us carry our many bags up the stairs. The new building is fantastic with spatious rooms.

The location is very central and walking distance to all the sights in the Old Town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanetteandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

Second home hostel was everything you could want for a city break in İstanbul. It is located right in the heart of İstanbul, less than a minutes walk away from Aya Sofya, the blue mosque and Topkapı palace - and a fıve mınute walk from Emınönü, the lively port from which you can explore İstanbul by boat. The guys at the hostel were really frıendly and helpful ın plannıng what the best thıngs were to do on a tıght schedule, and they made sure İ really dıd feel at home whıle there. Breakfast was delicious, the beds were peaceful and comfortable, and ıt was fantastıc value for money - what more could you ask? All ın all a great stay, very hıghly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

As the name says this really was a home away from home. A credit to Jon(Sayit) for making our stay as hassle free and enjoyable as it was. As soon as we arrived we were upgraded to a bigger room in their new renovated 2nd building (30sec walk away). The roof terrace was a lovely setting for the free breakfast and internet. Excellent location, walking distance to all the sites and tram line. What really made our stay was that Jon was so willing to help us and arrange anything and everything we needed.. not just in Istanbul but throughout turkey! We wish could have brought him along for the rest of our travels. We are all going back to stay their on our way home and will highly recommend this hostel to all our fellow travelers!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Five_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Has a really great location thats walking distance from all the major attractions. If you're looking for excitement, there are happening shisha joints just across the road. Rooms were EXTREMELY CLEAN and roomy with plush pillows, snuggly blankets, soft sheets and opulent curtains.
The internet is really fast (ps we are using it now) and a lavish breakfast is served with a smile each morning.
Do not be fooled by its humble exterior... it really and truly will be your second home!
The only downside would be the long flight of stairs. BUT it will burn off all the yummy turkish food you eat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanhuiteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Top location, great friendly advice, great meeting place for to meet and hook up with other travellers. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, hosts welcoming and full of great advice. Had a brilliant time based on advice from these guys.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YasandZub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Awesome hostel! I stayed in the 9bed dorm which was very comfortable and nice. The room, showers and toilettes were very clean. I loved having breakfast and tea on the terrace and chatting with the guests. It's the perfect place to meet people from all over the world, to relax and enjoy the great view. The guys who are running the hostel are just amazing and made my stay perfect with all their help and advices. Best staff ever! Definately a fun and friendly atmosphere and great location at low cost. Will stay again and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SinaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

"Do you have room for us?" said two tired, frustrated, lost travellers. "Of course, this is your Second Home!" One night turned into five as we not only enjoyed the comfort of our sleeping arrangements in the basement dorm (nice and cool!), hanging out with Emre and Can (which may be the most amazing hosts in the history of hostels), and the amazing breakfasts. And I must also mention that the location is pretty much perfect, 7 minutes walk to Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, train station, public transportation. This was the highlight of our Eastern European travels and we sure do miss our new friends and our Second Home!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#764 of 1,160 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#20 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,145 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#9 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#502 of 1,160 in Istanbul
124 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#142 of 1,160 in Istanbul
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Home Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Hostel

Address: Ebussuut No: 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £8 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Second Home Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your 'Second Home' in Istanbul !We have been providing a welcoming, clean and safe place for visitors with the best location since 2009 !Dormitory, hostel rooms, private rooms or suites; we have every kind of accomodation choices. So there will certainly be something to match your budgetTravelling alone or in a group, there are plenty of opportunities to socializeWe can arrange tours in Istanbul, give helpful tips and information about the city, and help with any other of your travel needs.We are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Second Home Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing