We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever!”
Review of Second Home Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Second Home Hostel
Ranked #3 of 1,250 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The Hostel was nos luxurious, but it was really really clean, the staff were great, the location could not have been better...
Would definetely come back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabet81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2010

I had absolutely no problems with Second Home Hostel. In fact, the staff there went above and beyond to help me find where I wanted to go. The location is completely fantastic, a less than 5 minute walk from the train station. I would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konklone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

This is Sam :-) I highly recommend 2nd Home Hostel as Can and his staff are great. They will take the time to make your stay in Istanbul as comfortable as possible. They are knowledgeable and friendly and staying there is more like staying with friends than in a hostel. It would be hard to fınd a better hostel out there. I have stayed ın many!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietravla186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Nice people. Good location. Reasonable accomodation. Would not stay on the shared room in the basement.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
Thank Joao Tiago T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

For budget accommodation this hostel is outstanding. We stayed in a private room with bath. The room is quite compact but adequate. What makes this hostel outstanding is that it is newly renovated, located within walking distance of the historic sights of Istanbul and the staff is extremely helpful, in partiuclar, John, the manager. Not only does he take pride in the facility itself, but has a genuine interest in ensuring your appreciation of all that Istanbyl has to offer. His advice is invaluable and he actually escorted us to several locations. There are plenty of restaurants very close to the hostel, in particular, Deja Vue for local cuisine. A Turkish breakfast is included and internet is free. If stairs are a concern for you this may not be advisable, otherwise I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bepate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Really wonderful, friendly and helpful staff. Great value for money for the location to many of the major sites. The Palace, Sophia Hargia, Blue Mosque, Hippodrome and Grand Bazaar are all within easy walking distance. Many restaurants close by (They are priced for tourists). The hostel provided a simple but excellent breakfast and had free wifi and internet. Breakfast is on the fifth floor and there is no lift which was fine for us.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary1962perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I really enjoyed my stay in the Second Home Hostel; the hospitality of the Hostel Team, the overall service, the delicious turkish breakfast as well as the beautiful and clean rooms. It was everything i needef for my trip to such a nice city as Istanbul. I definitely know now where my second home is :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#463 of 1,163 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#785 of 1,163 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,250 in Istanbul
784 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,250 in Istanbul
929 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#12 of 1,250 in Istanbul
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Home Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Hostel

Address: Ebussuut No: 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,250 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £8 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Second Home Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your 'Second Home' in Istanbul !We have been providing a welcoming, clean and safe place for visitors with the best location since 2009 !Dormitory, hostel rooms, private rooms or suites; we have every kind of accomodation choices. So there will certainly be something to match your budgetTravelling alone or in a group, there are plenty of opportunities to socializeWe can arrange tours in Istanbul, give helpful tips and information about the city, and help with any other of your travel needs.We are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Second Home Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing