We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, central and convenient”
Review of Maywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maywood Hotel
Ranked #176 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Two grown up female friends and colleagues traveling together, our purpose was a working weekend catching up with the Istanbul Biennial after a seminar with a larger group in a hotel in the Taksim area. Maywood was a good experience, we stayed in similar rooms in the same corridor for two nights, Friday to Sunday. Friendly welcome, working wi-fi everywhere (we experienced erratic services in other Istanbul hotels), good breakfast and a central location was important to our choice. We appreciated the peaceful atmosphere and the sea-gull wake-up call from the sea-side nearby. The location is central both to transportation (the tram is essential to move around, taxis are stuck in traffic jams) and historical sights, as well as the Grand Bazar, the spice market and many of the historical sights of Istanbul.

Hardwood floors, very good beds and clean and fresh decoration with a slightly kitchy Turkish baroque feel to it, added to the experience. The only downside was the temperature and air quality system. The air conditioning was not effective, and it was not an alternative to turn it off, as the windows only could be opened very little.
Even so, I plan to return to Maywood for a stay with my family later!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbergaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
There are newer reviews for Maywood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at the Maywood for 3 nights in Sept. prior to a cruise. The pick-up service included in our rate was very easy to find as we exited the immigration area. The staff at the hotel could not have been more welcoming or helpful and were always there with a hello or a willingness to help with sightseeing suggestions. The breakfast buffet is typically european with something there for even the pickiest appetite. Try the yoghurt and honey - it is amazing!!! Within walking distance of absolutely everything and the tram is almost right outside the door - if you are going farther afield. While we had twin beds (that were very comfortable) our room had a wonderful deep bathtub that was fabulous after a long day of sightseeing. I would without a doubt return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: we were on the first floor so were able to use the stairs - didn't have to wait for elevators!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markenbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We had a short 4 night stay at the Maywood Hotel and were very happy with our selection. The hotel is in the old sector of Istanbul so is very close (walking distance) to all historic sites. We arrived at 10.30am and were able check in straight away. The decor of the hotel is luxurious and all the usual amenities were available in the room, including a fridge which had been sorely missing from many of our other hotel stays. The room size was plenty big enough. The breakfast was wonderful, so much choice and variety, very Turkish but there were also boiled eggs, tomatoes, sausages and toast for the less adventurous. I could not fault the staff they were extremely helpful and friendly and we did not feel there was an expectation of a tip. We were given a small welcome gift on arrival and another on departure.
All in all 10 our of 10 on every count.

Room Tip: The hotel only has a small number of double bed rooms so if you really want one you should email the...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Maywood for 5 nights and really enjoyed the experience. The staff were super-friendly and helpful (particularly when the hotel computer needed to be changed to an english keyboard!), and the hotel is extremely well situated in the old city with easy access to the top attractions (5 minute walk) and the Bosphorous sea-front. There are excellent restaurants nearby, and a great tram and railway link, and while the streets are narrow - and impossibly 'two way flow' - taxis do manage to get to the hotel without too much hassle, and nothing that a bit of backing up cannot fix!

Our room (304) faced the street and only occasionally did we hear a shout. It had a tiny balcony, a small but adequate bathroom with an excellent shower, two single beds (they offered to move us to a double bed), but limited cupboard space, or a place to put suitcases (But hey, old is generally tiny!) Spotlessly clean - the only thing is that that don't provide a minimum of bottled water, even though they advise you not to drink the tap water. The breakfast - from 7.00 to 11.00 is humungous although the coffee was Nescafe!! Furniture in main areas is period style and fits in very well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrFredBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Found this hotel on Trip advisor originally. Decided to book it based on the reviews. I am not disappointed. We got off the cruise by 8 30 and arrived here by 9 30.
We were not to check in till late afternoon. They said we could have breakfast at the hotel. They had a Turkish buffet here. The buffet was marvelous. Amazing. The dining room is beautiful. The rooms are old style because they are in "Old Town" but a great boutique hotel and inwould stay here again and again.

The Turkish people are attractive, friendly and just plain nice. Very welcoming to Americans. Great sense of humor.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend in September. The hotel is very clean, spacious rooms and bathroom. Our room faced a quiet street and was airconditioned.
The breakfast was varied and plentiful, the staff was very helpful and well informed, arranging taxis for us and recommending places to go.

The hotel is well positioned, a walking distance from main sights, which was great.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nt7169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I was very sick on day of travel and could not make trip to istanbul. I emailed the hotel on day i was due to arrive and they very kindly offered not to charge my credit card. Most hotels would charge 1 night or even the whole vacation time booked. This is very nice thought by Maywood Hotel and when in istanbul again i will definitely stay here!. Thanks to all at Hotel Maywood.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank iffabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#49 of 1,159 in Istanbul
980 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#89 of 1,159 in Istanbul
946 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#70 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#96 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,192 reviews
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#6 of 1,159 in Istanbul
152 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#38 of 1,159 in Istanbul
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maywood Hotel

Address: Nobethane Cad. No:25 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#137 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#182 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £27 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maywood hotel good choice and best hotel in old city..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maywood Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing