We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location, few amenities”
Review of Maywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maywood Hotel
Ranked #152 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value and location, few amenities”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I got a great price on this place, and would not have wanted to pay more. The location is fantastic. 1-2 minutes walk to the Sirkeci station, walking distance to all the old city sites. My room was very pretty, but the mattress was uncomfortable. Everything was in modern, good repair, and appointed pleasingly to the eye. Their web site says they have a restaurant, but it's just for the breakfast service. Although they are willing to go get you food from their sister hotel, it's easier to just go around the corner to Sirkeci Restaurant (which I have also reviewed). They do have a little bar set up, but I never saw anyone drinking at it. I was neither impressed nor offended by service. I would stay here again if I were doing Istanbul on a budget, given the location, but would hope to step up to a place with a restaurant and more luxurious bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeannette777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    282
    53
    7
    2
See reviews for
167
421
88
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A delightful place to stay. The team working there are always helpful and charming, The hotel is a gem in a convenient part of Istanbul for the main sights. The road is just off the main tram street and is reasonably quiet. the area is improving - quite a lot of construction work nearby - but that didn't affect my stay. I had a room at the front with a small balcony overlooking the street. Rooms are reasonable in size, have free wi-fi, mini bar (good prices) and en suite with air conditioning. Sometimes you do get a little noise from adjacent rooms but that was infrequent. Breakfast is a wonderful spread - a variety of hot and cold, savoury and sweet. The lobby is large and comfortable. Somewhere I would choose to return to when I go back to Istanbul without question.

Room Tip: I liked my room at the front - but the ones at the back or side are possibly quieter but without a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tootingdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, california
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We travel quite a bit ... not sure if I've ever met a hotel staff more professional and eager to please. Excellent service (sight seeing suggestions, help with travel plans, you name it ... they arranged it), perfect location (few minutes walk to most sights, or to tram which was super easy to use), very nice room (cleanliness, nice bedding, tea & coffee, fridge in room), great breakfast. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marijkeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is truly first rate. I spent 6 days in Turkey, 5 are which in this hotel.

ThIs hotel is easy to get to via tram and a 5 minute walk after that. Most major main attractions are within walking distance from the hotel.

I have to admit my booking with this hotel was confusing (due to a cancelled tour) but the front desk handled it all in a very professional manner.

What I enjoyed was the personalised service they offered. As soon as you arrive, they offer you a drink with a turkish delight and sit with you showing famous monuments and places to eat on a map. Furthermore they gave me a departing gift when I left.

I truly had a great time in this hotel and would like to thank the front of house team for really looking after me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Maywood is convenient to the Old Town tourist sites, to the ferries, and to the tram. It is easy to travel between the Maywood and the airport (Ataturk) via tram/metro (with a reasonable amount of luggage). Similarly, it's easy to reach the New Town via the tram. The enjoyable and scenic dock area is a short walk away, as are the top sites (Hagia Sophia, Topkapi, Blue Mosque, Archeological Museum, Basilica Cistern, etc.). In addition to being convenient, the Maywood provides comfortable rooms and large bathrooms. The hotel is on a side street, so it tends to be quieter than many other hotels in the Old Town. At breakfast, the selection is varied, interesting, and enjoyable. Above all, the staff are friendly and helpful and they try earnestly to make guests' stay a pleasure. In sum, the Maywood is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UStraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for a week for a family holiday. It is conveniently located near Emininou, and is a short walk from the Blue Mosque. There are many restaurants close by, which are much cheaper than the restaurants around the Blue Mosque. The rooms are very clean and decorated nicely. Would stay here again. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSerenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terneuzen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for three days. Very clean, very good and friendly staf. Breakfast a bit booring with staf not cleaning tables regularly. Good location. Public transport nearby. All in all recommentable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nieuwoudt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#56 of 1,156 in Istanbul
975 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#87 of 1,156 in Istanbul
938 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#99 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#28 of 1,156 in Istanbul
145 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#69 of 1,156 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Sultanahmet
Glamour Hotel
Glamour Hotel
#358 of 1,156 in Istanbul
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maywood Hotel

Property: Maywood Hotel
Address: Nobethane Cad. No:25 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#74 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#117 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#183 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maywood hotel good choice and best hotel in old city..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maywood Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing