We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Maywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maywood Hotel
Ranked #157 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great location.Close to the Topkapi palace, cisterns, Sultanhamet attractions, ferry terminal, railway station and tram stops, restaurants and shopping. The Maywood is clean and comfortable with good breakfast and the most friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: 5th floor at the front over the main entrance gives a good view of the street activity. Was a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    282
    53
    7
    2
See reviews for
167
421
88
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Maywood Hotel Istanbul is in a great part of the 'old city', within easy walking distance of wonderful city sights and 50m to the tram!
Staff are warm and welcoming and take the time to answer questions and explain getting from "a to b". Buffet breakfasts include a wide variety for all tastes. My room was big enough for a 'tourist' (who doesn't spend all day in it), well-appointed, and maintained by staff.
A nice quiet, no-frills bar available, too. A shame restaurant is not available for evening meals.
Happy to recommend and would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Wireless available on 1-side of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieD4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect if you wish to stay near the main touristic attactions. The rooms are confortable and turkish-style well decorared. The breakfast is perfect, the best we had in our trip around Turkey. The staff is friendly. The wifi doesn't work well inside the room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nelsonnovaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here as a party of 15 for a birthday weekend, fantastic location, clean and well presented hotel. The staff are fantastic, so helpful, polite and friendly. They really couldn't have been more amazing, really recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Istanbul

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amiemc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

(+)
Stylish lobby and rooms with luxurous eastern style furniture
Great place to stay if you would like to see the old city & monuments on foot
Kind stuff
Excellent wifi
Nice breakfast

(-)
A bit small rooms

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Godspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

On arrival at hotel we were greeted by Roberto who immediately offered us tea and went through the locations of the major tourist sites which were the purpose of our visit to Istanbul.
Many of them were in easy walking distance and he gave us rough costs of how to get to others and trips we could make.
The room and en suite (shower only no bath) were spotlessly clean and had tea/coffee making
facilities. Towels were changed every day and soaps/ shower gel topped up as necessary.
Breakfast was buffet and had a vast range cold meats, hard boiled eggs, cheeses, salad, various vegetables, cereals,cake various types of bread If you couldn't find something you like , you are the one with a problem - even the honey was fresh from a honeycomb not from a jar!. Only breakfast is served not evening meals (if you eat the breakfast you wont need much of a lunch)
We were there for 6 nights and the hotel arranged collection free from the airport- a very careful driver and on the return they told us about the options and arranged the shuttle bus for us which was perfectly adequate. I would certainly go back to the Maywood again if I go back to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and slightly noisy but nice to have natural light in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have been there recently with tow of my friends and we enjoyed everything. We had a triple room in second floor, although really to small (even the 2 balconies were tiny), comfortable and clean and well furnished. We stayed in this small room for 9 nights and nothing disturbing happened at all. The only negative points are the Wi-Fi that sometimes stops working and the noise comes from pipes when upper room uses toilet.

Breakfast was good and rich, but the cups and glasses were a bit small.One of my friends preferred to bring her mug instead of 2-3 times fetching!

The staffs were polite and generally friendly and helpful, especially Mr. Recep Teker how was very helpful, intimate, and perfect in English speaking (and very good in German as I saw). It was my 3rd time in Istanbul but, by Mr. Recep advises, the first time I learnt where to go and what to do to spend less and enjoy more.

The location was great. Maywood is a very good choice being in the Sultanahmet area, easily reach the monuments (Topkapi, Blue mosque, Hagia Sofia, basilica cistern, Grand Bazaar, …) within a walking distance, and also nearby the Sirkeci tram and Sirkeci underground station that connect you everywhere. Although the hotel is located in the nearest distance to the public transportation system, is very quiet and the location is completely safe.

I suggest that within the hotels in this level in Istanbul, Maywood is the best place to stay and breathe the Istanbul's soul.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahshid-Jafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#54 of 1,148 in Istanbul
974 reviews
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#49 of 1,148 in Istanbul
135 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#93 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Glamour Hotel
Glamour Hotel
#348 of 1,148 in Istanbul
44 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#94 of 1,148 in Istanbul
929 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#64 of 1,148 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maywood Hotel

Property: Maywood Hotel
Address: Nobethane Cad. No:25 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#74 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#122 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#182 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maywood hotel good choice and best hotel in old city..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Maywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maywood Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing