We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel that I have ever stayed in all Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Ranked #40 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“The best hotel that I have ever stayed in all Europe”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I'm travelling a lot, especially around Europe, both for business and vacation. Darussaade is the best hotel that I have stayed not only in Istanbul, whole around Europe. The rooms are new and very clean, you feel as if you are the first guests. Although the location is downtown in the old city, the building itself is renovated with very nice decoration, and so makes you feel both in new and historical place. Breakfast is cool. Sometimes the friendly stuff makes little surprises like serving some cherry wine which is delicious. A young family is managing the hotel, they take care of each guest very closely; they became our friends in the fist day and were always helpful during our entire trip. If you prefer boutique hotels with best locations, I strongly recommend this one for İstanbul

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinzmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    156
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
138
306
85
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2011

The hotel is great. Nice architecture + interior. Its just as if you are at home. The people in the hotel are very friendly and helpful espesially Cagatay. He helped me in every single thing I was planning to do. Even he helped me mark my map with around 30 loctions to visit.

Finally, I would like to thank everyone in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sultan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2011

The hotel is clean and well decorated. It is perfectly situated: close enough to sights and restaurants, but away from the bustle. The staff are just fantastic; friendly, helpful and efficient. As a previous reviewer also said, they were great at tracking down missing luggage via the airport and getting it delivered. Also helped with sightseeing advice, ironing... and tea on a chilly day :-)

Would definitely return to the Darussaade for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PirkkaLahtinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one week with our extended family and we took up about two thirds of the rooms in the hotel. We stayed there because we wanted our relatives from abroad to experience old town Istanbul and to be able to walk easily to our Wedding Ceremony & Reception (taking place in a larger hotel in the same area). It was a wonderful time, the hotel staff were all very professional, helpful, cheerful and kind and managed our large group very well. They recommended great restaurants, made the bookings for us and arranged transportation there and back for a very reasonable rate. The Darussaade breakfast is excellent, we have stayed in various hotels in Istanbul and it compares extremely well to hotels with more stars - very varied and good quality. It is in a great location, with all major sites in the old city within walking distance. We slept very well on comfortable beds. As with all hotels, it pays to book early and to request larger rooms, with a view or away from lobby area, as of course some rooms are smaller or nearer to the ground level noise. However, we had family staying in all ranges of room size-wise and floor-wise and they were all happy. They do not have room-service per sea but will willingly bring you water, tea or even soup/snacks if necessary and did this for some of our relatives. Highly recommended. A fantastic place to stay due to the quality of the establishment and most of all the attentive and genuine staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolculuk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2011

A somewhat belated review. Stayed at Darussaade with extended family in late October occupying more than half of their rooms for a week. I have to say we have never stayed in a more friendly, homely hotel than this before anywhere in the world. The wonderful staff, especially the manager Cemil Bey and the receptionists went out of their way to make us feel welcome throughout our stay. This small hotel is in an excellent location in Sultanahmet, with very tastefully decorated clean and cozy rooms, impeccable service and an open buffet breakfast that would put 5-star larger hotels in Istanbul to shame. We also very much enjoyed the hamam and restaurant recommendations of our receptionist friends which all turned out to be very good and reasonably priced compared to similar alternatives. A truly wonderful small boutique hotel that is unlikely to disappoint!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDawn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed here for four nights in November. The hotel was very clean and our room was very nice - not the largest of rooms, but big enough for what we needed. The hotel has recently been refurbished and was very well presented throughout.

The staff are incredibly helpful, booking us taxis whenever we needed them and recommending places to eat and which hamam to go to etc.

The hotel is in a great location only about five minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia and within easy walking distance to most tourist attractions.

The breakfast in the hotel is fantastic - far too much to be able to sample everything in one sitting!! The freshly made pastries and bread were a perfect start to the day.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0rgie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We spent four nights in the Darussade over New Year's eve 2011. The hotel is in an excellent location in the old quarter, walking distance from all the main sights and with a very good choice of restaurants on the doorstep. The 24-hour mini market across the street is vary handy, too. Breakfast is buffet and it is very good, choice of homemade cookies, cheese borek, freashly made omelettes, etc. All the staff are very attentive and friendly and we really could not fault the service. The only drawback is the size of the standard rooms; they are very small. Unfortunately, this is a result of the building itself, which is a charming old wooden traditional Turkish house, so it can not be modified. The deluxe rooms are great, we were upgraded free of charge for two nights as it was free. Realistically, I should be giving this hotel five stars for the level of service, but unfortunately the size of the standard rooms does not justify this. However, I would not hesitate to go back to Darussaade.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,141 in Istanbul
994 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#54 of 1,141 in Istanbul
820 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#10 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#44 of 1,141 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,141 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#16 of 1,141 in Istanbul
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Darussaade Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darussaade Istanbul

Property: Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Address: Akbiyik Cad. No:90 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#36 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#70 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#139 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Darussaade Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darussaade Istanbul is one of the protected examples of Ottoman civil architecture dating from 19. century. The wooden mansion, which is restored by sticking to its original, is decorated with elaborately so as to reflect the spirit of the period it belongs to. Darussaade Istanbul, which is in the middle of many unique structures belonging to Byzantine, Roman and Ottoman Empires, provides opportunity to explore this magical city with its perfect position within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Darussaade Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darussaade Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing