We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undoubtly, the best hotel to stay.”
Review of Rast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rast Hotel
Ranked #206 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Undoubtly, the best hotel to stay.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It is the second time that I book Rast Hotel for my Istanbul tour in one year. It has an amazing location. 2 minutes walk to Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. As if the tram station is just 1 minute walk from Rast Hotel, it is so easy to reach all touristic places by tram. I would like to also mention about excellent service in Rast Hotel. However, cleaniness of hotel is mentionable. Lastly, the internet connection is quite well in Rast Hotel. It never disconnects and there is different wifi in each floor of the hotel.

Vasif, Florence, Italy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vasif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    236
    76
    12
    5
See reviews for
170
293
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable safe clean dependable place to stay that has the best view of Istanbul as well as being in a prime location, then this is the place. We booked this trip through AARP travel and were very pleased with the whole process. The staff was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The buffet breakfast was fresh and delicious every day. We've stayed at many hotels in Istanbul ranging in many different classes but this is the one that was the most enjoyable

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayseandcetin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel is located in the Sultanahmet area,2 mins walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia,2 mins walk from the Grand Bazaar and 4 tramstops from the Boshphorus cruise area.I feel that this is the best area to stay with most of the attractions and a lot of restuarants around.The rooms are adequate and has lockers in it and a small balcony.The room had a view towards the road and the insulation was really good,much better than what I had expected.The breakfast buffet spread was really good and large and had both hot and cold breakfasts with different kinds of pastries and bread.The buffet menu changed everyday which was a pleasant surprise.They offered a free pick up from the airport which was nice.This is a fabolous hotel and if I come back,would definitely stay here.(Anirban and Malinee)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyfrmKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were booked into the Rast Hotel by Medhills Travel when we visited Turkey. It is an old hotel in the old part of Istanbul. Yes, the rooms are small but that is to be expected in an older hotel. But that being said we would definitely stay there again. It is within walking distance to The Blue Mosque, Topaki Palace, Grand Bazaar and The Spice Market. It is in a great area with lots of restaurants and stores. The staff is great and the view from their restaurant is absolutely amazing. The buffet breakfast has a large variety of hot and cold dishes and fresh fruit. Everyone there goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. We would recommend this hotel if your are looking for a hotel that is in the center of Old Istanbul.
Thom and Marilyn Weir
Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaskTravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very easy to book online to receive special discounts for long stay (+4 days) and free round trip IST transfers.
Buffet breakfast included from 7:00-10:30am. Range of cookies and sweet cakes overshadow real breakfast items of hard boiled eggs, daily casserole dish, cheeses and cold cuts (2/3 of which are eerily deep artificial pink). The coffee bar will also make you espresso drinks for a small price. Views from both sides of the dining room.
Fifth floor is all suites, meaning larger rooms (not really suites) with balcony spectacular view of Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. Amenities also include shaving kits and scrubbies, not included in regular rooms which is a plethora of shampoos, conditioners, body wash and lotion. The latter two smell like apple, the former two like old ladies. The negative point of room 502 is that early morning breakfasters drag their chairs on the floor above your head in the morning making a horrendous noise.
Great location 1-2 min walk from Hippodrome, Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. 15 mins to Eminönü for ferries. 5 mins to Grand Bazaar. At night a walk up Divan Yolu (following tram) will take you to knock off night markets and street markets.
But we gotta talk about room cleanliness- the beds, sheets, tables are fine, but the bathroom has much to be desired. The shower leaked continuously onto the tile floor, wetting our bathmat and eventually our towels and socks. We asked them every day to fix but to no avail. It's still leaking on our third night. In addition, there was soap scum and black mold everywhere, from the shower stall to the wall even on the shower head. See pictures. So icky!
I would stay here again if they fixed all these issues but most likely not if they don't.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BP8C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We (two couples) spent 4 nights in the Rast Hotel during our holiday to Turkey. The hotel has an excellent location in the old city, a short walk to many places of interest The rooms are smallish but good, and the hotel restaurant is excellent. The restaurant has a superb view and we were very happy with the food. The hotel staff (including the restaurant staff) are very helpful. If returning to Istanbul we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I'm not a fan of writing , so i will go straight into the point :
The Good :
- Great location in center of sultan Ahmed area and very near from tram station and old city
- Clean rooms and bath
- Friendly staff specially Ihsan( call him self Eisa also ) at the reception , he was a perfect advisor in our trip , perfect English and always ready to help .
- restaurant on the roof was one of the best , very nice view , very good breakfast , friendly staff .
- Room service were very good and hardly noticed when they do their job
- total isolation from street noise once the window is closed
- two massage chairs at the lobby
Bad:
- bathroom little bit small , for me no problem but for large people would be narrow
- one elevator for the hotel used for both visitors and employees
- Food selection for lunch is somehow limited and not always available
- only one pillow per bed and one extra pillow in the room but they were all not comfortable .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed_El_Bendary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#79 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,467 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#251 of 1,156 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#96 of 1,156 in Istanbul
462 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#198 of 1,156 in Istanbul
394 reviews
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#249 of 1,156 in Istanbul
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rast Hotel

Property: Rast Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:4 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#188 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this perfectly located hotel, you can enjoy your breakfast every morning while admiring the spectacular views of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Bosphorus and Princess Islands. Most of the old city's attractions, including Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar and the Topkapi Palace, are practically on your doorstep. After exploring these great sites, come back and feel the warm and kind atmosphere at the Rast Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rast Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing