We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is really good!”
Review of Hotel Polatdemir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Polatdemir
Ranked #432 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It is really good!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Location:

The hotel is located in a busy area with numerous shops and street sellers and it has in its proximity a metro station (with direct link to the airport) and tram station (to the Blue Mosque and Galata district). I don’t recommend taxi from the airport but the subway, even if there are 14-18 stations (if remember well), it is cheaper and you save time.

The hotel building is very narrow and tall, perhaps not very easy to find it in all that crowded area, but and looks clean and trustily comparing with other nearby buildings.

Reception:
The reception guys were very polite, spoke quite good English and were very helpful. I had a request for a room change (see below) and this was favorably solved. There is always a person in charge with managing the suitcases.

Room:
Initially I was given a room at the first floor, just opposite to the elevator. Note that due to narrow building, the floor corridors are also narrow and the rooms from the middle of the building are very, very small and dark. In addition, the room distributed to me, being at the first floor and having the view to the interior court (which is 1-2 meter wide, actually between two walls) was very dark, so that practically there was no light inside. This is the reason for which we asked for a side room either to the street view or to the opposite backyard, which are light and more spacious.
The room was very clean and bedclothes the same. Everyday the house keeper cleaned the room using the vacuum and all the bath equipments were carefully cleaned. I’m saying this because one day I arrived in my room around lunchtime and I saw the cleaning approach they had in this hotel.
All room and bathroom furniture is new, modern and in good shape of use.

Breakfast
It is served at the mezzanine and it has plenty of choices, headed a little bit towards Turkish cuisine which is very interesting – several ranges of cheese, salami, fresh fruits and vegetables, dry fruits, etc – definitely a good breakfast.

In conclusion, having into consideration the price paid, the conditions found at this hotel and by comparing with other hotels I saw from the street during my stay in Istanbul, I definitely do recommend Polatdemir Hotel for a pleasant stay in this city.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms opposite the elevator - they are small and dark - ask for sides rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristi_Ionescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    76
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
79
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

As you can see in the picture, this hotel is narrow and straight up. The lift is small and the staff is helpful. Our room was comfortable and looked as if it had been recently remodeled. I was told that all the rooms are equally modern. The breakfast buffet was a great way for us to start our visit to Istanbul. They had fresh fruit (even cherries !), eggs, an assortment of bread, Turkish Delight, dried fruit and nuts, cheeses, and probably things that I've forgotten now. The employees at the hotel were our first encounter with Turkish citizens and they made a very good impression. I don't know how they can be so friendly and eager to please after they've served millions of us tourists.

Room Tip: The suites are a little larger than the average room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sealodge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We were impressed by how well run this small hotel was & it's convenient location to the metro, trams, buses & walking distance to Grand Bazaar. The breakfasts were amazing with a large selection of local cheeses, meats, fruits, breads & even puddings & cakes! The rooms are a bit compact but the front rooms have views of the busy streets which is interesting. The bathroom was big with a wonderful shower & clean towels every day. The reception staff were friendly & helpful & gave us an early check in at 9.30am & a breakfast, which we were very grateful for!
It was half the price of the hotels in the more fashionable area of the old town.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Munder am Deister, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is situated in a superb location, just minutes from Aksaray Metro station and opposite a tram stop. Around are many excellent eating places and high-end shopping, and you can reach everything (sight-seeing and shopping in other bargain-districts) perfectly from there.
The rooms are small but very clean and tidy, and the mini-bar was all free at our stay, but the view was into the back-yard. The breakfast buffet was very good, with good choices but no live station.
Overall a very nice and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

cosy and superb.
We were a group of ten people and two infants. We enjoyed our stay. The staff were professional and friendly. The hotel location is perfect since it's close to Tram1-Aksaray stop, Metro1-Aksaray stop, Metro 2-yenikapi stop and Marmaray Metro - yenikapi stop.
We will definitely stay there next time.

Room Tip: All rooms are compact
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abed h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

When I been there firstly I think it is standard 3 star hotel but staff and cleaning is really high quality. Staff is very helpfull they can answer all off your wishing. beds are excelent breakfast is open buffet and fresh.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehmet Yavuz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This hotel provides decent value for money, the room is alright but nothing spectacular but the beds are good and the room amenities are adequate. Other than that the hotel is situated in a great location for commute and the breakfast is really good, typically hotels in this class offer typical Turkish breakfast but this hotel does a good combination of Turkish and non Turkish options. Moreover the staff speaks a little English and is quite helpful and the room service is also decent and fast.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amoudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Misa Hotel
Misa Hotel
#487 of 1,155 in Istanbul
44 reviews
Prestige Hotel
#574 of 1,155 in Istanbul
112 reviews
Hotel Sahinler
#716 of 1,155 in Istanbul
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Buyuk Keban
Hotel Buyuk Keban
#315 of 1,155 in Istanbul
524 reviews
Amethyst Hotel Istanbul
#545 of 1,155 in Istanbul
178 reviews
Martinenz Hotel
#913 of 1,155 in Istanbul
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polatdemir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polatdemir

Property: Hotel Polatdemir
Address: Aksaray Cad. No:7 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Polatdemir 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Polatdemir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing