We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sultanamet location- friendly”
Review of Agora Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Agora Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 1,199 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sultanamet location- friendly”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The location is the best part of this hostel, it's conveniently in the sultanamet area and has a wonderful view of the water from it's roof top loung/ breakfast area. Rooms are simple and clean. And the communal bathroom is very clean. The whole hostel feels new. Staff us very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    116
    15
    0
    4
See reviews for
25
109
398
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Those who read the previous reviews carefully, which I didn't, will have realised that this is an upmarket backpackers hostel with some half way decent rooms attached. The advantage for the budget traveller is a convivial atmosphere in the common room overlooking the Bosphorous and a chance to meet and mix with other young travellers. The disadvantage, for the older and staider, is that the overcrowding leads to a difficulty in finding anywhere to sit at breakfast, mattresses stored in the corridor, fire exit blocked with broken furniture, a lot of noise in late evening. Take your pick.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueaveyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

one of the best and cleanest hotels that i stayed.
about the location:very beautiful, you can see the sea from the roof,location of the hotel very quiet and suitable for families,and safe.close to the important archaeological sites such as the Mosque of Sultan Ahmed, Ayasofia, and metro
For the hotel from the inside: a very clean, friendly staff and a very respectable,especially the Chinese women, which operates above the roof.Wireless internet in every spot inside the hotel.
the last thing that i want to say:Everything in this place excellent

Room Tip: 4 person dorm is good 6 person dorm is good2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punisherbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Even though I am not very fond of Sultanahmet's area, this hostel is the best place to stay in Istanbul. It is one of the cleanest I've ever been to, with a staff that is capable to steel your heart. They are realy there for you! Included a descend breakfast and a lovely lady who can make sure you have everything you need to drink on a night at the terras (excellent view - not to be missed) and lap tops you can use.. The bathrooms are quite clean, and since it is my second time there (I stayed also for 10 days during New Years Eve) I'm glad of what they offer. Though there is not much to do nearby at night (I prefer to go on other areas) it is quite a safe location (I personally walked from taksim to the hostel quite late at night).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Agora at the start of out Turkey trip. We are a couple but stayed in the 8-bed dorm. Hostel guests were mix of nationalities and ages. Friendly fun atmosphere, with very helpful staff (excellent English) and superb roof terrace. Breakfast was pretty good for the price, and everything very clean. Free wifi throughout was excellent.

Agora markets itself as young and edgy, but it was always the fun side of that. Worth mentioning the occasion when a few of the younger guests discovered the joys of vodka and techno music on the terrace and the staff politely but firmly stepped in and asked them to take it to Taksim.

Would definitely recommend for backpackers or anyone looking for a cheap but clean and reliable base in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Basement dorms seemed a bit dingy, but ground floor fine. Lockable storage under bunks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zxchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We really enjoyed our short time at Agora Guesthouse, we first only flew in for 1 night on our way to Europe, but came back for a week at the end of our trip. We didn't stay here again because we didn't want to stay in dorms anymore towards the end of our trip and their double rooms isn't the best value in the area. We slept in the 4 bed dorm, which was fine, the bathrooms was really nice and we loved the rooftop terrace(great views) and sitting area. They also offer really good prices on their drinks and it was really nice lounging around. The staff was really friendly and helpful. I would recommend this to backpackers, but if you want a private double room, I think there are better value options around. I highly recommend the area and it's the perfect base from where to explore Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginapotgieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Clean and welcoming place. The staff is really nice and helpful. They have amazing terrace with a see view. Breakfast is really good and tasty- fresh fruit, boiled eggs, salad, cheese, yoghurt, salami, fresh bread, cookies, dried fruit...
We stayed and 8 bed dorm and we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZulejkaNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,140 in Istanbul
2,947 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,140 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,140 in Istanbul
3,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#21 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,140 in Istanbul
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Guesthouse

Property: Agora Guesthouse
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Ak Biyik Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,199 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agora Guesthouse & Hotel is a boutique hotel created for the savvy, modern traveler. An edgy feel, online and personal interaction, and a spectrum of available room types make the Agora experience unique to the individual. Depending on budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities. Private rooms with private baths, wide screen TV with DVD player, air-conditioner, complimentary wireless Internet, mini bars, and direct-dial telephones and hair dryers.You will get to enjoy Agora’s home-made breakfasts which are served on the rooftop terrace overlooking the Bosphorus and the Asiatic part of Istanbul. Agora is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. Our rooms are simple, stylish, and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spendthrift traveler. In-the-know 18-40 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. Agora Guesthouse and Hotel is located in the heart of Istanbul, only steps away from the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and the Underground Cistern, 10 minutes walk to the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Market, 10 minutes drive to Taksim square. Agora Guesthouse and hotel is sure to be Turkey's best and when you stay you'll see that Agora has included all the small details to ensure a perfect stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Agora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing