We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star service and room”
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #239 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Located well within walking distance of all major sights, like TopKopi, Blue Mosque, H. Sofia, and Tram, this hotel is perfect all around. The Bell Man, Masood, helped with our luggage from Taxi and the other Masood in front desk welcomed us and made a quick and pain less registration. Both Masoods were extremely friendly and kind. I wish I could say the same thing about the lady reception in the morning. She didn't speak as good of English and was very defensive.

We got the first floor room, which was large and very beautiful. The furniture was very tasteful and new. The bath and shower was very lux and all marble. All your need (drinking water, WiFi, tea, coffee, tea maker, slippers, toiletries, etc) provided complimentary.

Restaurant was awesome, a mixture of ancient ruins with modern restaurant. The food was fine.

All on all, this is a great hotel and other than our little rough contact with the receptionist the hotel was flawless.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rad_Cyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We staued 7 nights at Acra Hotel in June and didn't have time to provide a review till now.

Location : Perfect. It is within 5 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern and Topkapi Palace. The tram and restaurants are also around the Blue Mosque area so the location is convenient. However, take note of the shops around the area, some of them are out to make as much from you as possible so I'd recommend checking out the prices elsewhere(ie, near the tram, Grand Bazaar or Spice Bazaar) before buying anything there. Despite all the amenities nearby, the hotel is on a quiet street so that was very good.

Room : We were put on a room on the ground floor on the first couple of days but was told to move to another room on the 2nd floor. We prefer the room on the 2nd floor as the room on the 1st floor was very noisy ie. there was a dog at the hotel next to Acra and that dog kept barking the whole day and night! The 2nd floor room was slightly smaller but much nicer. Both rooms were cosy and perfect if you are on your honeymoon. I love the colour theme and furniture. :-) The bed is super comfy - reminds me of the beds at a certain 5 star Hotel chain - but it's smaller ie. Queen sized. We're used to King size bed but we find the bed as comfy. The airconditioner is good and the bathroom a good size. However, it would be better if there is a hand bidet as well. Overall I was impressed with the room.

Food : Breakfast was served at the lovely basement. The food was almost the same everyday but I didn't mind that. The cakes served during breakfast and tea are to die for - I've never tasted cakes this good even at 5 star hotels in and outside of Singapore. The hotel provide cakes and tea in the afternoon at the lobby for free. That was really thoughtful and it was wonderful to come back and have a slice of the lovely cakes.

Service : The 2 Mesut, Lale and the other staff were very helpful. Mesut offered us free breakfast when we arrived in the morning and showed us a map of Istanbul and showed us where the places of interest are. That was really thoughtful and kind of him. We didn't get that kind of service even at most 5 star hotels! The staff were ready to give us information and always ask us how our days were. The staff will never fail to greet you when they see you. However, I must add that we were a bit upset when we were told to change room and nobody apologize for that even though it's really inconvenient to pack all our things and to unpack them again afterwards. I felt that could be handled better. The good thing was that they kept their promise that the room was just as good - actually in fact, we preferred the 2nd room.

Others : The hotel has free wi-fi. We had no trouble surfing the internet from our laptop and phones. The facade and lobby of the hotel were cosy and nicely decorated. Elegant but not ostentatious. The hotel does not have rooftops like the other hotels nearby but would you rather a bigger room or a rooftop?

All in all, I'd say it was an enjoyable stay at Acra Hotel. I'd recommend Acra Hotel and I'd definitely stay there when we come to Istanbul again. Like the previous reviewer, I'd say that the hotel is 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the_spinsterella_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Acra is located at a very convienient location with walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Hippodrome and the rest. This is quite important if you have young children as you would not want to be travelling to and fro from the places to visit with kids complaining of being tired.
The room was tidy, the room service was prompt, the breakfast had a huge variety and was made up of a healthy menu.
The staff was extremely friendly always greeted you with a smile and were always willing to assist in whatever way they can.
Reservation was quite ably handled by the staff. One of the staff members Masut was extremely cordial, helpful and honest in his advice for every query I had. I think our stay was made better because of him.
Istanbul is a charming city and you need to have a pleasant place to stay to enjoy the city and we are glad we choose Acra.
Thank you to all the staff at Acra for making it possible.

Visited Istanbul 22-27 October 2011 as a family with 2 young children

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taimoorpervaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed five nights in the Acra Hotel and could not fault anything. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Mesut was a fountain of useful information. After spending a day walking around Istanbul, it was a delight to return to the Acra for complementary tea and cakes. Our room was immaculate and beautifully furnished and the breakfast was fabulous in an unsual and historic setting. Thank you Ozlem and your team, we will definitely be coming back.
Peter and Pam

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterandPam152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel is in Sulthanamhet, so old city, so few minutes walking from all the nicest , greatest historical places in Istanbul: great location.
Acra is a small hotel with really nice and clean rooms, as well as a great and friendly staff. These guys are able to make the difference: we had a problem in the bathroom they solved it, we were in the need of directions to dine-out they were able to provide really good option nearby.
Furthermore room service was good during all our stay.

Furthermore a really nice idea is the tea around 5pm. A really valuable idea if you come after a cold and rainy day, you may have some relax before going out for dinner with a tea and some pastries.

A suggestion while booking: room rates on standard booking websites were higher than on Acra website. Contact them directly (by email or phone) to get a better understanding of the different room options (family, with views, ...) ... and of the rates

Price: probably is not the most cost effective hotel in Sulthanhamet, but I think it can provide a good value for your money

A couple of minus:
Breakfast: lot of food, but sometimes the bread for the toast was not so fresh, one morning they were proposing a cake, the morning after we were served with the slices of the same cake, we found an insect in the honey, the pears were hard like stones ... so probably they should put some effort on improving breakfast, since they claim to be a four stars hotel!
This is the main reason why i reduce my mark

No terrace: most of the hotel nearby have a terraces, Acra none yet

Bathroom: Clean, even if some mould in the shower box. The first day, one shower box was not working but they solved it. Both bathrooms have no windows, so it usually took a long time to have "fresh air" again, this is unpleasant and it should be addressed!

Room Tip: Family room are large two double rooms connecting. they are at -1 level, so no view at all, but with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glawen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 great nights in Feb. and it was an absolutely fantastic experience. Mehsut at the front desk was understanding and helpful with any needs or questions you may have. The room was well appointed, a welcome resting place after busy days touring the city. The tea and pastries/cookies at mid afternoon were also a nice touch. The price more than fair value for what's delivered. Centrally located for many of the sites around Istanbul. Highly recommended, would stay here again should we be back in Istanbul!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaLovetodive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed for 5 nights at the Acra in September 2011. What a great experience! Great location - 5 minute walk to the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque in the heart of historical SultanAhmet. Great restaurants and shopping just outside the door. Exceptionally well appointed, spacious, comfortable room with all modern ameneties. The buffet breakfast was excellent - lots of variety! The service - EXCEPTIONAL! At the front desk, Lale' was superb - she was helpful, smiling, polite and always ready with a great complimentary cup of coffee or tea as we walked in after a long day of sightseeing! Would we stay there again - a very definite YES!
Maria & Mansoor Naqi, Toronto, Canada

Room Tip: Request a higher floor overlooking the Bosphorous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mansoor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#146 of 1,163 in Istanbul
545 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#282 of 1,163 in Istanbul
255 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#230 of 1,163 in Istanbul
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Alilass Otel
Alilass Otel
#228 of 1,163 in Istanbul
152 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#80 of 1,163 in Istanbul
214 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £38 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing