We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it was nice costumer services :)”
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #198 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Debrecen, Hungary
2 reviews
“it was nice costumer services :)”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Acra hotel. The staff and in particular Mesut were very professional and incredibly helpful. They ensured that all my arrangements and requests were met and all in all were very accomodating. The facilities were first class and my room was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to come to Istanbul.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    185
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
221
285
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The staff of the hotel (Mesut (morning shift) , Mehmet (night shift) were exceptionally helpful in accommodating our requests and making arrangements for our travels. Regardless of the hour of the day, they maintained a good sense of humor. The other staff (Junior Mesut, Orhan, Fret) were also helpful.

Great location - 5 minute walk to Blue Mosque and coast of Sea of Marmara, 10 minutes to both Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace.

Rooms were warm, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast selection was adequate. Nice selection of complimentary cakes, biscuits and flavored tea between 3 to 6 pm. Nice welcome after hard day's walking in the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AAA1971KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I visited Istanbul for 5 days last month and choose Acra due to the good reviews I saw on this website. I was picked up from the hotel for free as I booked through their website and also had my room upgraded on arrival as I had a baby with me. The room was cosy and spacious with a cot for my baby.

Throughout our stay the guys at the hotel looked after us. They were always more than happy to give us directions to the different attractions in Istanbul and always arranged a taxi for us when needed. They provide a lovely breakfast for free and the room was always spotless when we arrived back from our days adventure.

The hotel is within walking distance of all the major attractions. You can walk to the Blue Mosque, Hajjia Sofia, Underground Palace and Topaki Palace within 6 minutes. Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar are a 15 minute walk away. I thought I’d need a full 5 days to visit all the attractions but done it quite easily in 3.

I can’t thank the guys at the hotel enough for looking after us. It was our first family holiday and the guys at the hotel played a big part in making it memorable. Special thanks to Mesoud who was star throughout. My baby girl says hello if the guys at the hotel are reading this review.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior room if you have a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The free airport transfer (for booking more than 3 nights) was useful on arrival. The hotel itself is small and in a quiet street, a stones throw from Topkapi Palace and close to Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia.
I had read that the staff were very helpful and I can confirm this. They were always ready to advise and solve problems in very good English.
We had a superior double room each on the first floor and they were well equipped and extremely clean but not cheap for off season.
Breakfast was in the historic basement and there was a good choice so I had a good balanced meal each morning.
There is a street of restaurants close by and we sampled some of them for dinner with mixed results. One night I asked at reception about a fish restaurant and we were given free transport to and from a very good one which was reasonably priced. Perhaps the car was because it was off season. We also received free transport to a Turkish Bath (hammam) which cost around €22 each including massage.
We walked around the old city a lot and it was always a pleasure to return to the sanctuary of the hotel for a rest. Tea was usually offered as soon as we entered the premises.
I have stayed in a number of hotels in Sultanahmet through the years and this is my favourite.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank strongbow18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed from 23-25th November 2011 at Acra hotel. The people at the hotel were very helpful in guiding us how to get around, very kind in meeting our extra requests and made the extra effort to make our stay fully enjoyable! the hotel serves a very good breakfast with many of their own turkish products: yogurt and honey with honeycomb, freshly baked rolls etc. they also serve tea and sweets every afternoon in the lobby, complimentary. I would recommend it to everyone who would like to have a good stay and also feel at home. Krysta - Athens Greece

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank krystatzelepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

acra hotel very good hotel.and its so near to blue mosgeu,grand bazaar,space bazaar.ottoman's palace and personals are so helpfull and friendly.mostly i like mehmet and mesut.they help me lot.im sending both of u all my regards.thnx a lot ur guys.

Room Tip: room no 406.thts the best because u can see sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baron v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed at the Acra Hotel in Nov 2011 and it was a wondeful experience. I stayed there for a week, with a 2 day excursion mid week to Cappadocia. From the time I arrived until I left the hotel staff was excellent. My family and I were greeted by Lalie, who was so helpful throughout our stay there. She arranged for us to meet a travel agent for our trip to Cappadocia, as well as our boat tour for the Bhosphorus River, as well as many other helpful tips. The hotel itself is centrally located and within walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace as well as the tram. Lalie gave us great tips on everything from what to expect at the Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar, to arranging our airport transports/transfers, recommending shops where to get great deals on gifts, as well as where to eat - she's a wonderful asset of the hotel. In addition to Lalie, the remaining staff is suberb. We got to know Mehmet (both of them), Masud, and Hassan all of whom were so friendly and helpful. Mehmet recommended the Gulluoglu bakery in the spice bazaar telling us its his own personal favorite, and it was indeed an excellent recommendation. Aside from the exceptional staff, the hotel itself is lovely. While being close to all the main tourist attractions in Sultanahmet, its on a quiet and quaint street with many restaurants and shops close by. The rooms are extremely clean, in excellent condition, and free WiFi is available in all the rooms. We had heard that the rooms on the higher floor have amazing views of the sea, unfortunately when we arrived all these rooms were occupied. As soon as a room on a higher floor (with a view) was available, Lalie arranged for us to switched into it. Just another example of how accommodating and helpful Lalie is. The breakfast room is lovely with original stones from the palace that existing on the hotel grounds from a long time ago. The breakfast buffet is tasty with a vast selection to choose from, and every afternoon tea and snacks are served in the lobby. Overall our stay at the Acra hotel was amazing and I feel we truely lucked out by choosing to stay there. There are many other boutique hotels in the area, but I feel we stayed at the best one. Aside from the great location, the comfortable stay, its really the amazing staff that makes this hotel an absolute jewel.

Room Tip: If available, ask for a room on the 3rd floor - you will have an amazing view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kajal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#261 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#130 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#259 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#402 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Otel
Saba Sultan Otel
#36 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Property: Acra Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing