We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay at Acra Hotel”
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #194 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
NV
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Acra Hotel”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

As a family of parents plus an adult child we needed a room for three---Acra Hotel was able to provide that---plus more. The breakfast was fabulous; I tried to count the number of items one morning and lost track somewhere past 65. Acra Hotel is located within walking distance of most big attractions. But the best thing about Acra Hotel is their friendly and helpful staff. We were lucky to find this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    185
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
221
285
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Very good option to stay in the old part of Istanbul. Large room was beautifully furnished and decorated; in the room was strong Wi-Fi signal. The spacey, marble bathroom was clean and very convenient. Breakfast buffet includes many Turkish specialties, so you can plunge into Turkish vibe right there. Hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. So don't hesitate to book it!

One minor downside is the sound isolation of the rooms. Ear-plugs will be handy, also not to hear the muezzin’s morning call to the prayer in the nearby Blue Mosque.

If you look for a hotel with a terrace-restaurant, Acra is not the option while Acra serves breakfast in its ground restaurant, where you can touch the history - 2000 yrs old Byzantine remains.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_girl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We (3 girls in their mid 20's) stayed in a triple room for 5 nights at this lovely hotel during September 2012.

Location:
The location is fantastic and a great money saver if you enjoy walking. Walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, fantastic restaurants and shopping, and the Topkapi Palace. The area around the hotel is very safe with charming shops and small restaurants/bars lining the cobblestoned streets. We thoroughly enjoyed the 'European' feel of the Sultanahmet area with it's rooftop bars and alfresco dining. After wandering the streets and looking at other hotels I was so glad we decidied to stay here because I really felt it was great value for money yet still had the feeling we were staying in a more expensive hotel.

Staff:
The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us with anything!! English speaking conceierge and front desk made our life a lot easier and as we were 3 girls travelling by ourselves they gave us a thorough run down on the city and suggested sightseeing attractions and restaurants/bars we should visit. The staff never hesitated to assit us and we felt very welcomed by them.

Hotel facilities:
The room we had was perfect for us. 3 single beds with a decent bathroom. The bathroom is a little dated but for the price we paid we definitely can't complain. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel which is fantatstic and as an Australian Flight Attendant who stays in hotels regularly I was surprised how fast and consistent the internet was. Free breakfast was substantial - we normally ate a decent meal in the morning which meant we didn't need to eat during the day. The selection of fruits (fresh figs everyday!!!) cereals, hot dishes and cakes were more than enough for 3 girls. The breakfast room is located on the bottom floor of the hotel with ancient ruins found throughout the room which provided a nice atmosphere. Complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits are served every afternoon and there is a comptuer in the lobby that is available to use 24/7.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to stay in a nice place yet still have money to spend during their trip! I definitely would stay here again and staying in such a nice hotel really made our trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We just returned after spending 9 nights at this hotel. I completed the reservation 6 months in advance via email and every detail we agreed to was noted and honored. The airport arrival transfer was right on time. I had requested a quiet room and we were situated on the side of the building (facing north) which did help to reduce street noise. The room was quite clean, had sufficient space ("double twin room") and the beds were comfortable. WiFi was sketchy until I discovered there were several routers in the building; once I was logged in to 3 other routers I had a good experience. We heard lots of pro's and con's about drinking the water in Istanbul; I drank plenty of tap water at this hotel without the smallest hint of a problem. Breakfast was good, but not remarkable (I did appreciate having onsite breakfast). Front desk was helpful when we had any questions. Two short blocks east (just up the hill toward Hagia Sofia) is a street loaded with good restaurants (some have both street side & roof top dining available). I was pleased with this hotel & would not hesitate to return when I return to this amazing city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodNomad53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrara
Level Contributor
284 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Great location, few minutes walking from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia Mosque and Topkapi Museum; large and comfortable family room; very good breakfast (charcuteries, various cheese types, fruits, vegetables, eggs, cakes, honey and jams, delicious home made bread); free WiFi; friendly and helpful hotel staff.....what else could you wish ? I would definitely stay here again. Located in the Sultanahmet district (old town), it's the ideal headquarters to visit Istanbul. Enjoy the wooden buildings characterising this area, and the beautiful roof restaurants on top of the most hotels around Acra.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gian Luca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The location Of this hotel is great. Within 10-15min walking of the blue mosque, Hagia Sophia, arasta bazaar, and the old bazaar. There are many restaurants around the hotel and some night life as well. The breakfast (for turkey) is very good as well. Fruits, coffee, tea, juices, and typically Turkish breakfast. The rooms were clean and nice. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The wifi was great as well. I would easily stay here again.

Room Tip: Mesut is the man.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Acra is a conveniently located hotel in Sultan Ahmet ! There are a number of restaurants very close by and all major locations are within a 10-15 min walk.

Staff were always very friendly and very helpful! Rooms were spacious and clean..Wi-fi connection was very good....

Breakfast was standard and nothing spectacular, however still more than enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehmet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#257 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#136 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#250 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#399 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Otel
Saba Sultan Otel
#36 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Property: Acra Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing