We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME ACRA”
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #228 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME ACRA”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Thanks to advise on Trip Advisor we decided to stay in this hotel- always liked boutique hotels in the city center with a personal touch. Acra is every thing we expected and more! An 'awesome' experience (word borrowed from my six year old son's new vocabulary). Seda was wonderful with the booking process, with immediate responses to email and she also gave us a good city orientation when we arrived. Mehsud at the reception desk was always perfect and very courteous to all our queries..where to go, what to eat, which dervish show to watch etc. All the staff at the hotel was very hospitable and extremely courteous, always ready to help....felt like a home away from home... Thank you so much staff at Acra for making our Istanbul experience perfect.

Mehsud even upgraded us to a triple room, he felt we would be more comfortable with our six year old boy who loves running around and needs space... lovely large and clean rooms with enough storage. Try and get one with a balcony on a higher floor, as there is a nice side view of the sea.The only pain point was the unpredictable hot shower which would suddenly go cold, plumbing fittings could do with an upgrade.

Great location, in a quiet lane, while the parallel street has some amazing restaurants, very friendly with good food and pricing. Hotel is 5-10 mins walking distance from major attractions in that area- Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace etc.

Room Tip: higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtulSuri_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    187
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
224
286
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed in Acra hotel for a week to explore Istanbul and the sights and to do a little bit of shopping. The hotel is in a very good location if you want to explore all the major sights (Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi), and close to many restaurants in Sultanahment. The staff is very friendly/child friendly. The family rooms are spacious and comfortable, it's worthwhile to spend a little bit more on them. Breaksfast has enough variety. As far as the hotel goes we didn't have any dosapointments, we got what we were expecting. The only downside of Istanbul is getting a good taxi that will not charge you extra by taking you on a long route, or simply giving you a price off the sleeve. We had that experience a couple of times, and it makes no difference if you get the taxi from the hotel or on the street, it's just a matter of luck if you have a "good" or "bad" taxi driver. We ourselves booked the taxi online to take us to the hotel upon arrival for 20eur and it worked perfectly. On the way back we made a mistake of not booking the taxi online and we payed 35eur. But all in all, Istanbul is a great city to visit, and Acra hotel is a good hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Family rooms are spacious and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsvandeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is lovely and conveniently located for all of the Istanbul sites. Just a word of warning though- the walls are paper-thin! I could hear the lady next door coughing all night and every word of their conversation. Although my roommate slept through it, if you are a light sleeper, it might be best to avoid this hotel!

It is lovely though, the staff are great and the breakfast is nice!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vix1853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had a very nice stay with our family at Acra Hotel. The staff was especially friendly to our little man of 2 years old. We liked the location of the hotel (quiet street but near to all sites and entertainment/ restaurants) and the breakfast. We also appreciated the little extras such as the complementary tea and cakes in the afternoon. We can highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms have good locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Han M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in May and had a wonderful time. Hotel is on a quiet street, lovely clean and tidy rooms with a view over the street below, we were able to open the door to the street as it was quiet most of the time to get some fresh air. Front desk and reception staff were always friendly and helpful. We took their advice to get an Istanbulkart for getting around the city, and so glad we did, as it saved alot of bother getting on the trams. Breakfast was always very good, lots of choice - Cereal,bread,meats,jams,cheese,eggs,sausages,juices,tea and coffee, plus a toaster. Lots of local foods as well - very nice.
Plus 3 till 6 in the reception area you get free afternoon tea or coffee with a selection of cakes,biscuits and breads - fantastic fruit gateaux ! !
Will return to this amazing city and will stay in this hotel again for sure. 2 minutes from lots and eating and drinking places and five minutes walk from the main tourist area - wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

hotel was basic but clean. Great location for the tourist sights.service. Was very good and the staff very friendly. Disappointed by the quality of breakfast.
Had booked taxi from the airport prior to travel and had to wait an hour for the driver to turn up once I got to the airport-by the time he turned up and drove me to the hotel it was too late for an evening meal and there was no room service or restaurant at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip. Staff was so friendly and helpful. The hotel location is on a quiet street and just up the way is a street full of nice restaurants. The hotel itself is extremely clean. The rooms are good size and they have about 200tv channels it seemed. The shower pressure was pretty strong. Beds were very comfy. Breakfast was very nice too. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lsc2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#264 of 1,156 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#443 of 1,156 in Istanbul
332 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#141 of 1,156 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tan Hotel - Special Class
Tan Hotel - Special Class
#111 of 1,156 in Istanbul
388 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#129 of 1,156 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#276 of 1,156 in Istanbul
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Property: Acra Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#130 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing