We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, helpful friendly staff”
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #243 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Comfy beds, modern bathroom, amazing breakfast room, with a good selection of food.
Shame about the coffee.
Great staff. On leaving the hotel, I left my full camera memory card in the safe.
They kindly posted it back to my home country at no charge.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
acra hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I cant find any fault with this hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Great location, very quiet but less than a 5 minute walk to the centre of Sultanahmet. We will definitely return on our next visit to istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Husbandoftheyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.

acra hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in family room in September for five nights. the hotel is very well located. very close to the Blue Mosque(Sultanahmet mosque) and Hagia Sofia. the staff were very friendly and helpful; Especially "Mesut" was very helpful and Hospitable. the rooms were very Clean. breakfast was acceptable and fine. I recommend this hotel for a family trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahriar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.

acra hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

this hotel nice location,Located in the lively area of Sultanahmet Acra hotel is in a walking distance to the main touristic points of interest. Little cosy rooms, delicate interior, charming atmosphere, yummy breakfast, always friendly and helpful staff.. we liked everything there during all our stays here. We tried to stay in other hotels during our numerous trips to Istanbul, but I can say that acra is definitely the best in Sultanahmet!
Tip: Don't miss the chance to enjoy scenic views

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable not to worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahmetcal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.

acra hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

It was not our first stay, but to be honest with you, the location of this hotel is the best. The historical sights are all within walking distance and the neighbourhood is so safe and quite and some excellent restaurants and coffee shops. But what makes this hotel special is the staff. They made us feel that we are members of their family. Especially Mesut was very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay at this hotel in my next visit to istanbul.

Room Tip: It was not our first stay, but to be honest with you, the location of this hotel is the best. The hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeriu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.

acra hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in their family suite in August for four nights: the suite is two rooms (one double and one twin) on the lower ground floor, off their own small corridor. The plus points are: the hotel is very well located (a very short stroll to the Blue Mosque/Hagia Sofia); the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly; the rooms were very good value and recently decorated; and breakfast was included and was fine (and served in a rather unusual basement room with ruins from an old palace around). The rooms themselves, though perfectly clean and new, were a little basic (bathtub you couldn't lie in) and TVs we couldn't manage to work, and views over an alley-way: but these are minor quibbles and overall I would strongly recommend for a family visit -- less so for business (a little basic) or a romantic break (ditto)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Dickie_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
acra hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Booked about 3 months in advance via hotels.com. When we arrived were greeted and offered water while the front desk guy called and yelled at someone because they said they could not find our reservation. The good thing was, they put us in a room (but it was a family sized room) and then they asked us to leave this room the next morning and put us in another room. We did not appreciate the front desk but at least they let us stay.

The pictures are accurate, it is a very clean hotel with large rooms. As other reviewers have stated the AC doesn't really work until the middle of the night so the rooms are stuffy. Otherwise, everything was clean and tidy and in working order. The breakfast buffet was great and plentiful, but it was exactly the same each day.

The location is very good. A short walk from the Sultanahmet subway stop. Keep in mind you must change subway lines if you take this direct from the airport. You are a short walk from a small market bazaar, the Blue Mosque, and the Palace as well as a great street with touristy restaurants.

I reccommend this area to first time travelers to Istanbul, as we always felt safe even walking around at night. The other parts of Istanbul were a bit more gritty. I would keep an open mind and possibly try another hotel in this area, I personally would not stay here again because of the front desk experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#144 of 1,160 in Istanbul
539 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#255 of 1,160 in Istanbul
755 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Konak Hotel
Ferman Konak Hotel
#274 of 1,160 in Istanbul
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#120 of 1,160 in Istanbul
500 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,021 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#75 of 1,160 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £37 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing