We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #184 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
North Brunswick, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for two stints of two nights each at the beginning and end of our trip to Turkey. I wish I could give this hotel a better rating for the following reasons:

1. Very friendly and helpful staff
2. Great location
3. Clean rooms

But I can't for the following reasons:

1. Overpriced
2. On our first stint, we got a room where the shower would only produce completely hot or completely cold water and hotel wouldn't switch us to another room saying they were fully booked.
3. On our second stint, we could only check it at midnight. On the day of our departure, we asked them to let us have the room until 3 pm at which time we were planning to leave. They wouldn't accommodate. Finally, they said they would let us stay till 1 pm which was useless as we had to get back to vacate the room and so we opted to vacate the room by 11 am.
4. Inflexible Staff!

Room Tip: May be a good idea to check the shower before you take the room. And it is very difficult to find th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bthodla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    181
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
220
283
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed at the Acra as part of the second leg of my Istanbul trip. It is very close to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.

The room was pleasant and clean but I did not use their toiletries. The room did not have any welcome information or any information on the hotel. I had to go to reception to ask them the telephone extension for the reception. They did not replenish the complimentary water until I asked them to. I had afternoon tea once - it was acceptable. I was disappointed with the breakfast - but I am a fussy easter at the best of time - I mainly had fruit and baguette. The staff were not the friendliest but that seems to be par for the course in Istanbul.

Because of its location alone, I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room but there was lots of music from the outside. I don't know if they actu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pebble1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
acra hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Comfy beds, modern bathroom, amazing breakfast room, with a good selection of food.
Shame about the coffee.
Great staff. On leaving the hotel, I left my full camera memory card in the safe.
They kindly posted it back to my home country at no charge.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
acra hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I cant find any fault with this hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Great location, very quiet but less than a 5 minute walk to the centre of Sultanahmet. We will definitely return on our next visit to istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Husbandoftheyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.

acra hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in family room in September for five nights. the hotel is very well located. very close to the Blue Mosque(Sultanahmet mosque) and Hagia Sofia. the staff were very friendly and helpful; Especially "Mesut" was very helpful and Hospitable. the rooms were very Clean. breakfast was acceptable and fine. I recommend this hotel for a family trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahriar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.

acra hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

this hotel nice location,Located in the lively area of Sultanahmet Acra hotel is in a walking distance to the main touristic points of interest. Little cosy rooms, delicate interior, charming atmosphere, yummy breakfast, always friendly and helpful staff.. we liked everything there during all our stays here. We tried to stay in other hotels during our numerous trips to Istanbul, but I can say that acra is definitely the best in Sultanahmet!
Tip: Don't miss the chance to enjoy scenic views

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable not to worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmetcal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.

acra hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

It was not our first stay, but to be honest with you, the location of this hotel is the best. The historical sights are all within walking distance and the neighbourhood is so safe and quite and some excellent restaurants and coffee shops. But what makes this hotel special is the staff. They made us feel that we are members of their family. Especially Mesut was very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay at this hotel in my next visit to istanbul.

Room Tip: It was not our first stay, but to be honest with you, the location of this hotel is the best. The hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeriu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.

acra hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#103 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alilass Otel
Alilass Otel
#250 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#264 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#44 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#392 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#160 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Property: Acra Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing