We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent staff”
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #202 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent staff”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Acra is a great location. It is located on a quiet street, but is a short walk to all of the sites in Sultanahmet. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was also good. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conventiontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    185
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
221
285
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you are looking for a hotel in Sultanahmet area , this is an excellent choice. Wonderful boutique hotel in the heart of old city. It was clean, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. Hotel is in an ideal location with the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern no more than a 5-10 min walking from the hotel.

The Grand Bazaar and Spice Market are also within walking distance from the hotel about 10-15 minutes.

We would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in Sultanahmet .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayşegül K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The location of Acra is great, in the heart of Sultanahmet.
The rooms are good too, but with one big problem: if someone in the next room talks loudly, you cannot sleep....On my last day there I woke up at 5 o'clock because of that.
The breakfast was good.
As about the service, people there were willing to help in any problem. However, there was a problem in the bathroom, and they only fixed it two days later, after I reminded them....
The value for money was ok. If I stay in Sultanahmet again, I will consider Acra.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel has good location, close to all attractions. There are many restaurants and shops near. The rooms are quite spacious, with nice colors. Very pleased with the service, feeling like home. On the way back we had an early flight. The hotel provided free breakfast at 3am. Special thanks for caring guys at the reception - Hasan, Ahmet and Serkan. I can safely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna335588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

After a long journey from London it was lovely to be greeted with a warm welcome.
Everything was OK but what made this hotel stand out was the staff. Very friendly staff and the room was very clean.
Really good value and great location.
I will definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Outstanding experience! Great hotel with excellent service.....The staff is so well trained and extremely accommodating, courteous and service oriented. Always ready to help whether it is 8 am or midnight, they work with a smile. I would specially like to thank, Serkam, Mehsut and Hasan for their outstanding service.

I highly recommend the hotel as it is so centrally located that everything is in walking distance. The breakfast served at the hotel is superb as it is a large spread of fruits, vegetables, dairy, poultry and meats.

Great value for money, keep it up !

Room Tip: Rooms with a partial ocean view are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
acra hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia, Moscow
Level Contributor
172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Had a nice but short vacation with my husband in this hotel in November. Too bad we were not able to stay longer. We liked the hotel and we wish to come back here again.
Very good, responsive and friendly staff. Did not try to impose something (like a taxi to the airport at three times the price - as in other hotels in Istanbul ..). Recommended restaurants but not intrusive.
Very quiet hotel - good soundproofing and is located in a quiet place, in spite of the fact that a stone's throw to all the main sights of Sultanahmet.
Rooms are comfortable and beds also. Consider upgrading the bathroom, but it was not critical for us.
The room has a kettle, free water, a safe, ample space for clothes, a lot of television programs, including sports channels (which we did not find in other hotels in Istanbul, in which stayed earlier).
Very good breakfast. Everything is fresh, lots of choice. The breakfast room is decorated with pieces of the old walls of Byzantium (excavations). Very unusual breakfast in such a place.
For guests who wait to go to the airport - there are complimentary tea, cookies, cakes and other sweets. Very nice. Thank you!

Нам все понравилось. Жаль, что останавливались не долго. Удобные номера, светлые и большие, хороший завтрак и в необычном ресторане, декорированном кусками Византийских стен (на этом месте был замок), Приятное обслуживание. Ничего не навязывают, не предлагают такси в аэропорт втридорога.., как другие отели. Что-то рекомендуют, но очень ненавязчиво. Для ожидающих отъезда в аэропорт приготовлены чай, печенье, тортики. Это очень приятно - все, естественно, бесплатно. Вернемся сюда снова всей семьей в наш следующий приезд в Стамбул.
Спасибо отелю за прекрасное впечатление!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uma_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
acra hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#277 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#131 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#252 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#384 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Otel
Saba Sultan Otel
#37 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Property: Acra Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing