We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels”
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #242 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I was travelling with my one year old daughter. My wife was a bit reluctant to travel as she was worried about the safety and comfort of the baby, however thanks to Acra Hotel which made our trip extremely pleasing and enjoyable. Key facilities which really helped me during my stay are:
1. Great location – You can see all the key places by walk, also metro station is at waling distance, throughout my 5 days stay in Istanbul I have not spend a single Lira on Taxi
2. Excellent staff and room service - Whatever u want whenever u want, they are there to help you
3. 24/7 hot and cold water in bathroom –
4. Good AC
5. Free baby cot
6. Unlimited tea / coffee
7. Awesome breakfast - No need to rush, all items are available until 10:30 AM.
8. Nice view of Mediterranean Sea. Must ask for room 406 :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJPunjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

On a recent trip to Istanbul, I discovered this fabulous hotel. A higher- end hotel in the heart of the main tourist area of Istanbul, the Acra is a luxurious place to rest after spending the day sightseeing. It is close to all major tourist sites and we had no problem walking to all of them. Hasan who works at the front desk made our trip easy and hassle-free. He is charming and friendly and quick to offer recommendations for restaurants and outings. He helped us arrange our stay in Istanbul and never steered us wrong. As anywhere in Turkey, the people make all the difference in your trip. The Acra is lucky to have someone like Hasan taking care of its guests. We will definitely be returning to the Acra on our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamieWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed here for four nights in early July while on our Honeymoon.

Where do I start...

We had the hotel pick us up from the airport and as soon as we came out of the gate there was our driver waiting for us, friendly and with a great sense of humour.

We arrived at Acra at about 9pm and Mesut was waiting for us. He immediately proceeded to pull out a map and tell us everything we could possibly need to know about staying in Old Town. Of course Mesut was considerate enough to ask if we were hungry and proceeded to not only make a reccommendation, but also to arrange for pick up and drop off at the restaurant and make the reservations for us.

Mesut was working the night shift our entire stay and we relied on him for all of our dinner reccommendations, which were all absolutely fantastic. One night he insisted that he walk with us to show us where the restaurant is as opposed to merely giving us directions. If Mesut is working make sure you get his reccommendation for dinner.

The staff here are incredible, Mesut, Oguz and Fatih in particular. Special mention to Mesut who really made our trip spectacular.

The rooms are beautiful and completely spotless. The pictures on the internet actually don't do the rooms justice. The Hotel is right in the heart of Old Town, very close to everything and in a very safe location. Breakfast is included and is delicious.

I really don't know why you would want to stay anywhere else in Old Town

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clintonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Fantastic hotel - very freindly and helpful staff - excellent all-round experience. We will return to this hotel when we go back to Istanbul next year. It´s close to many attractions - just 5 minutes walking distance from the Blue Mosque - everything is convenient and it is close to the Tram Station too - from where you can explore this fascinating city. Rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable - you have plenty of space for suitacases etc - without having to fall over them in the middle of the night. We enjoyed our experience and as I said before - "we´ll be back" .

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidmlopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Hotel location is excellent, within walking distance from main attractions Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi, Grand Bazaar and 5 min from tram station. Service is excellent, good breakfast and rooms very neat and clean. A good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aamirkhanzada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I spent with my wife & kids 5 amazing nights in this hotel. Since the minute we arrived, the staff made us feel royal. They checked us in quickly, even upgraded our room, stored the extra luggage we had and explained to us in details the daily tours we ought to take in addition to what's around. The rooms were tidy and even better than we expected. Breakfast was amazing and we enjoyed the atmosphere of old Istanbul in the breakfast hall. The hotel location is perfect! You will find all kinds of shops around and the bus/tram station is 7-10 minutes walk (with kids) from the hotel. The area around is very safe and you can walk around anytime night & day. A lot of the historical areas you don't want to miss is within a walking distance as well. Front desk always helped, and even negotiated prices, with tour reservations. On the last day, I met the hotel manager who was very keen to know how was our stay in a very professional manner. She's a very professional person who is apparently appreciated by her staff. I'd advice anyone to go there for a memorable vacation. I'd definitely stay there when I go back to Istanbul!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank AAY75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

i had a lovely time at hotel acra. the staff were very nice and always helpful.
Messut was always friendly and kind, very helpful with directions and tourist attractions. i would highly recommended to stay here. i can't wait to come back next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chellflett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#280 of 1,163 in Istanbul
255 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#155 of 1,163 in Istanbul
546 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alilass Otel
Alilass Otel
#234 of 1,163 in Istanbul
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Hotel
Saba Sultan Hotel
#33 of 1,163 in Istanbul
874 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#70 of 1,163 in Istanbul
214 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#230 of 1,163 in Istanbul
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#65 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £38 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing