We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Great, Great....loved this place"”
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #228 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great, Great, Great....loved this place"”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We had a fabulous stay at the Acra Hotel in July 2010. This hotel was top notch. Excellent service from all of the staff especially Hasan who was outstanding. I would highly recommend the Acra...not only is it everything you want in a hotel it is also so close to all of the amazing sights that Istanbul has to offer. I love Turkey and the Acra Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadianjasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    187
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
224
286
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

For about US$100 per night, this was a reasonable value. The entire place was spotlessly clean, the room was quite spacious, the bathroom was well appointed, and the service was excellent. Mesut was very helpful and even moved us to a nicer room on our last night as availability changed. The included breakfast consists of a great spread: fruit, fresh honeycomb, breads, cheese, olives, pastries and hot dishes. On our last morning when we had an early departure, the hotel staff accommodated us by setting out a limited breakfast for us well before the normal breakfast hours. The location is excellent - 5 minute walk to the back of the Blue Mosque and a 10 minute walk to the Sultanahmet tram stop, and yet away from the bustle on a nice little side street. The hotel also provides free wi-fi as well as a modern PC in the lobby for guests to use. Tea and pastries are served in the lobby each afternoon. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Acra.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Nice pretty New hotel in Old city Sultanahmet. 5 stars location, helpfull and friendly staff especially Lale and Gokay - best regards friends:). We really enjoyed our stay. We occupied a family room which was very convinient for us (a couple with a teenage daughter). It had 2 separate spacious and very pleasantly furnished rooms. We liked the atmosphere and the great idea to arrange the breakfast hall over the ancient foundations. The breakfast was generaly OK but variety could be improved. We would strongly recomend Acra to everybody willing to discover the magic city of Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couple90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natal, RN
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I stayed at ACRA , is very close to Blue Mosque at Sultahmet ...
very clean and a very good breakfast

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brazdani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Acra is a 4 star hotel at the historic centre of Istanbul. Although is a small hotel it reminds you of great, luxurious hotels of another era! My room was very spacious and even the bathroom was quite large! Decoration is very elegant and the staff very professional. The breakfast was excellent. One of the greatest advantages of this hotel is that major historical areas are within a walking distance. You will enjoy walking while enjoying the view of Agia Sophia and other amazing sightseeing.

Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank S0phie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I just read almost all the comments of others, and this is not enough to describe the excellent service and quality of the hotel Acra.
This was my first time in Istanbul, and I certainly would never forget, Sultanahmet ... this district in the heart of Istanbul, very quiet, very pleasant which was my home for exactly nine days, surrounded by an excellent staff and appointing Hasan Mesut, Oguz, Okan and finally Fatih
I thank them all from my heart and especially Mesut and Oguz who were able to accompany me throughout the night when I was amused to stay connected at night, their warm and friendly welcome made me feel at home and regret my return here in Morocco. But also, my very pressing desire to go back to Istanbul and spend more time.
Hasan was very lovely, very helpful and very polite with her incredible smile charmed us throughout our stay, one loves to thank my mother and me
Okan, I loved his kindness and helpfulness during my first day, and Fatih ; the funniest of all, who thought I was Spanish hahahahaha !
I thank from the heart of his special character I loved it and all its special attentions .
Just a big THANK YOU!
I strongly back!
VIVE ACRA HOTEL !

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soraya74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I was travelling with my one year old daughter. My wife was a bit reluctant to travel as she was worried about the safety and comfort of the baby, however thanks to Acra Hotel which made our trip extremely pleasing and enjoyable. Key facilities which really helped me during my stay are:
1. Great location – You can see all the key places by walk, also metro station is at waling distance, throughout my 5 days stay in Istanbul I have not spend a single Lira on Taxi
2. Excellent staff and room service - Whatever u want whenever u want, they are there to help you
3. 24/7 hot and cold water in bathroom –
4. Good AC
5. Free baby cot
6. Unlimited tea / coffee
7. Awesome breakfast - No need to rush, all items are available until 10:30 AM.
8. Nice view of Mediterranean Sea. Must ask for room 406 :)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJPunjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#264 of 1,156 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#443 of 1,156 in Istanbul
332 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#141 of 1,156 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tan Hotel - Special Class
Tan Hotel - Special Class
#111 of 1,156 in Istanbul
388 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#129 of 1,156 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#276 of 1,156 in Istanbul
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Property: Acra Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#130 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing