We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“liked”
Review of Melita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melita Hotel
Ranked #660 of 1,038 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Baku
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“liked”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect. You can go anywhere by tram or metro. It takes 15 minutes from this hotel to Sultan Ahmet on foot. I liked the small restaurant in the hotel. There is free tea, coffee and juice in the lobby all day. There is also wi-fi in rooms. But I want to mention that air-conditioning is very bad in rooms, Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seva82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    17
    3
    9
See reviews for
2
14
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I Last September I stayed in this hotel which looks more like a motel, unfortunately for my concept is the worst hotel or motel that I’ve been staying in my life.. I have no complaints about their employees, they do their job to please or satisfy its guests. Melita’s restaurant is the worst of the worst… and nothing to say about their meals because until the water had flavor to tea. (I noticed they did have really a restaurant, just few tables and chairs and the food is placed from somewhere.)
Hotel is located in a religious area does not fit for an open mind people, less for a women from a foreign country besides Islamic ones. The funniest thing that made me feel uncomfortable was that my tours guides always joked about this hotel asking me from where I got this horrendous hotel? And let me tell you the true…it’s horrible. Find some nice place to stay. Istanbul has more penniless and beautiful hotel. I really regretted don’t know before to be there. Enjoy your stay in Istanbul and say hello from me

Room Tip: Please go some where
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaplar268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The location of this hotel is it's strong point. It is within walking distance (read bag dragging distance) of the Arkasay railway station and the tramline to town. The rooms are averagly OK, not flash but clean and tidy. However, some of the rooms are quite small so ensure that you get a bigger room. Breakfast is OK, nothing out of the norm but enough to get you going for the day. There is wifi which we found worked well without dropout and free tea and coffee in the lobby.

It is in a run down part of town but it does not feel dangerous. There are a couple of small uninspiring pubs for the locals close-by - the beer was 5tl for .3litre. A rail/tram ticket is 3tl and there are automatic macines (in English) at the nearby train and tram stops.

Most of the city sites are accessibly via the tram.

Overall it met our (basic) needs.

We paid 59 euros a night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forensic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

It was mostly ok, but room was very small, much smaller than the photos on website would indicate. Location is very good, just a short walk from Aksaray metro station, which one can reach from airport on the metro in 30 to 40 mins. Breakfast was good, with cheese, olives, honey, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naturalnature9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

For the money this place is a rip off!
I didnt like anything about this place. It's old and sleezy. It's only good for men. It was a bit hard to find and to get to from the subway carrying a suitcase. Then you need to walk up a short flight of stairs with the suitcase to the lobby. 1st room they gave me was soiled with cigarette smoke. A/C did not work right and I insisted on a different room. 2nd was better as it did not have cigarette smell. The lock on the door to the room is a joke. My bathroom door at home has a better and secure lock. Place is old and very slezzy looking. It's like righ out of an old B&W movie. Place is not for women or girls! Pay more and stay someplace else unless you just dont care about anything! The only good part is there is plenty of food
joints around and its close to the tram and attractions. If your turkish then it's probably perfect for you. Otherwise this should not even be on booking.com, room should cost $20/night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davedmdusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I like the hotel location and the modern furniture .all the service excellent( cleanning, internet,perfect reservation any where and the best best best all the staff ) tks 4 every things.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thomas n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We had a relaxed & homely stay at Melita Hotel last week. We saw typical Istanbul street life in the area but it was certainly safe and comfortable for us.The quality of the hotel was certainly raised by the excellent staff who answered questions, offered advice and guided us to a local bathhouse and to the minibus so we could get to our next destination.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Istanbul
0.3 mi away
Orient Mintur Hotel - Istanbul
Orient Mintur Hotel - Istanbul
#632 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ant Hotel
Ant Hotel
#925 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fors Hotel
Fors Hotel
#583 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Ons Hotel
Grand Ons Hotel
#882 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Istanbul Royal Hotel
Istanbul Royal Hotel
#968 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaya Madrid Hotel
Kaya Madrid Hotel
#10 of 21 in Aksaray
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melita Hotel

Property: Melita Hotel
Address: Iskender Pasa Mah. Sekerci Sok. No 20, Istanbul 34080, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #660 of 1,038 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melita Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing