We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely well placed”
Review of Melita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melita Hotel
Ranked #654 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely well placed”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Melita is a clean and ok place. The breakfast is fair, considering the price, the same is the hotel. The reason for us to recommend it, as we will do, is the optimal placement. It is situated 100 meters from the Aksaray station - the end station of the metro line directly from the airport. (It costs 3 lira the whole way). And it is near by the tram station, where the tram goes directly to the Hagia Sopfia - just a few stops.
The surroundings have a lot of small shops and street sellers, an outlet and a ware house. Some will say it is a bit scary with all those people around. But it is an Arabic quarter, I think, a light version of what you see in the Middle East, where we were going next. We never felt anything threatening there, just friendly people. We are a couple in our late fifties.

Room Tip: The rooms are small, with a separated shower and toilet, small, but ok. Just for staying in Istanbul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    17
    3
    9
See reviews for
2
14
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Bad things first:

- hard to find
- the area around is more of a poor, unclean suburb, but you may consider it exotic depending on what you re looking for
- breakfast is a bit poor

However:
The staff is friendly and helpful
The beds are comfy
Its close to Aksray metro and tram stop, so you are midway between Ataturk airport and Sultanahmet area

We took a quadruple room, it was a comfy night after all

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azzigeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

to far from sultanahmed.
From 10 pm, afraid to walk.
Poor breakfast.
The rooms are that small, that if you have a bigger lugage, you don't have where to put it.
No english at recepcion.
Nothing to do there, you have to walk to sultanahmet.. Grand bazar is at 1km.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Puia_Codrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Hotel Melita was the worst hotel experience of my life. The first day of my stay I unpacked and then took a rest in my room. I a woke to a staff member knocking on my door. When I opened the door a 19-year-old boy tried to give me coffee, unsolicitedly. This was uncomfortable, but I just took the coffee and said thank you.
After that, the boy tried to push his way into the room and kiss me. During this attack, he also attempted to close the door behind him. I took great alarm to his actions! I yelled and pushed him out repeatedly. He continued to try to kiss me and touch me! I pushed him with all my strength to make him leave the room. Approximately ten minutes later he tried to reenter my room to retrieve the coffee. This is unacceptable!
I made the manager informed of this incident. The general manager paid no mind to my complaint and blindly sided with the staff member.
The incident was not captured on film, given that this took place in my room. I requested the manager to confront the staff member about this incident. Initially, the staff member denied what truly took place. But after thorough questioning, this staff member did in fact admit to his attempted violations. If he didn't admit, maybe no one would not take responsibility for the situation.
This hotel is the worst hotel in my life.
Please think carefully before choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mgmt_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect. You can go anywhere by tram or metro. It takes 15 minutes from this hotel to Sultan Ahmet on foot. I liked the small restaurant in the hotel. There is free tea, coffee and juice in the lobby all day. There is also wi-fi in rooms. But I want to mention that air-conditioning is very bad in rooms, Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seva82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I Last September I stayed in this hotel which looks more like a motel, unfortunately for my concept is the worst hotel or motel that I’ve been staying in my life.. I have no complaints about their employees, they do their job to please or satisfy its guests. Melita’s restaurant is the worst of the worst… and nothing to say about their meals because until the water had flavor to tea. (I noticed they did have really a restaurant, just few tables and chairs and the food is placed from somewhere.)
Hotel is located in a religious area does not fit for an open mind people, less for a women from a foreign country besides Islamic ones. The funniest thing that made me feel uncomfortable was that my tours guides always joked about this hotel asking me from where I got this horrendous hotel? And let me tell you the true…it’s horrible. Find some nice place to stay. Istanbul has more penniless and beautiful hotel. I really regretted don’t know before to be there. Enjoy your stay in Istanbul and say hello from me

Room Tip: Please go some where
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaplar268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The location of this hotel is it's strong point. It is within walking distance (read bag dragging distance) of the Arkasay railway station and the tramline to town. The rooms are averagly OK, not flash but clean and tidy. However, some of the rooms are quite small so ensure that you get a bigger room. Breakfast is OK, nothing out of the norm but enough to get you going for the day. There is wifi which we found worked well without dropout and free tea and coffee in the lobby.

It is in a run down part of town but it does not feel dangerous. There are a couple of small uninspiring pubs for the locals close-by - the beer was 5tl for .3litre. A rail/tram ticket is 3tl and there are automatic macines (in English) at the nearby train and tram stops.

Most of the city sites are accessibly via the tram.

Overall it met our (basic) needs.

We paid 59 euros a night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forensic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Mark Hotel
Grand Mark Hotel
#846 of 1,141 in Istanbul
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tayhan Hotel
Tayhan Hotel
#997 of 1,141 in Istanbul
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Garden
La Garden
#779 of 1,141 in Istanbul
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fors Hotel
Fors Hotel
#575 of 1,141 in Istanbul
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ant Hotel
Ant Hotel
#888 of 1,141 in Istanbul
151 reviews
7.8 mi away
My Home Sultanahmet
My Home Sultanahmet
#673 of 1,141 in Istanbul
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melita Hotel

Property: Melita Hotel
Address: Iskender Pasa Mah. Sekerci Sok. No 20, Istanbul 34080, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #654 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melita Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing