We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Amazing Staff, Unique Space”
Review of New Galata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Galata
Ranked #191 of 1,078 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2013

It was a true pleasure to stay at 50da. The staff is dedicated to answering any and all questions about a city that I for one was not all too familiar with. They are truly committed not only that your accommodations are acceptable and comfortable but that you thrive while on vacation and are able to take full advantage of all the Istanbul has to offer. Amazing breakfast is brought to your room every day. The rooms are all done tastefully and the beds were exceptionally comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

You cannot get a better location near the Galata Tower. Excellent breakfast (included) and brought directly into your room within 15 minutes of calling. Is actually a suite with dishes, coffeemaker, coffee, wifi. Parking was 50 feet away. Only point is that it is on a fairly steep hill (20degree incline) so keep that in mind if you have mobility issues (ie. - wheelchair or walker).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaKuFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

If you are looking for personalized hospitality, and great location in the artsy district of Istanbul, this is a great choice! The rooms are comfortable, and the decor is modern as it should be in a boutique hotel. The only downfall was the difficulty in securing an Internet connection, maybe because we were on the top floor. If this problem is addressed, this is a faultless hotel!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank joelleclerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed at 5oda in March 2013 for three nights and loved it. The location is perfect - in the middle of great shopping, bars and restaurants and just a 10-15 min walk across the bridge to Aya Sofia and the rest of the Istanbul must sees. The hotel staff was super friendly, laid back and helpful; they always had great advice and were flexible on check in/out. We had a huge apt style, light filled room on the 1st floor, the wifi was good and while the kitchenette was a plus, we mostly ate out. The breakfast, on demand, was just as excellent as the other reviewers have described. Despite being on the 1st floor, we didn't hear any of the noise others have noted. My only complaint was having to leave so soon...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashajackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel was recommended to us by friends and we stayed in 5 Oda for 4 nights in February.

Positives: fantastic location, very friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast, very spacious rooms.

Negatives: Bear in mind the size of the rooms, the bathroom was absolutely tiny. Obviously, this is a personal thing but I do like my bathrooms spacious and well lit. Also, February in Istanbul is COLD and it would have been nice to come back to the room and have a nice long bath soak (yes, there are hammams but by the time you get back to your hotel, you are frozen all over again). The other thing I would like to mention is lighting. It is very clear that a lot of thought went into designing this hotel (and a lot of the solutions are fantastic) but somehow the lighting just doesn't work: it is really cold and uninviting.

I'd like to finish on the positive because (apart from the bathroom and lighting), this was a very nice place to stay in an excellent location and we felt properly looked after!

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room (5 rooms, 1 per floor) as the slabs are thin and you can hear footsteps fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrKeenFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Conveniently located downhill the Sishane metro station, this hotel is nice for a romantic getaway in Istanbul..Breakfast ok for European travellers, American/English people may ask for a ( free) refill.Kitchen facilities,bathing-gowns, confortable bed and hot water shower complete the picture
WI-Fi connection available most of the time.

Room Tip: Better to choose the 5th floor room to avoid the "steps on the wooden floor" noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drolky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in October 2011. I have been meaning to review this little B&B which was recommended to us by a friend. It's a low key apartment style place which is in a great location! The rooms were spacious and the daily breakfast spread was amazing, yes that was a highlight for me as I'm a foodie and it just started the day well. A mix of traditional Turkish and continental food.

The cleanliness of the room was good and the staff were great. The only negative was that the floors are thin and you can hear the people upstairs very clearly which is annoying but you can't help it unless you ask for the top food apartment.

Room Tip: If you ask for the top floor apartment that would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BL_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
#453 of 1,159 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Beyoglu
Hotel Gritti Pera
Hotel Gritti Pera
#715 of 1,159 in Istanbul
48 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata Antique Hotel
Galata Antique Hotel
#494 of 1,159 in Istanbul
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
#224 of 1,159 in Istanbul
440 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#107 of 1,159 in Istanbul
487 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#19 of 1,159 in Istanbul
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Galata

Address: Sahkulu Bostan Sok. No:16 Tunel, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 1,078 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £89 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small and unique hotel with 5 rooms. Our little lodge simply offer 5 large rooms located in the Galata district of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your New Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5oda Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing