We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Galata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Galata
Ranked #159 of 1,003 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Nairobi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a great boutique hotel and we had breakfast there every morning. It is right in the centre of Beyoglu and very close to Galata towers.

We enjoyed the hospitality thoroughly. Would recommend this place to go stay.

Thank you for making our trip memorable.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Raju B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    20
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
79
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

For our return to Istanbul (we stayed in Sultanahmet at the beginning of our trip), our base was the 5 Oda hotel near the Galata Tower. The owner and staff were delightful, the breakfast delivered to our room was delicious, and the elevator for 1½ people was a big hit with our child. We were able to wander out and back and didn’t face the carpet and boat tour touts at every turn. We loved the narrow streets and odd shops selling only bow ties or vinyl records. And vegtables stands with perfect tomatoes or eggplant. Why would anyone stay in the old city when something this unique exists across the water.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoppityhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Was recommended by my sister who resides in Turkey part time. Once you find it(get the airport transfer, taxis can't find it either) it's in a great location. Safe & centrally located. An easy walk to the Tunel or a short walk downhill thru music & gift shops to Galata bridge. Much better than staying in Sultanmehet . It may be a bit more, but the breakfast & service made up for that. The Owner recommended & made a reservation at a local restaurant called Eleo's for my wife's birthday, outstanding! We would defiantly stay there again!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

What a nice place, 5 rooms only 1/floor, very modern and spacious rooms. Excellent location in Beyoglu, Istanbul. Extremely friendly staff, very helpful and caring. Feels like home!!
Beyoglu is excellent for staying away from the old town "sultanahmet" area, although needs public transportation for the landmarks.

Room Tip: Higher Better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wassim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

5oda has a great location, two blocks from Galata Tower and Iskele Caddesi ( lively, mile long pedestrian street) and the upper Tunel station( the short but extremely useful funicular that runs from near Galata bridge up the steep hill to Iskele. ). The rooms are large-- modern Scando appearance with built-in kitchenette , but the bathroom looks like an airplane facility complete with small stainless sink and surround- with the addition of a shower. Hardly space to turn around -- our other hotel rooms in Turkey ( including istanbul) had sizable bathrooms. There are huge windows but they look directly at other apartment buildings -- so for privacy, we kept our blinds drawn. The staff are very friendly and eager to be helpful-- but this is like an apartment in terms of their limited presence -- and not at all I the evening. This can be a problem -- though one can call the manager.
Finally, breakfast is adequate and they try to vary it each day, but it's still very limited compared to the buffets at other hotels we stayed and the only fresh fruit was apple slices , and none of the usual cut and whole fruits and tomatoes and cucumbers, etc.

Room Tip: Highest floor might be best , can hear footsteps--loudly-- overhead
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank histonham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed at 5Oda in February and loved it!

PROS:

The location is just perfect in a quiet street next to Tünel and İstiklâl Caddesi.

The hotel is clean, cozy and it makes you feel at ease (in the hall you can find also plenty of info and guide books about Istanbul).

The 4th floor room is bright, wide, well furnished and well groomed with a lot of facilities (TV, radio- cd player, Internet Wi-Fi, safe and self-controlled heating).

The room has also a fully equipped built-in kitchenette that we didn’t use much but we definitely enjoyed the tea making facilities provided as well as the bottled water supplied daily in the fridge for free.

Breakfast is varied and delicious and it is served by the friendly hosts in the room.

As a plus the bed is really comfortable!!!

CONS (actually minor inconveniences, as I would definitely stay here again!):

If for any reason you need to have a quick breakfast and to go out early/fast in the morning, make sure to inform the hosts in advance and/or call asap in the morning as breakfast is served from 8 am on request by calling through the telephone provided. This method works pretty well but bear in mind that if another guest has asked for it right before you then you’ll have to wait up to 15-20 minutes. (If so, you would be informed by the hosts and waiting is definitely well worth because - as I already said - breakfast is delicious!).

If you are a light sleeper it may be a good idea to bring ear-plugs with you (just in case). For us it was not a big deal as we could sleep like logs but occasionally we could hear steps of upstairs neighbours. I must say that the area is really quiet (no car noises at all!) so it was only an occasional noise, especially in the morning (neighbours getting ready and impatient to discover Istanbul?!).

If you are a large bathroom lover, you could be a bit disappointed by the bathroom which is really tiny - washbasin, water closet and shower - but it has got it all (hairdryer, shampoo, shower gel, towels, towelling robes and slippers are provided!).

Knowing this, book it and then just fly to Istanbul!:-)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at 5oda in April 2013 for three nights but with an early check-in and a late check-out it seemed much longer...

When I read the reviews and I can see the pluses and the minuses.
Mobility challenged, then give them a miss. Stairs into the property.
Claustrophobic, then give them a miss. Two person lift.
Bothered by people walking on your ceiling, then give them a miss. Rooms 1-4 have a room above them.
Bothered by cobbled stoned street, then give them a miss. Street noise from time to time.

This hotel is quirky and the location is away from the hussle and bussle of the old part of the city but just 80 metres from a major shopping strip with great shopping, bars and restaurants. The first taxi driver found it difficult to find and at one point he said "it down there" however we insisted on him dropping us at the door. For subsequent taxi rides we just said "Galata Tower" and walked from there.

Had no problem with the wifi.

Breakfast was great (served in the room), with freshly squeezed orange juice it would have been perfect. Appreciated the four free bottles of water each day.

Very, very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picture_of_innocence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#56 of 1,116 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#345 of 1,116 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#130 of 1,116 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#234 of 1,116 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Galata

Property: New Galata
Address: Sahkulu Bostan Sok. No:16 Tunel, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 1,003 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small and unique hotel with 5 rooms. Our little lodge simply offer 5 large rooms located in the Galata district of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
5oda Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing