We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a pleasant experience! ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sipahi Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sipahi Hotel
Ranked #777 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a pleasant experience! ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Positive: Nice and friendly staff and convenient location. The rest: Unfortunately, rooms were unhygienic and breakfast was substandard. Although staff helped me change the room and gave a better quality room but even that was not properly cleaned (fungus under the table etc). Bathrooms are in appalling condition. With simimlar price better hotels can be found in Istanbul even im the same area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank YUMI U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    12
    2
    4
    7
See reviews for
4
5
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Me, my Girlfriend and Friends of ours were visiting Istanbul for a 5 days and we spent 4 Nights at the Sipahi Hotel in Sultanahmet. I got there 8 hours earlier as I wanted to plan a small surprise for my girlfriend when she got there for her Birthday. I am a frequent business traveller and generally stay in the chain of hotels but I was travelling with a few friends so they were staying in this hotel and I booked my room there too. I had a Double Bed Room and our friends a Twin Bedroom and I was very pleasantly surprised. It was way above my expectations. The hotel room was clean and so were the bathrooms. The Double Bed Room had an attached Toilet and the Twin Room had a Wash Basin and the Shower and Toilet are Common on the same floor. We found our stay very comfortable and the hotel staff very friendly. The Owner of the Hotel Mr Murat is really hospitable and so is his staff who even helped me set up things in my room for my Girlfriends Surprise Birthday, including getting glasses for the Champagne to keeping the Cake in the fridge to helping me decorate over a friendly cup of Chai. They respect your privacy and we felt we were not staying at a hotel but with a family and that had a real nice touch to our trip. It is also very centrally located with the Grand Bazar just 2 Minutes walk distance and the other attractions at walking distance and is just a minutes walk away from the Tram. Taxi's are also easily available from this point. Here are some pictures of the rooms and the bathroom and the view from the Roof Top where the Hotel Owner even helped setup an ambient setting at night for some of our friends. We felt at home and anytime we are in Istanbul, we will come back here.

Vikas Mathur

Room Tip: Double Bed Room was Best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VikasMathurFilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and will stay again and again. The hotel is basic but it is very clean, the staff are lovely and in a perfect location to explore Istanbul. The breakfast is a traditional turkish breakfast of bread, olives, cheese, boiled egg, jams and tea or coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macca1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was my second time in Istanbul and I wish I would have known about this hotel the first time. The people working there are amazing! So helpful and always in a good mood. The hotel is situated in the perfect spot for touring, walking distance from Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and about a block from the Grand Bazaar. Transfers to and from the airports were a breeze, a restaurant next door with great home made meals and don't forget the hamam down the street which the hotel gets a discount at! It is by far the perfect place to stay! Always felt safe and welcomed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayleen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hotel very well located close to all tourist attractions.
very professional staff , friendly and useful, always ready to help and advise on the best places in istanbul.
cozy, clean and very safe.

thanks for the fantastic stay that provided me

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I traveled back to this hotel this year again as I enjoyed my stay there last time. It's cheap, clean, safe and close to all the major tourist attractions. The staff are excellent and really looked after me whilst I was there. They are all very nice people and so much fun! Great little place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s_hollywood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Excellent location! The people of the hotel is very nice and always willing to assist in whatever the guest needs. It is a serious hotel, quiet, familiar, warm and very safe!!! has everything you need for a good stay and not worry about anything. It is within walking distance of all the sights either Blue mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar, shopping, etc etc. I have been hosted over a month and I felt like home!!!!!! no doubt, I will return next year!!!!!!!!!!!!
Patricia Abdeljalek ( Buenos Aires - Argentina)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
FER Hotel
FER Hotel
#159 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#91 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#77 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#26 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#354 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipahi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipahi Hotel

Property: Sipahi Hotel
Address: Divanyolu Turbedar Sokak No 20 | Cemberlitas, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #777 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sipahi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel was built in 1910 behind the historical Vezirhan, on the histrorical Artopolia road, in Cemberlitas area which lies between the Shrine of Mahmut II. The Court of Justice, Hippodrome, Antique house Palace and Koprulu Library. It is one of the most rooted hotels of the Sultanahmet region. Situated in the center of the historical peninsula, it is within walking distance to the Grand Bazaar, Egyption Bazaar, Sultanahmet, Hagia Sophia, Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace and 17 km. To Ataturk Airport. Having 57 rooms and 100 beds, our hotel provides its customers 24 hours room service, parking lot and airport services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Sipahi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing