We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Sphendon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sphendon
Ranked #228 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Location of this hotel is little far from tram stop 'Sultanahmet'. You should walk around 10 min. But this location is nice - real old Istanbul. Near hotel there is one small shop and a lot of mosques. Read prayer time in Internet and you wull wake-up always in time, without alarms.
I have gor DBL room and this room was small for two persons, but desing is nice, very clean.
Breakfast is poor: just coffe/tea, butter/bread and some fruits.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-Arkhipov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

Very nice hotel, with very helpful and nice staff. The terrace for the breakfast is very pleasant and the top terrace with the view onto the sea is impressive.
You have to know that the call for the pray last only 10 mn, so you don't have to get up at 6 AM, juste wait a little bit before sleeping again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The Hotel Sphendon is a 12-room hotel on a quiet street several hundred yards from the Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque. We stayed a week in mid-October. As you drive up to the hotel, at first glance it looks like you might be out of the way on a deserted street. Hang in there...it is only one block from the more bustling area and you will appreciate the calm and quiet instead of being on one of the more heavily traveled and touristed streets. Complimentary breakfast is served (traditional Turkish breakfast - wide variety). There is no restaurant on the premises but, again, you are only one block from several streets lined with great places to eat. The hotel staff is friendly, helpful, and will go out of their way to make sure you have a pleasant visit. Absolutely no communication problems for English speakers. There is a very pleasant small garden patio for your breakfast and a small roof-top patio with a view of the Sea of Maramara Price is very reasonable. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but are pleasantly furnished and scrupulously clean. My place to go on any future visits.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is an excellent location, near with only a brief walk, to all the major sites. It is in a quiet neighborhood, away from the crowds. It is small and homey. The staff was unusually warm, friendly, helpful, with superior personal service and excellent English. The furnishings are modest, but clean, quaint, and it is well-equipped with good TV, A/C, shower. There was a very nice traditional Turkish breakfast buffet in the garden patio. We liked this place very much.

Room Tip: Pick a rooom away from the street to avoid traffic noise, but we closed windows and used A/C to bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_and_JCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

well positioned hotel closed to a lot of touristic attractions and restaurants. you can see the bosphrous and the blue mosque from the roof terrace.
our room was clean and nice albeit very small. very good breakfast in a nice garden.
the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giomagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I have stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. It is well located - 2 minutes walk to Blue Mosques. It has a certain charm, a nice terrace, decent breakfast and friendly staff, BUT the furniture is old and quite dirty, my room was very small and had a bad smell, the towels were old and overused. I honestly do not understand how it has received so many good reviews! I have chosen the hotel based on the scoring on TripAdvisor, but I do not cope with the reviewers who have appreciated the location so much!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rox14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsphendon, Sahibi at Hotel Sphendon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2015

Dear Guest
My name is Malik ,on behalf of Sphendon Hotel team I would like to say that I am sorry for the bad experiance you had in Sphendon hotel before,butt as a general manager and part owner of the hotel I would like to informe you that we are the new owners of the hotel ,we bought Sphendon hotel in 1st of febrewary 2015 ,and your experiance will not be happening again.
we have changed everything here,,furniture,decoration,staf,and the most importanat thing the service.
Sphendon hotel is doing great now ,you can check our web site ond other sites like trip advisor and read the comments there for past 3 monthes .
once again we are sorry for what happened , and wish you all the best.
best regards .
Malik Çelebi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Hotel Sphendon is close to all of the major sights in the Sultanahmet area, but it is situated on a quiet street. Istanbul as a whole is noisy city; no hotel is noise free! The calls to prayer are wonderful and a part of the Istanbul experience. Our room was a perfect place to collapse after a long day of sightseeing. The hotel also has a rooftop terrace with views of the Marmara Sea and the Blue Mosque, but best part of the hotel was the garden patio. We spent many a relaxing morning enjoying our tea in this beautiful garden. The breakfast buffet is excellent -- great cheeses, fruits, and other Turkish standards. We loved our stay here and hope to be back.

Note: If you stay a certain number of nights, Hotel Sphendon provides transportation to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrldjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#70 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,472 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#257 of 1,163 in Istanbul
251 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#89 of 1,163 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#143 of 1,163 in Istanbul
543 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#204 of 1,163 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#69 of 1,163 in Istanbul
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sphendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sphendon

Address: Eminonu, Akbiyik Degirmeni Sk, 50, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £21 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sphendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
İstanbul Sphendon Hotel - an historical and charming family-run special class hotel offering the charm, quality, cleanliness, comfort, accommodation and lodging in a select homey atmosphere. Hotel is located in the centre of the historical peninsula, Sultanahmet-İstanbul. We are ideally located within two minutes walk to the most important Ottomon & Byzantine monuments of Turkey such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapı Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern and not more than ten minutes to The Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sphendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing