We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sphendon
Nearby Hotels
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$351
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Swissotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$1,290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$425
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
181
77
23
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
77
23
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosquehagia sophiatouristic placessmall hotelold cityclean roomsturkeyexcellent locationsultanahmet areabasilica cisternwould highly recommend this hotelhistorical sitesrooftop terracegrand bazaarsalehhippodromemarmara
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The good part:
- Excellent breakfast
- Very friendly staff
- Decent WiFi signal
- Fairly clean
- Nice terrace and garden in the back of the hotel

The average part:
- room quality - slightly kitschi furnishings - but this seems to be the trend of the area
- small bathroom - but this is standard for most hotels
- location - whilst within short walking distance from Sultanahmet, it's not always easy to find it, considering the winding streets

Overall - good value for the money, if you're not too fussy...

Room Tip: Best to visit during warmer days, to take full advantage of the terrace that seems rather nice for long evenings
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bogdanlaiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I'll get a couple of minor negatives out of the way first: the neighborhood was a little bit grungy (though it never felt unsafe, and it was close to many of the major tourist sites); and the room decor was a bit tatty--not bad, just looked like it had been decorated by Grandma. Personally, I'm not a decor freak, but I mention it for those who may be.

Now, on to the good stuff: The room was comfortable. The breakfast was good. And the location was excellent: it was an easy walk to the Blue Mosque and the Mosaic Museum, a little longer walk to the Hagia Sophia, Archaeological Museum, and Topkapi Palace.

And now for the best stuff: the staff. Very friendly and helpful, even walking out with us for a few blocks to help us get our bearings or to direct us to a recommended restaurant.

I hope to get back to Istanbul someday; if I do, I'll plan to stay at the Sphendon again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank izzobbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Very good location in the historic city center of Istanbul. Everything you need is within 5-10 min walking distance: Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, the Great Bazaar…even the tram.

The hotel is family-run and a beautiful boutique hotel. We felt very welcomed and almost like home. Despite winter time all rooms were heated well so we didn’t had to freeze. Our room was lovely decorated, with old typical Turkish furniture and had a comfy bed. The bathroom was excellent with a very modern shower and nearly new looking amenities…everything super clean of course. Wifi was free and worked great even in the room.

Breakfast was really delicious and included in the price. Despite that I am vegetarian I found a lot to eat (Turkish/ International dishes) something which is not normal in Turkey.

Staff was exceptional friendly and very helpful and of course they organized our airport drop-off successfully.

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Sphendon and would definitely come back

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suparichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Average hotel in run down area of Sultanahment, but close to other restaurants and bars (5 min walk) hotel & rooms very clean, breakfast average, no other food offered, no bar, garden area could do with a tidy up, staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GailDavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The Hotel is boutique like, family run and has a perfect location. Next to all ancient attractions in istanbul, it's just around the corner, 5 mins walking distance from the crowds and nightlife, thus making your stay very peaceful & relaxing away from busy streets.
Now the Hotel's staff are extremely friendly, can offer loads of help & advice, the most important reason why i came back this month.
Rooms are adequate, comfortable and tidy with 4 stars commodities & typical turkish decoration.
There's also a small & convenient mini market next to the hotel where you can buy your everyday needs.
To sum this up, i will definitely visit the hotel a third time.
Romeo YAZBECK.

Room Tip: Try to book rooms in the 1st or 2nd level since there's no elevator.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews