We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Point Hotel Barbaros
Ranked #239 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fairly good”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My stay was booked through the business partner I was visiting, so it wasn’t until I looked up the hotel in Tripadviser I realized that it was a 5 star hotel. I would have guessed 4 stars based on my experience there. Stayed in a so-called executive suite which had all the amendments you would expect from a modern business hotel. Room was spacious enough and had a nice bathroom and came with access to a nice lounge on 11th floor. Nothing too exciting though, same can be said about the location. Good views though. So, in conclusion, not at all a bad place, but possibly lacking some character in my view. Think I will look for an alternative next time around, though should I return that would be fine too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jensen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    174
    40
    14
    8
See reviews for
32
31
18
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights while attending a conference. The conference was also in the same hotel.

The facilities are modern and clean. The rooms are spacious enough and there is a CD player with a lullaby CD at the bedside (quite thoughtful). Most of the staff spoke good English and communication was never a problem. In room WiFi is free though I had to ring reception to find this out and obtain the password.

The hotel is within 30 minutes drive from the airport (if there is no horrendous Istanbul traffic!!). It is also close enough to take either a taxi or ride the metro to Taksim square with it's host of tourist attractions. The restaurant on the 18th floor has good views of the Bosphorus which I found quite calming at meal times.

Conference rooms were excellent with very good AV projection and meeting rooms.

I would not recommend the hotel to a family with young children on holiday. It is heavily geared to serve the business traveller.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3outof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeberg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This hotel was our home for two weeks. Clean and modern, the staff were really helpful and spoke good English, 5 minutes walk to the Metrobus, 7 minutes to the Metro. Best mattresses ever and a top notch gym. The wonderful bar on the 11th floor had magnificent views of the Bosphorus and Sultanahmet (it has a balcony which trumps the enclosed 18th floor restaurant), especially good at night, and the free buffet stocked food well above the average Turkish fare - the bite sized desserts were amazing! The Istanbul Modern Gallery shop on the first floor was a nice addition too. There are plenty of other restaurants and small supermarkets just minutes away. In all honesty it's not going to be the most characterful place you've ever stayed, but if you are looking for an anonymously slick, spotless base with European style food, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms in the early teens give access to the executive lounge and are worth every penny - rooms endin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I last stayed in the Point Hotel 12 months ago and was greatly impressed by the hotel styling, its service and the prices charged; however, on my return I noticed that things have noticeably slipped. Whilst the hotel design is still modern and stylish with a clean look, and the rooms kept in good order, the prices have skyrocketed and the service is now poor - EUR 220/night for an executive room. Breakfast is on the 18th floor an provides great views over the city, but if the restaurant is more than 1/3 full then the staff do not seem able to cope - examples include an inability to provide any cutlery or napkins, and having to wait 20 minutes for a cup of coffee. In fact it is far more efficient to collect these items yourself than repeatedly ask staff to provide them. In the room refilling the mini-bar, providing water and replacing coffee cups and saucers also seems to be beyond staff unless the front desk is specifically called and requested.

Overall disappointing.

Room Tip: Corner executive rooms are much bigger than standard rooms but come at a price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is a contemporary styled, modern looking hotel about 10kms away from the old city area of Istanbul where most of the historic sights are located. We stayed in one of the executive rooms with breakfast included. The room was well furnished with contemporary style furnishings that are functional. The executive desk, king bed, internet access were all superb. The bathroom did not have a tub but did have full body and overhead shower heads. The breakfast was on the penthouse floor which gave you 360 degree view of the city...magnificent. The buffet was superb! You could choose from a wide variety of foods that catered to various nationalities. The fruits, nuts, cheeses, juices were all excellent. Service was very good and may be a little too efficient...staff were a bit overzealous in picking up plates even before you were finished. There are some nice restaurants and a grocery store within walking distance from the hotel. Overall, the main drawback of the hotel is the location...it is about 8-10 kms away from the historical areas of the city such as the Grand Bazar, Blue Mosque,etc...Taxis are easily available but it can take as much as 30-45mins to get to the old city if you hit peak traffic.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OklahomaProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel in the end of july with 4 rooms booked by my turkish friend.The Hotel is absolutely 5 star.The location is fanstatic for business travellers and also the view is majestic overlooking the first brige and the Bhosporous.The Breakfast has been superb with huge spread and the staff has been very veyr courteous always smiling.The Pizza restaurant is fanstastic.

Room Tip: The Hotel is Expectional..you cant ask for more
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjivwalia67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I came back to this hotel after two years of my first visit. I was dissapointed. Even it's not at all centrally located this used to be for me one of the best hotels in town but that's all gone and only the high room rates stayed. The quality hotel that used to be was gone and I had many problems with the room like really bad smell in the toilets, not proper working AC, poor food quality at the business lounge. If you are looking for a high quality service I recommend you look for other places that are recently constructed like the new Divan hotel in Taksim

Room Tip: Higher floor have better view and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepe_madrid08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
#491 of 1,156 in Istanbul
703 reviews
Besiktas
Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel
Beyoglu
Point Hotel Taksim
Point Hotel Taksim
#155 of 1,156 in Istanbul
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Sisli
Avantgarde Levent Hotel
Avantgarde Levent Hotel
#386 of 1,156 in Istanbul
207 reviews
Besiktas
Surmeli Istanbul
Surmeli Istanbul
#469 of 1,156 in Istanbul
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Hotel Barbaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Hotel Barbaros

Property: Point Hotel Barbaros
Address: Yildiz Posta Street No:29 Esentepe Sisli, Istanbul 34394, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Point Hotel Barbaros 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point Hotel Barbaros is a 5 star business hotel, located in the financial district of Istanbul, close to many corporate headquarters and shopping malls. Being the first art-tech hotel of Istanbul, our hotel combines the latest technology with art displays, curated by Beral Madra. With 202 rooms, 16 meeting rooms and its experienced staff, Point Hotel Barbaros is more than capable of hosting big events with pleasure. Wireless internet is free of charge throughout the hotel. Our guests staying in Executive Rooms have access to our Executive Lounge with a magnificent Bosphorus view. Our accomodating guests also have access to Point Sport Center, which has all the necessary fitness equipments and also an indoor pool. For the admirers of the Italian cuisine, our Italian restaurant Piola is at your service. For big kids, we have a gaming floor named The Game for Big Kids, consisting of Playstations, Darts, conceptual gaming rooms and racing kits. The floor also has a bar and a kitchenette so our guests can enjoy their food or beverages while playing their favorite games and socialize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Point Hotel Barbaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing