We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Point Hotel Barbaros
Ranked #272 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I checked into this hotel. I was upgraded, and the room had a sea view. The room was bigger than normal, and very quiet. The breakfast was ok, but given the size of the hotel, I was surprised that it was not particularly busy at breakfast. Definitely recommended. The check in staffs were very friendly, but the staffs at the restaurants were a bit cold. Overall, a very good business hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0telH0pper56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

A tower block in the business district, rooms are comfortable, well equipped and quiet. Restaurant on top floor is spacious and has great view.
Staff are all friendly and helpful, one (Yuge) took a lot of trouble to show me how to find public transport.
Actually that's the only downside. You can get a taxi easily (to town you could take taxi to Kabatas then tram), but if you want public transport only it's not obvious how to find it and even less obvious which route to use. So a local map with information about finding and using buses and trams would be a great help.
Yes you can use taxis but public transport is better (if you can find) even if crowded. Your taxi driver may go a long way round to avoid going from shore to hotel up Barbaros blvd. In the afternoon it's solid with traffic in two lanes accessing both suspension bridges.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point_Barbaros, Guest Relations at Point Hotel Barbaros, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for precious opinions. We are pleasure your contentment about the service and the staff of Point Hotel. We advise you to use metro and metrobus because of the closeneess to the hotel in transportation to the city center. Your opinions will lead us to a better quality of service. We pleasure to see you again having a good time in The Game, Point Sports Center or Piola. We hope to see you in our hotel next time.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I really appreciate the hotel staff whose allowed to check in as early as 6 am this is really a plus. The room was so clean and modern. They have a great view in the breakfast venue and I really liked it. However, it is away from Istanbul attraction in a quite location though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mustantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point_Barbaros, Guest Relations at Point Hotel Barbaros, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for sharing your precious comments with us. We pleased your opinions about our hotel and staff. The hotel which is near to subway and metrobus has many advanteges of transportation to the city center for our guests. We wish your contentment will be permanent. Hope to see you in near future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for business for a whole week and have mixed reviews. The hotel is a tall tower in the "business district" oif Istanbul. This means that it is quite far away from any historic sites in Istanbul- so not a good hotel if you wish to do some sightseeing on your trip.

The facilities are great. The hotel room is of good standards: the bed is very comfortable, you have a pillow menu, a lovely sleepy-time CD and book, a fantastic rain shower in the bathroom.. all is very clean and new. For english-speaking travellers, the english TV channels are very limited (i could only find 3 channels out of over 150 channels that were in english).

The menu for room service is also very good with a wide range of foods you can chose from.

The hotel also has a fantastic Game floor- a whole floor for you to enjoy ninento/ps games, sing to singstar, play darts, or any other games you fancy.. do check it out!

On the less good side, the service is not to the standards you woudl expect for a busines shotel. Many (actually most) people working at the hotel do not speak engligh. It took us 40 minutes tocheck in to them be told to wait 1 hr. We waited, came back and again and there was a misunderstanding on the check-in. When trying to book a taxi, again, we had a number of "lost-in translation moments". And again when requestng any kind of room service (extra cutlery, bags for the dry cleaning, etc) we had to repeat a number of times what we needed and received somethig very diffenet than we had requested. This generally led to significant frustrations!

Overal, this hotel has lovely amneties but needs higher training standards for their staff to understand english at a basic level... A general requirement when publicing themselves as a business hotel..

Room Tip: Ask for a floor on the higher levels- the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hesas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point_Barbaros, Guest Relations at Point Hotel Barbaros, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your precious comments. Your opinions will lead us to improve ourselves. Do not doubt that we will evaluate your opinions about our hotel and staff and work harder to offer a better service. We want you and your guests to join us in Ocean Restaurant and Piola. Hope to see you in near future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Amazing hotel in the European heart of Istanbul,nice English speaking staff,great game room,gym,conference hall,rooftop restaurant with a perfect view of the city...amazing sight at night! Nice place to be for every first timer in Istanbul,walking distance to a great club (masquerade),nice restaurants and shisha parlours :)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Adewole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point_Barbaros, Guest Relations at Point Hotel Barbaros, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your precious comments. We pleased you enjoyed the hotel. With convenient location and amazing view our hotel states in the best areas of the city. In addition to The Game, Point Sports Center and conference rooms there is also Istanbul Modern, Sahaf and View Point Restaurant that you would like to see. If you have time we like to guest you here. Hope to see you in near future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a very good for both business and leisure travelers !
First you will feel that you are welcome by the hotel staff
Second the room was awesome and very modern style ! The bathroom is very well and the shower is of a kind that attracts you to have more and more showers
On the other hand the roof top restaurant has a marvelous panoramic view and the food is very good ! You will eat very relaxed
The pool is beautiful, the fitness center is good and among all a splendid playroom where video games will attract you either you are a child or an adult
Lastly the hotel is very good in conferencing services !
In summary I was positively surprised and recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chawkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point_Barbaros, Guest Relations at Point Hotel Barbaros, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for sharing your precious comments with us. Your opinions will lead us to improve ourselves. We pleased you enjoyed the hotel. We want to guest you accompanied with the city and bosphorus view. Hope to see you in near future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We've organized a business workshop at this hotel with international attendees. The Hotel staff welcomed us very friendly and was reacting absolutely professional on special requests.
The hotel is centrally located on the European side of Istanbul and the Bosporus area with good dining places is approx. 10 minutes by taxi.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped with everything you need. Higher floor recommended due to the street traffic noise.
The hotel is specialized for business venues and therefore everything was very well organized and everybody felt warmly welcome. I can recommend this hotel also for people going for weekend or spend vacations in this fascinating city.
Overall impression is very good, the staff is very friendly and you'll also find a good food quality at the in-house Italian restaurant. Of special interest might be the Game Room on the -3 floor, made for big kids 

Room Tip: Higher floor due to traffic noise on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel
Besiktas
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
#574 of 1,163 in Istanbul
721 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Point Hotel Taksim
Point Hotel Taksim
#161 of 1,163 in Istanbul
924 reviews
Sisli
Divan City Istanbul
Divan City Istanbul
#388 of 1,163 in Istanbul
213 reviews
Besiktas
Surmeli Istanbul
Surmeli Istanbul
#558 of 1,163 in Istanbul
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Hotel Barbaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Hotel Barbaros

Address: Yildiz Posta Street No:29 Esentepe Sisli, Istanbul 34394, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £58 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Point Hotel Barbaros 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point Hotel Barbaros is a 5 star business hotel, located in the financial district of Istanbul, close to many corporate headquarters and shopping malls. Being the first art-tech hotel of Istanbul, our hotel combines the latest technology with art displays, curated by Beral Madra. With 202 rooms, 16 meeting rooms and its experienced staff, Point Hotel Barbaros is more than capable of hosting big events with pleasure. Wireless internet is free of charge throughout the hotel. Our guests staying in Executive Rooms have access to our Executive Lounge with a magnificent Bosphorus view. Our accomodating guests also have access to Point Sport Center, which has all the necessary fitness equipments and also an indoor pool. For the admirers of the Italian cuisine, our Italian restaurant Piola is at your service. For big kids, we have a gaming floor named The Game for Big Kids, consisting of Playstations, Darts, conceptual gaming rooms and racing kits. The floor also has a bar and a kitchenette so our guests can enjoy their food or beverages while playing their favorite games and socialize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Splitty, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Point Hotel Barbaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing