We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice hotel with awesome staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dara Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #262 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel with awesome staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

A good place to stay at your first time in Istanbul. Close to the tourist attractions and a really nice service and breakfast. In the reception they always help you with showing you where to go, calling a taxi etc. We even got to borrow a tram-card! My only negativa thing is that the last couple of days the bathroom started smelling from the drain.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda Å
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    143
    60
    12
    12
See reviews for
127
165
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here with my sister November 2013.
The location is perfect!
A few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and very easy to reach all the main attractions.

The staff were very welcoming and it was very helpful that I was able to have direct contact via email with the hotel. On arrival we were given a map and helped to understand where local attractions were.

Breakfast - it was SO delicious and what a range of food. I can't wait to return and have more! The rooftop terrace is fabulous with a very pretty view to the sea.

The lovely lady around at breakfast time was so friendly and helpful and made a point of speaking to everyone and making us all feel at home.
In fact, all of the staff we met were friendly and very polite, I'm sorry I didn't catch names.

Rooms were spotlessly clean and we had very comfortable beds!
Friendly cleaning ladies did a fabulous job every day in our room.

Thank you Osman and your team for a fabulous stay. Can't wait to return in September. :-)

Fiona :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank effemme4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Fiona,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haute Normandie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel well placed, near SultanAhmed (Blue Mosquee) and Aayasofya (Hagia Sophia) mosques and centre of Istanbul - near Tramway for Grand/egypt Bazars and Eminonu ferries/fishes !

Reception is very hospitable and good service in rooms.

Good price/service evaluation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for four days. We found the staff to be proactively helpful. We have a disabled child and in every way the hotel and staff went out of their way to help. Itaj the guy at reception would see us coming and open doors, help us up the stairs and generally made things easy for us. Very friendly staff thru out. The location was perfect only a 3-5 minute walk the main attractions. We were given a huge room with three singles,a double bed & space for all of our luggage and disabled chair. It has a lovely restaurant at walking distance along with a hamaam at a 10 minute walk. I would definitely recommend this hotel and if you have kids it's fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadeem_k7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you're looking for upmarket luxury then you won't choose the Dara Hotel. But, if you're looking for an affordable, comfortable hotel with a great central location then the Dara Hotel is for you.

As already mentioned on other reviews, the rooms are spotless, the breakfast great with a wide choice and the staff helpful, hard working and kind. Also, the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia are a short walk away and is the Sultanahmet tram stop.

I run a small tour operating business and if I was ever to expand - I would choose the Dara Hotel for my guests to stay at.

Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EternalLandscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I booked the Dara Hotel for one night for its central location and low price (and because it has my name). It is within walking distance of all the sights in Sultanahmet, and about 5-10 minutes' stroll from the tram stop. It's in a steep and fairly narrow street; the area is quiet but felt quite safe to me, even at night. Dinner is not served in the hotel, but the restaurant "Vaha" at the corner is associated with the hotel and serves good food. Directly across the road from the hotel is a mosque that is well worth a visit.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. When I arrived Mr Aytaç greeted me with a smile and checked me in with the absolute minimum of formality.

The first room I was shown to was on the ground floor (actually almost underground because of the steepness of the street) and had a damp smell. I asked for a change and was immediately moved to another, larger room at the top of the house. The room was clean and comfortable with fast wi-fi. There was no elevator serving this part of the hotel, so it was necessary to climb 3 flights of stairs. A young man carried my suitcase to both rooms.

The bathroom had an unusual bath with a shelf that made it possible to sit with your feet in the water but not to immerse yourself in the water.

There was no view from the room as it backed onto another building. However there was a splendid view from the roof terrace where breakfast was served. The breakfast buffet included a wide variety of food.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms may have a damp smell - go for a room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaraConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Perfect location, right around the corner from the Hippodrome. The rooms were small, but spotless, with nice bathrooms. We loved the breakfast and the view was wonderful. The staff was great-helpful front desk, the woman who prepared breakfast was delightful and the housekeepers were great

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdbird324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#161 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#537 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#316 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#466 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
#290 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Hotel Istanbul

Property: Dara Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kucuk ayasofya Mahallesi Su Terazisi Sok. No:25 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dara Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dara is located at the heart of the Old City in Istanbul. Historically, the building was once used as a sweet Ottoman mansion, which was renovated as a Hotel in 2009. Hotel Dara has 50 seat capacity with a rooftop restaurant. Along with a team of professional staff, it offers a great opportunity for its guests to have their rich breakfast while enjoying the mystical view of the Marmara Sea and the beautiful Sokollu Mehmet Pasa Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dara Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing