We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
Review of Hotel by Sofia

Hotel by Sofia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel by Sofia
Ranked #418 of 1,103 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 December 2010

this hotel was normal yesterdas we went to to by sofia hotel agein ..the owner been change so they chnege the hotel is well now it is reay nice nice smell and very clean ..

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon45_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2010

Hotel by Sofia: Good location and breakfast. Markets and restaurants nearby. A short walk to all the sights in Sultanamet. Room size was fine; it was clean. Room had a view of the water. On the downside: the bathroom drains have an overpowering odor, though nothing is backed up. If we didn't keep the bathroom door shut at all times, the smell permeated our room, and did so a bit even with the door shut. This absolutely is something the hotel should fix. Internet was flaky, Wasn't working for over 24 hours the last day of our 3 day stay. The hotel staff seemed at a loss to fix this problem. Hotel too expensive for what we got and the problems the hotel has.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed in this hotel twice, the first time was very good, but the second time (last week) was simply horrible. We were given a room in the basement (there are two rooms called 'economy room' downstairs) which do not have a window that you could open and there is hardly any day light coming in. The whole room (less than 15m2 and they call it a double) had a heavy drain smell coming from a hole in the bathroom. There was hardly any water coming out of the shower! No soap or other toiletries were given, no daily room cleaning and fresh towels! The door to the bathroom and the ceiling was very low (and I am not that tall - 170cm.) and I hit my head several times. When plugging in the TV cable, current was coming out, very unsafe!

The plusses are the location - 10 min. walk to Sultanahmet Mosque & Ayasofya and most staff are friendly. Freshly prepared breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddieFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We spent such a nice days at Hotel by Sofia that we would like to share with people looking for a place with a spetacular view of the Marmara Sea, in front of the Small Aya Sofia Mosque, in a calm area but still near by Sultanahmet. The owners are very kind and friendly, keeping us in a familiar atmosphere even though we were so far from home. They have very good prices also.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fannyniteroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Where to begin. The constant partying at night? The worst shower in the world? The leaking toilet?

Never, in my life, have I stayed in such an abortion. Ok, it was cheap, but, believe me, you would be better off sleeping in a park - at least you'd get some sleep.

The hotel is very noisy - in a noisy neighbourhood, and poorly insulated for sound. Plus, the noisy Raki sessions until 1:30am for the duration of our stay made sleeping almost impossible.

Our shower, when it ran at all, had very little pressure and fluctuated wildly from scorching hot to freezing cold - constantly. Our toilet leaked, and the shower cubicle was tiny.

One plus - the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nettwerkjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

The first impression was of untidiness and disorganisation. Although we arrived late in the day our room wasn't ready. We'd ordered a twin room but were given a double and then, when we objected, were given a mattress on the floor to make it into a double. We probably had one of the worst rooms - very small and in the basement, with only a strip of window at ceiling height looking out onto the pavement - not a nice prospect for our four night stay. The bathroom was through a very small doorway, which required a small person to stoop, with no window or ventilation. The pipes for the hotel all ran through our room and clanked all night long. However the overriding factor that caused us to leave here after only 1 night was that it wasn't clean. The toilet and sink were not clean, the toilet seat wasn't fixed on and the shower overflowed onto the floor. The towels didn't feel clean and the bedcovers smelled of smoke. It was very disappointing. Whilst £44 per night is not high end - I expected better than this.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deecee1669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

This hotel is centrally located (5 minutes walk) from the main tourist area of the city of Istnabul. When I arrived at 2.30am I had a pleasant welcome despite the early hour of arrival. The hotel is run mainly by the owner/manager, Burcu, who is attentive to the needs of her guests. My room was on the first floor below the roof terrace breakfast area. It is the one shown on the hotel website; http://hotelbysofia.com/ing/index2.html.
It was extremely comfortable, ensuite and air conditioning, the room was well maintained throughout my week stay. The breakfasts were excellent, along with the service and the pretty view over the little mosque and park area. The hotel does have a wireless network, if you ask for the WEP key the staff will give it to you. The clientele of the hotel was varied and multi national and therefore you will meet a variety of people!
I would recommend this hotel to others thinking of visiting Istanbul wanting a level of comfort, local to the acttractions that Istanbul has to offer without it being too noisy!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#839 of 1,173 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,822 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#75 of 1,173 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,158 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#14 of 1,259 in Istanbul
551 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#466 of 1,173 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel by Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel by Sofia

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. No: 84 | Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 1,103 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £53 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosphorus silently calling you.... you will then be greeted by another beauty to witness a long history, the Bosphorus bridge to combine the two continents. Hotel by Sofia will always be honored to have you as one of its many guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing