We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sad loss”

Istanbul Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #4,485 of 13,475 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A sad loss”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I have visited Istanbul Bar Restaurant many times and have wrıtten a couple of very favourable reviews. But sadly all has now changed. The owner Baran and his brothers are no longer around. Under the new management the food may be the same but it ıs very clear that the difference between an OK restaurant and a great restaurant is the staff!

Wıthout the personality of the Baran family and their fellow workers this ıs just another restaurant anong many vieing for your business. And judging by the absence of customers all the 'old' regulars are voting with their feet.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick15_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent fun pub”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Tthis bar is a must to visit,great food. great staff very friendly and encourage all visitors to have a good night out. my friend and myself had roast lamb which was ordered for us and it was lovely.The atmosphere in the pub was second to none miss being there already

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
“cheep and tasty”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

you can try this restaurant food is delicious and they have good entertainment every night

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank paula d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Celebration”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We first visited the Istanbul during this Summer & returned during our stay in October. For our anniversary they cooked us a fantastic 3 course meal of Garlic bread, cheese baked in filo pastry & Sea Bass cooked in rocksalt. They covered our table with Bouganville flowers & all the staff again made us very welcome & could not do enough for us. Thankyou Istanbul.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Us230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This bar is a must when visiting Icmeler for myself and my family. The staff are wonderful and treat you just like old friends. The food is some of the best we have eaten whilst in Icmelr, my partner had the mexican chicken and he said it was amazing. Well worth a visit

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DaltonMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Istanbul Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing