We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grand Unal
Nearby Hotels
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Swissotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$425
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
US$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
9
19
16
3
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
19
16
3
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotel roomsnice hotelgrand bazaaryenikapielevatorneighborhood
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

First of all, the location of this hotel is great, it is located near to a metro station, a bus stop, not so far tramway stop, several different restaurants and it's in a quiet neighborhood for Istanbul.
The management demonstrate full commitment to provide the guests with all facilities for rest and comfort. Wireless Internet connection was excellent. The hotel restaurant offers you an opened buffet with different tastes for breakfast. The Hotel is clean and tidy, decorated in a modern style with new furniture. We really felt like home. Bathrooms are supported with Jacuzzi, hot and cold water, towels and toilet stuff that you need. This hotel simply fulfills the promise and is exactly as it is advertised. TV transmission with more than 35 international channels with a very good picture quality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Talal971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel consists of two parts, adjacent to each other. At first glance there is no difference in quality between them.
Located on a small street near the Grand Bazaar and the Marmaray station - subway, which passes under the Bosphorus. Within walking distance is also Kumkapi fish market and fish restaurants there. Few steps from the hotel there are numerous shops and restaurants. The area around the hotel is overdeveloped, dirty and noisy. If you are traveling with your own car - better look for accommodation in another part of the city and hotel with parking. When traveling as ours - with an organized group things are OK because we have bus at our disposal to transfer us from and to the hotel.
In the hotel - the hallways and stairs are quite narrow. Elevator - small - a maximum of two people with their luggage. Rooms are normal in size, new furniture and air conditioning. Problem is humidity felt. Bathrooms are stocked with a full range cosmetics. Daily cleaning and change towels.
Panoramic restaurant on the top floor, but the view is not so impressive - the roofs of other buildings and dirty spaces. Barely visible in the distance the sea. The food is nothing special. There is diversity, but is not representative of the very tasty Turkish cuisine. Rather tends to slight disappointment.
There is wireless internet throughout the hotel. Signal is weak, but sufficient.
The biggest minus of the hotel is the service. Nothing to do with traditional Turkish hospitality. The staff does not understand almost no English, no Russian or German. Communication is based on gestures and a few words from Turkish travel dictionary. The group had paid extra dinner in the hotel and the waiters acted like we were intruding and they hurry to kick us out before 21:00 in order to arrange breakfast room. Only after receiving a tip € 5 per person began to act a bit more normal and smile. This makes a very bad impression and spoil the overall experience of the otherwise relatively good hotel.
Overall for the price we paid we received excellent accommodation. Anyway, we were a group business trip. Personal trips would choose a small boutique hotel about Topkapi, I saw many of these during our walk around the palace.
Finally - a convenient location, new furniture, very clean; unkind staff and bad food. Not bad, but it could be significantly better.

Room Tip: Room from the street side are far too noisy. It's almost impossible to sleep normally. Better ask for rooms to the back side. The view is bad, but you'll sleep better. Also if you need single accommodation - ask and pay for double single use, not just single room becase there are few of them between the floors and they are very tiny, like doll house. Just small bathroom and mini-bed. When you put your suitcase in it there is no space for you.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed three nighat this hotel.that located on the Aksaray area.Aksaray area was not ideal for family residence. we reserved one double room.this hotel has beautiful view of the sea from the room.room was medium and clean.good bed,small lcd tv,small refrigerator,clean and mean bathroom,free WIFI,buffet breakfast(not good breakfast),with small caffe shop and bar,soft towels that changed every day.this Hotel located near to the Babil Hotel and bus station,10 min to tram and metro station by walking,all staf and personal were good.

Stayed February 2014.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anet59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

It is a very beautiful hotel, in a quiet place. It isn't in the center of instabul, but there is bus station very close to it. The service is amazing. The breakfast consists many different tastes. I stayed in a double bed room and is suitable for people that want only a rest

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nikos_Pil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We made our reservation based on facilities available in this hotel. Please don't make the same mistake, it's all a big lie. While the pool is there, open and you are welcome to it, it sadly lacks water. Staff doesn't seem to find that problematic since its 'open' and the water should be 'delivered any day now.' Sauna... Dream on.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AtA2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews