We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small with Great Location”
Review of Erbil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Erbil Hotel
Ranked #693 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Small hotel located within walking distance to many popular tourist sites as well as the tram line. Located on a pedestrian street so cabs can't drop you off at the door, and it could be difficult to wheel a lot of luggage over the cobble stones. It's only a building length in from the street where you can be dropped off though, so you don't have far to go. Very traditional and charming. Tiny and basic room with air-conditioning, little TV, small bathroom, and no view. For the amount of time we spent in there though, it wasn’t a big deal to us. The shower doors didn’t seal shut properly, so water got all over the floor. Room was cleaned daily though. Continental breakfast included. Friendly staff allowed us to leave our bags in the foyer upon checking out as our flight didn’t leave until later. There’s a great restaurant directly next door. Good value over all with ideal location.

Room Tip: If you're travelling as a couple, be sure to ask for a double bed when booking or you might get...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scholarjae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Erbil Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

When we arrived the reception attendant (about 17yrs old) ignored us, then asked us if we wanted to check in...(eh yes we have arrive and have luggage here etc), he then continued to clean pictures on the wall and ignore us until he decided to say do you have passports, a very poor and slow checkin experience. We were taken to our room which we reserved 3 weeks previously as a double and we were given a room with 3 single beds, after a rather tense conversation we were given a a double room which was very small and had no daylight through the window and a view of several air conditioning extractors and other peoples bedrooms. The bathroom was tiny and uniquely the toilet was positioned in the middle of the floor about 8 inches out from the wall in all directions,my knees squashed against the shower wall due to lack of space.
Not to be repeated.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roaming-cloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel is close to the main attractions, the room was small but cosy and clean. Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly and helpful. You can use Wi-Fi in the lounge for free. Though there is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I have stayed here for one night on a biz trip. The room is small but nice, simple hotel overall.
The breakfast is on the roof terrace, good with big choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enricodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

One more time i stay at Hotel Erbil and i feel like at home always a pleasure to go in this Hotel,stuff verry nice and always helpfully, nice and clean hotel and verry close to all attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gedeon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

ERBIL HOTEL
My husband and I stay at this hotel before and after our group tour. It is in prefect location to restaurants, shops and walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya , Topkapi Palace and the Spice Market.

The hotel is old but décor suits the style of the city. The rooms are small but relatively clean and have air conditioning. The bathroom is also small and the shower drain doesn’t seem to cope well as the water backs up but doesn’t over flow however the beds are relatively comfortable. Housekeeping does a good job and the hotel staff are pleasant (most can speak a bit of English, we didn’t have any problems). The hotel provides a continental breakfast and its pretty standard but it did the job for us.

There’s a lots of places to eat, as the hotel is located in the restaurant district and many more restaurants in the vicinity or on the way to the spice market or aya sofya. However make sure to double check your bill before you pay as some restaurants can be dodgy and over charge you (where we experience a few times) I think they must think that because we are tourist they can pull a swift one.

Whilst in Istanbul be sure to visit the Spice Market for some shopping and remember to bring your bargaining skills. I found the Spice Market better than the Grand Bazaar but the Bazaar is worth a look (its huge and little a rabbit warren). The best place in Istanbul to get Turkish delight is Kosta located 50metres from the Spice Market, they have a big range and is affordable. Also not only visiting the usual historical sites (eg. Bascilla Cistern and the mosques) but also a visit to Taksim Square is need which is found over the river you get the tram and metro to get there. Taksim is the modern Istanbul with modern shops.

I doubt we would return to this hotel as we are pretty sure we could find a better hotel in the same location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed at the Erbil Hotel as part of a group tour. We were there for one night. The hotel staff were fine at check in, but the English was not as good as at some of the other hotels. The room was very basic and very small. The air conditioning worked so the room was quiet with the windows closed. The bathroom was also very small. Everything functioned properly and the hotel was satisfactory. Everything was clean. The location of the hotel is great as it is within easy walking distance to many of Istanbul's tourist attractions and also the tram. For a one night stay the size of the room was OK, but I think for 2 people it would be rather tight for more than one night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank budgettraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Asur Hotel
Asur Hotel
#342 of 1,159 in Istanbul
369 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#295 of 1,159 in Istanbul
138 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Nobel Hotel
Best Nobel Hotel
#638 of 1,159 in Istanbul
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#399 of 1,159 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seres Old City
Seres Old City
#390 of 1,159 in Istanbul
243 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kafkas Hotel Istanbul
Kafkas Hotel Istanbul
#627 of 1,159 in Istanbul
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erbil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erbil Hotel

Address: Hoca Pasa Mah. Ibni Kemal Cd. No: 18 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #693 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £24 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Erbil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erbil Hotel distinguished hotel among the historical heritages of Istanbul. It is 500 m. away from the Grand Bazaar and Suleymaniye mosque, 300m. away from Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Saint Sophia Museum and other worldwide famous museums. The distance from to airport is 16 km. Erbil Hotel has 56 rooms and 110 beds,Wireless internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Erbil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing