We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but not clean!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Erbil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Erbil Hotel
Ranked #644 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, but not clean!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The staff was very friendly and spoke english well, and the lobby was nice. The breakfast was good (but not the eggs). The room was horrible! The floor and the carpet was full of hair and the bathroom was not clean at all. We actually had to stand on a towel in the shower because it was so dirty. Also there was a sewage smell in the room that came at regular intervals. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    43
    52
    9
    14
See reviews for
20
50
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is one of many little hotels smack in the middle of the Old City. What an oasis. The rooms are small, there's just one tv station in English but since that's BBC that's all I needed to get world news. The der gentleman in the reception speaks English and is very helpful. Immediately outside there are restaurants and shops and l the historical sites. Salming distance to the Blue Mosque, grand Bazar, spice market etc. The tram is just s block away. Great place! Family stayed at a hotel costing more than double--Erbil was better in location, price, English speaking staff and pretty much any other way

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Small hotel located within walking distance to many popular tourist sites as well as the tram line. Located on a pedestrian street so cabs can't drop you off at the door, and it could be difficult to wheel a lot of luggage over the cobble stones. It's only a building length in from the street where you can be dropped off though, so you don't have far to go. Very traditional and charming. Tiny and basic room with air-conditioning, little TV, small bathroom, and no view. For the amount of time we spent in there though, it wasn’t a big deal to us. The shower doors didn’t seal shut properly, so water got all over the floor. Room was cleaned daily though. Continental breakfast included. Friendly staff allowed us to leave our bags in the foyer upon checking out as our flight didn’t leave until later. There’s a great restaurant directly next door. Good value over all with ideal location.

Room Tip: If you're travelling as a couple, be sure to ask for a double bed when booking or you might get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scholarjae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

When we arrived the reception attendant (about 17yrs old) ignored us, then asked us if we wanted to check in...(eh yes we have arrive and have luggage here etc), he then continued to clean pictures on the wall and ignore us until he decided to say do you have passports, a very poor and slow checkin experience. We were taken to our room which we reserved 3 weeks previously as a double and we were given a room with 3 single beds, after a rather tense conversation we were given a a double room which was very small and had no daylight through the window and a view of several air conditioning extractors and other peoples bedrooms. The bathroom was tiny and uniquely the toilet was positioned in the middle of the floor about 8 inches out from the wall in all directions,my knees squashed against the shower wall due to lack of space.
Not to be repeated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roaming-cloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel is close to the main attractions, the room was small but cosy and clean. Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly and helpful. You can use Wi-Fi in the lounge for free. Though there is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I have stayed here for one night on a biz trip. The room is small but nice, simple hotel overall.
The breakfast is on the roof terrace, good with big choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enricodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

One more time i stay at Hotel Erbil and i feel like at home always a pleasure to go in this Hotel,stuff verry nice and always helpfully, nice and clean hotel and verry close to all attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gedeon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Asur Hotel
Asur Hotel
#332 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#401 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Nobel Hotel
Best Nobel Hotel
#649 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Centrum Istanbul
Hotel Centrum Istanbul
#397 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Sultanahmet
Old City Viva Hotel
Old City Viva Hotel
#600 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#151 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erbil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erbil Hotel

Property: Erbil Hotel
Address: Hoca Pasa Mah. Ibni Kemal Cd. No: 18 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #644 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Erbil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erbil Hotel distinguished hotel among the historical heritages of Istanbul. It is 500 m. away from the Grand Bazaar and Suleymaniye mosque, 300m. away from Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Saint Sophia Museum and other worldwide famous museums. The distance from to airport is 16 km. Erbil Hotel has 56 rooms and 110 beds,Wireless internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erbil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing