We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erbil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Erbil Hotel
Ranked #631 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location and value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

This was our first time in Istanbul. The hotel is excellently located for many of the tourist attractions and near to a tramway stop. Room was clean and adequate with minibar, TV and telephone, and the bathroom worked OK. Breakfast was good and dishes were replenished on a regular basis. Staff were very helpful, both at breakfast and in reception. There were views of the harbour and Topkapi Palace from the breakfast room on the terrace.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    43
    52
    9
    14
See reviews for
20
50
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

we booked an overnight stay to istanbul from sunny beach in bulgaria so had no idea what hotel we were going to stay at, the rooms were pretty small but fine as it was only for 1 night but for any longer i think you would have struggled to store your clothes and suitcase, the bathroom was also small, there was free wifi which unfortunatly we didnt find out until about an hour before we left as there was only 1 tv channel in english so would have been ideal if we had knew about it the night before, there was a bar to relax in before we got picked back up which was nice, there was a basic breakfast available, it was very central to most tourist places to either walk to or get the tram, there was a long row of resturants right outside the hotel entrance

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afrobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was a hotel booked by our tour company and we booked an extra night there pre-tour. Our room was small but adequate and unlike other reviewers we had no problems with cleanliness. They provide a good breakfast (Turkish style) with good views from the top floor breakfast room. Location is excellent being only 150metres from the tram, 200 metres from Topkapi Palace, 300 metres from Eminonu Harbour and there are wall to wall restaurants right outside the door. On our return to Istanbul we booked into another hostel only 50 metres away at half the price that was much better value

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warrior11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The rooms stink of cigarettes, overwhelmingly so. They were quite small as well. The food there was not bad, a good free Internet connection but the worst thing was the steep, dangerous spiral stairs.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigtraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The staff was very friendly and spoke english well, and the lobby was nice. The breakfast was good (but not the eggs). The room was horrible! The floor and the carpet was full of hair and the bathroom was not clean at all. We actually had to stand on a towel in the shower because it was so dirty. Also there was a sewage smell in the room that came at regular intervals. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is one of many little hotels smack in the middle of the Old City. What an oasis. The rooms are small, there's just one tv station in English but since that's BBC that's all I needed to get world news. The der gentleman in the reception speaks English and is very helpful. Immediately outside there are restaurants and shops and l the historical sites. Salming distance to the Blue Mosque, grand Bazar, spice market etc. The tram is just s block away. Great place! Family stayed at a hotel costing more than double--Erbil was better in location, price, English speaking staff and pretty much any other way

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Small hotel located within walking distance to many popular tourist sites as well as the tram line. Located on a pedestrian street so cabs can't drop you off at the door, and it could be difficult to wheel a lot of luggage over the cobble stones. It's only a building length in from the street where you can be dropped off though, so you don't have far to go. Very traditional and charming. Tiny and basic room with air-conditioning, little TV, small bathroom, and no view. For the amount of time we spent in there though, it wasn’t a big deal to us. The shower doors didn’t seal shut properly, so water got all over the floor. Room was cleaned daily though. Continental breakfast included. Friendly staff allowed us to leave our bags in the foyer upon checking out as our flight didn’t leave until later. There’s a great restaurant directly next door. Good value over all with ideal location.

Room Tip: If you're travelling as a couple, be sure to ask for a double bed when booking or you might get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scholarjae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Asur Hotel
Asur Hotel
#332 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Nobel Hotel
Best Nobel Hotel
#637 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kafkas Hotel Istanbul
Kafkas Hotel Istanbul
#586 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#434 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#219 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Sultanahmet
Old City Viva Hotel
Old City Viva Hotel
#589 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erbil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erbil Hotel

Property: Erbil Hotel
Address: Hoca Pasa Mah. Ibni Kemal Cd. No: 18 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #631 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Erbil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erbil Hotel distinguished hotel among the historical heritages of Istanbul. It is 500 m. away from the Grand Bazaar and Suleymaniye mosque, 300m. away from Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Saint Sophia Museum and other worldwide famous museums. The distance from to airport is 16 km. Erbil Hotel has 56 rooms and 110 beds,Wireless internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Erbil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing