We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Erbil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Erbil Hotel
Ranked #689 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Craiova, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

the hotel is very good situated , in the old part of the city, close to the gulhane tram station( 2,3 minutes by foot,) and 7, 8 minutes to agia sofia, 1 min to different restaurants.
my opinion is that it worths the money you pay because is very central. although it s a relative one because first we were given a small room, with the window facing a very small tunnel( like an elevator one), so without any natural light. after talking with the guy in the reception, he changed us the room. this one was a big one, one of the best he said( the biggest one in the pictures), on the 6 th floor. this was much better, had natural light, though it was in front of the breakfast room, so we woke every day quite early. but was big and comfortable.the cleaning was made every day, also some ordering in the room, towels changed, shampoo completed, etc
the staff very kind. i would choose it for the position and the money paid. the breakfast was a little poor, same thing every day( we had 4 days). it was hard for me, as i love meat and there weren t any. only one kind of ham which was terrible. so you can eat bread, butter, cheese, jam, honey, olives, boiled eggs, cereals with milk. also coffee and a very strong black tea.

Room Tip: avoid rooms beside the stairs. they don t have natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    44
    52
    9
    15
See reviews for
21
51
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Erbil is well situated for easy access to the attractions of Istanbul. The staff are very helpful and friendly especially for first-timers in Turkey. We stayed here twice - large room the first time, very compact room the second time, but both were warm and comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel is situated in a great location to major sites in Istanbul. Easy to walk to tourist locations without having to catch a taxi.

Rooms are very small and bathroom average. Room had decent air conditioning.

Breakfast was poor, with limited options.

Friendly staff. Would only stay one or two nights.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Cass2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on a stopover, totally ok. Service minded staff, central location and small but clean rooms. I got tummy issues after my stay, and I suspect them to use water in the juice served for breakfast, but I am not sure. Good price for a ok hotel, no worries.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ContrailsfromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed at erbil hotel for 3 nights prior to a tour. Hotel is in a good location close to blue mosque, grand bazaar and the Bosporus. Hotel rooms are on the small side but enough for my requirements.

Room smelt a little funny, but if I turned the air con on was ok. Staff were helpful when questions were asked and English was good.

Close to restaurants as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wah_wah02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Good:
Walking distance to everything
Basic breakfast which met my needs
Free WiFi
Clean (some bits of mould in bathroom but nothing that would raise your eyebrows)
Air con

The not as good:
Small rooms (but still enough room to lay bags and stuff out on floor - the rooms fit more than just the bed)
The air con was not super quiet and I'm a sensitive sleeper. I wore earplugs but my g/f didn't seem to care or notice.

Good basic hotel. Not flashy. But met my needs. You may be able to find better. But there is a lot worse out there. I would not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is the second stay I have had at the Erbil, it hasn't changed much in the 3 years since I first stayed. The rooms are comfortable, it is above basic, but not extravagent. It is a very good 3 star hotel.

The breakfast is plentiful and the staff are friendly. The location is fantastic, you are within 10-15 minute walk of all of the major sites of the old city.

It could probably do with an update, but I got a decent night's sleep, hot shower, great brekkie and the standard check out is noon.

Great hotel for the budget minded!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanieefany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Asur Hotel
Asur Hotel
#349 of 1,155 in Istanbul
367 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Nobel Hotel
Best Nobel Hotel
#630 of 1,155 in Istanbul
187 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#295 of 1,155 in Istanbul
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Kafkas Hotel Istanbul
Kafkas Hotel Istanbul
#584 of 1,155 in Istanbul
64 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seres Old City
Seres Old City
#410 of 1,155 in Istanbul
238 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#385 of 1,155 in Istanbul
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erbil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erbil Hotel

Property: Erbil Hotel
Address: Hoca Pasa Mah. Ibni Kemal Cd. No: 18 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #689 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Erbil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erbil Hotel distinguished hotel among the historical heritages of Istanbul. It is 500 m. away from the Grand Bazaar and Suleymaniye mosque, 300m. away from Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Saint Sophia Museum and other worldwide famous museums. The distance from to airport is 16 km. Erbil Hotel has 56 rooms and 110 beds,Wireless internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erbil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing