We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 4* hotel with a 5* dissapointment”
Review of Martinenz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Martinenz Hotel
Ranked #783 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The 4* rating ascribed to this hotel is misleading as I felt the service and facilities were of a poor standard. The staff were often unhelpful and rude while the rooms did not have kettles, a stocked and properly working fridge. The absence of universal/european adpaters was also highly infuriating.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArvinRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

i go istanbul yearly and i know the hotels there are really awful but i tried this hotel and till now i stayed for 3 successive years good clean nice roof restaurant good breakfast nice lobby good rooms . Don't worry just go for it on my guarantee ;)))) enjoy IStanBul

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muhammet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel over Easter: It is a 20 minute walk to all the main attractions, but some of the rooms are very small and there is no sound proofing, so don't stay here if you are sensitive to noise. We had to sleep with earplugs in and the air conditioning on every night to block out the sounds of footsteps, traffic, banging doors and the call to prayer from the nearby mosque at 5.30am every morning. Originally we were put in a on the fifth floor, directly underneath the restaurant, but were driven mad by the constant foorsteps and scraping of chairs over our heads. The hotel were fine about letting us change rooms, but it ws still pretty noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floors 1 - 4 in order to avoid the noise from the restaurant on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison_skellern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Before the trip to Istanbul, i wrote all these reviews and i knew it wont be a luxury/very comfortable place. It's true it's noice,...it's true they have small rooms, but the location is great- near to all the touristic atractions and also to the train, breakfast is tasty and enough, reception staff is friendly and always capable to give you a good tip.
They change towel and get clean every day.
In our opinion, is a good place for someone who's interested first to the city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elaela2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I was alone and they gave me a hotel room, smallest as anyone can imagine and the window was looking into some whole with no air source and no air conditioning in it, No minibar was functioning. They told me there was no other room and they would change next day. Location is on Laleli, which is the main street for wholesalers street and many Russians with lots of bought goods where in the hotel and they are quite noisy. Restaurant was providing same oily food every day. Next day room was too far from wireless connection, so i had to sit on a floor next to door to catch very slow signal. It's too noisy street if you prefer open windows. But the views from the room is real Istanbul! Staff is not supportive at all and they have some water supply problems also.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nino D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I staid there for 4 nights. I could not sleep very well because I've been in the 6th floor. Above my room there is the restaurant and you can hear moving the chairs up to midnight and again at 6 in the mornning. The room is very poor. I looked from my window at the emeregency staircase and there was mauch noise from the street. The personal at the reception desk is not well informed for example about the tram. No more information about the hotel and the city in the room! The mini bar was not in function.
I cannot recommend

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfgangschepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This was my third stay at the Martinenz Hotel in Laleli, and it was realy nice. The rooms are clean and the breakfast very delicious. The hotel is mid in the Shopping area of Istanbul and very close to the main attractions, only a food step away from the Tram station and on the main street of Laleli. I suggest this hotel to each Young traveller and will for sure go back there.

Room Tip: To get a room, you must book early and minimum 2 weeks before date of arrival, because its mostly fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Prestige Hotel
#602 of 1,173 in Istanbul
112 reviews
Hotel Sahinler
#840 of 1,173 in Istanbul
15 reviews
Beyazıt
Kent Hotel
Kent Hotel
#288 of 1,173 in Istanbul
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Samir Hotel Deluxe
Samir Hotel Deluxe
#351 of 1,173 in Istanbul
28 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
#154 of 1,173 in Istanbul
889 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Pisa
Hotel Pisa
#577 of 1,173 in Istanbul
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinenz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinenz Hotel

Address: Koska Caddesi 6 / 1 | Laleli, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #783 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £22 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martinenz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martinenz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing