We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Tunel Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tunel Residence
Ranked #76 of 1,260 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed in Tunel residence 3 nights in the end of december with my girlfriend and my bestfriend. We had a suite 703. We were very pleased with apartment. Huge rooms, nice interior, great bathroom. There is a a kitchen with washing machine, dishwasher, and large refrigerator. Sofa bed in the living room was not that great, I think its more proper for children then adults. From suite is a nice view over old part of Istanbul. WIFI connection was free and excellent. The suite was clean top to bottom. Hotel has a perfect location next to the metro station. Old city is 20 minutes by foot away, with taxi 5 minutes. There are also Istiklal caddesi and Taksim square in the walking distance. The only dowside of the hotel for me is, that the breakfast is not selfservice, but you must choose one dish from ala carte menu (this was included in price), but there is unlimited amount of coffe, tea and fresh orange juice. We felt comfortable with the staff and the hotel, they were nice and ready to help us with our questions about Istanbul. I would definitely recommend this hotel because of its location and reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as possible, because there is a nice view from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rok K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Very good location right by the Sishane Metro stop, one stop down from Taksim Square. Breakfast downstairs at the Big Chef is decent. Very friendly staff, but man, the Internet seriously sucks. Internet speed is so slow that it is practically useless. That is, when it's working. Seems to break down at lease twice a week for hours on end, sometimes even stays down for a day or two. Constant complaints to the staff didn't seem to help. I stayed at Tunel from January 2014 to mid-March 2014 and had planned to stay several months longer but couldn't take the non-existent internet anymore. If you have no need for internet access to plan your vacation, then Tunel is a great place to stay. If you need the internet, find someplace else, seriously.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crashlander8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel on business for four days in early February 2014. Centrally located. Excellent and clearly popular ground restaurant in the hotel. I stayed in a self-contained suite which was large and excellent. Walking distance to main shopping area and Taksim Square. Friendly, helpful staff. Only criticism, which was not the hotel's fault, were the barking dogs at night. Also the western tv channels were limited. Have recommended to a colleague who is looking to base himself there. Highly recommended and somewhere that I will definitely use again for business or for family holidays.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahmoud A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Hotel perflectly situated in a dynamic area just next to the Galata tower, plenty of good restaurants surrounding the hotel. Perfect starting point to begin a visit the city by foot. In 10 min you are in the Souks on the other side of the river, 10 min from Taksim square.
The room, double bed, was not that big, but you don't want to spend to much time inside when discovering this beautiful city. The Spa in the basement is very welcome after a long day of sightseeing. Plus, the fares we really affordable.
Perfect place for couples!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul-Frederick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked a suite (room 703) for our 5 night stay in Istanbul and were pleased with our rooms. The bed in our bedroom was huge and comfortable, my sons tell me that the sofa bed in the living room was not that great, but hey it's a sofa bed so to be expected. The suite was spotlessly clean and was serviced daily. We didn't eat in the restaurant on the ground floor but instead tracked down Molly's Cafe - go out the front of the hotel and head diagonally up across the street, look for the large Zildjian sign hanging out into the street, take the next right turn after the sign and Molly's is about 100 yards down on the right.
The only negative- be careful if you have teenage children, Tunel Residence charge 10 euros each per night extra to be paid on checking out. We discovered this on checking in, even though the trip was paid for in advance via Expedia and the children's ages fully declared.
Oh and Mehmet was lovely, he went to a lot of trouble to print out our boarding passes for the return flight when we were let down by the mobile ticket system.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We booked a room with a king size bed but received a standard room with two single beds(one smaller than the other). The room was so small that the two single beds took up the entire space. As we entered the room a bad smell was immediately recognized. We had to open our prison sized window for 2 hours for the smell to disappear. The washroom was so small and the toilet bowl had not been cleaned. The bed sheets had stains on them! We did not enjoy our stay and tried to stay out of the hotel as much as possible and came back only to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This review ought to give the Tunel Residence four out of five stars. It's well located, the apartments are fine and there's a nice restaurant attached.

So why the low score? As always, it's a case not so much of the problem encountered, but the way the hotel dealt with the problem. If they'd treated me with some respect, the score would have been better. Instead they chose to treat me and my family with contempt.

In our case, the AC was not working during our whole four night stay. The staff fobbed us off, pretended it was being fixed when it wasn't, told us it had been fixed when it hadn't, suggested we move to another room where the AC was also not working, etc, etc.

I had to fight to get two fans put in our room - eventually one noisy fan was provided on the day we arrived, a day later another one finally given to us for the living room, but only after I had to get angry.

One of the members of staff was very helpful (and seemed embarrassed at the way were were being treated). The rest pretended to be surprised each morning when I asked if the AC had been or was being fixed. 'You have AC problem?' was the generally surprised response from receptionists I had spoken to the day before - about our AC problems. Perhaps they suffer from some form of early onset Alzheimers.

We arrived after a long trip with a small baby to be ushered into an apartment that was swelteringly hot. It took the whole afternoon even to get that first fan, so instead of resting we had to sit there arguing and sweating with a screaming seven month old baby who couldn't sleep. Even though it was obvious the problem was with the central AC equipment on the roof, as the whole hotel was affected, they seemed to think I would be mollified by having a man come to my room and stand there staring blankly at the AC unit in the room, whilst giving off a pungent aroma of sweat and cigarette smoke.

I asked for some sort of compensation and we were, somewhat bizarrely, offered a massage.

The manager decided he was too important to speak to me on the phone and offered no discount, explanation or apology whatsoever.

Also, the website offers a free taxi pickup to and from the airport - there are two airports in Istanbul, however and the hotel doesn't bother to tell you that they only provide a free pickup from one and not the other. This ended up costing us about 50 Euros extra that we hadn't budgeted for.

Some friends arrived a couple of days after us and were sent to a place down the road due to the AC problems. The place they were sent to also had non-functioning AC.

So, nice location, but stereotypically awful Turkish customer service. I recommend you find somewhere else, because, if something does go wrong, the management of Tunel Residence could not care less and will be happy to take your money and run, ruining your visit to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask if the AC is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank redstar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
X Flats Istanbul
X Flats Istanbul
#72 of 1,260 in Istanbul
77 reviews
Beyoglu
Casa di Bava Istanbul
Casa di Bava Istanbul
#32 of 1,260 in Istanbul
53 reviews
Besiktas
Chakra Suites
Chakra Suites
#129 of 1,260 in Istanbul
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Cihangir Ceylan Suite
Cihangir Ceylan Suite
#43 of 1,260 in Istanbul
48 reviews
Beyoglu
Noble22 Suites
Noble22 Suites
#68 of 1,260 in Istanbul
11 reviews
Beyoglu
Louis Appartements Galata
Louis Appartements Galata
#13 of 1,260 in Istanbul
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunel Residence

Address: Evliya Celebi Mah. Mesrutiyet Cad. No:96 Sishane, Beyoglu, Istanbul 1546362, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 1,260 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £40 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tunel Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tunel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunel Residence Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing