We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for everything Fatih” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Palace Hotel

Golden Palace Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Palace Hotel
Ranked #559 of 1,012 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
“Thanks for everything Fatih”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

The hotel is very well situated for shopping or sightseeing in the Sulthanamet area (it is located directly beside Sulthanamet). Our room was very clean and comfortable with four large windows that all opened. Fatih who is on the front desk made sure every aspect of our stay was excellent, even making sure that I had good local food delivered to our room when my cold reached a point that I didn't want to go out. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turkey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    5
    8
    5
    10
See reviews for
11
20
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Good item: The hotel is so close to historical places in Istanbul and staff were friendly.

Bad Items: We stay there only two nights because was paid in advance. It is not a hotel with any level listed (such as 1 star, or 2 star, or 3 star.....as they explained to us). They call it family hotel. I don't recommend this hotel because of the flowing: The hotel is so close to train way which make it nosey place and not good for relax or sleep. We had what they called it a suite but was not. Very small room and has every things small and no enough space in between such as sitting area very small space, refrigerator was very very small and not working, TV screen was very very small and installed in a wall with 3 meters high, balcony was very small and scarred to stay on it. Our suite was in the 4th flour and has no elevator in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajab-Zahrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

We were booked into the Adonis Palace Hotel but on arrival we were told that they were over booked and we would have to stay one night at their partner hotel The Golden Palace. It was onlyone night, and we were very tired and it was gettign lat otherwise I might have looked for somewhere else.
The staff were very but the room was very shabby and only a single very thin blanket on the bed. The main problem was the noise from the trains passing only a couple of meters outside the window all night.
A nightmare!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ismsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

One of the worst hotel experiences we have had; The ceiling in the bathroom leaked water to the point where the glass shell covering the ceiling light filled with water and crashed to the floor. No repair or room change was forthcoming from management. Room service was non-existant (we had to retrieve our own towels after several requests). The room was noisy (hotel is located by the train track), and maintained a cigarette and heavy mildew smell for most of the visit. The manager on duty during the day, Mrs. Nergiz, was pleasant and apologetic, but did not follow through on correcting problems. Night clerks were pleasant but unresponsive. We finally changed hotels.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Codyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
Blue Istanbul Hotel
Blue Istanbul Hotel
#66 of 1,012 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#353 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#154 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#231 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Palace Hotel

Property: Golden Palace Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Aksakal Sokak. No 29 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #559 of 1,012 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Palace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing